We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you reach Kaikoura by car, Kaikoura Cottage Motels is a great place to stay. About 2 km from the centre, it is a 2 minutes drive from the action, yet peaceful and quiet .The cottages are spacious and well-equipped and the setting is truly beautiful; A comfy bed, good reading lamps and a great shower are just few of the details which make your stay a pleasure. Having been to other motels in Kaikoura in the past, this will definitely be our first choice next time we visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
96
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent accommodation, very clean, quiet with wonderful views and easy access to main town. The bed was very comfortable and clean, could even relax and watch TV from it after a long tiring journey.All the kitchen equipment was good and a supply of fresh milk was provided upon arrival. Bathroom very clean with ample towels provided.
Daryl & Raewyn were excellent hosts, knowledgeable and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Free wifi was a plus.
We stayed three nights on our way down South Island and booked for another night on the way back.
We would recommend a stay here for all types of travellers - one of the best throughout North and South Islands

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enliven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very nice accommodations. Clean, quiet, & warm unit located outside of town but not inconvenient to the town's restaurants or activities. The office provides limited free internet usage for the adults and has a large DVD selection for the kids.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveling_smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed one night in cottage number 6, of all the accommodation we stayed on our NZ trip this was my favourite.

The place can be a little tricky to find as it's at the north end of the town but it's only a kilometre or so from the main town centre. Keep driving north on the main road and when you see the fork in the road turn right and you're there.

Once we found the place we were really impressed with the accommodation. The cottage was spacious, had modern decoration (it looked like it has been decorated quite recently) and was spotless, this place was the dictionary defintion of 'cosy'.

The layout includes the main living area which has a sofa and TV, dining table, and then behind the sofa a separate area with a double bed. Next to that is the kitchen which is well equipped and had everything we needed. There is a seperate bedroom with another double bed and also the bathroom which was modern and clean. Outside was a porch with some chairs and a lovely view of the mountains.

As I said, this was my favourite accommodation in NZ and this was also in part due to the friendly service from the owners. The gentleman gave us some good tips on restaurants in the town (we ended up at the green dolphin which was very good) and, when we were about 20 mins late checking out on the day we left due to my daughter deciding to use the toilet just as we were leaving(!), they didn't come and hassle us and when I found them and returned the key they didn't mind at all. They also gave us some very helpful info regarding the ferries in picton (where we were heading next) as one of the ferries had broken down so we'd better check our booking.

The room was $140 which was actually the cheapest of all the places we stayed in NZ, and considering that I thought it was the best I say it's very good value.

Kaikoura itself was a lovely town and one I could see myself retiring in many years from now, so I would recommend to anyone going to NZ to check it out for yourself and to stay in the Kailoura cottage motels when you do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We came to Kaikoura for the cup and booked this place after a bit of research. We liked the fact that it wasn't in the middle of town (which may be an issue for others, but that's the joy of google maps). The owners Daryl and Raewyn were very welcoming and ready to share their local knowledge. The unit was spotless, had everything that you would need for cooking and a bar fridge to keep things cold.

As we were travelling with children aged 10 & 8, the extensive DVD collection came in handy when some downtime was needed from playing on the massive trampoline, slide and swings.

The views from our lounge were gorgeous. The motel grounds were spotless and the gardens were very neat.

We slept very well...temps were dropping below 10 deg at night, but we found no need to use the heater. We were at the back of the complex and can't really say that we heard much noise at night as this place does back onto the hwy.

Although not an issue for us, our cottage (and possibly the others-you'd need to confirm this) had a couple of steps up to the front porch which could pose an issue for someone with mobility issues.

Definitely a place we will return to!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMPTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Recommended to us by friends, it's a great place to stay. Stand alone units mean its quiet and private. Warm rooms with double glazed windows, HRV ventilation installed, comfy beds, big TV. The owners have a massive collection of DVDs you can borrow for free. Good strong wifi and 100mb free per day.

As with most Kaikoura motels the railway is not far away, I never noticed it overnight though and slept like a log!

This is one place we will definitely stay at again. Thanks :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Excellent value and great quiet location. We were late getting to Kaikoura and the owner was waiting for us with a small cold milk (trim for my Wife's tea). The room was spacious and very clean and we had all we could want for a nice little cabin stay. I wish we had planned to stay longer in the Kiakoura area so we could have enjoyed the cabin longer. When I went for my morning run I was shocked to see the grand mountains with their snow and hear the surf just beyond the dunes. A bit down the road one of the neighbors has created a mini "Hobit" house in his sheep pasture. It was worth driving back when everyone else was up to take a couple of snaps.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be about the same. Cute, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
3.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Property: Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing