We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and private”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and private”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hi. Stayed two nights here with my adult daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottages are separate, very modern, warm(double glazed) with nice outdoor, private areas. Everything was spic and span with Raewyn being an excellent host with a formidable supply of DVD's. It's on the northern outskirts of town so I guess it's more convenient to have transport. Just great and very good value.

Room Tip: All are pretty good-we stayed in 7 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
96
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was stay for about 4 night's and i wanted to stay for more . The owners were great with their amazing movie collection . The units were furnished great with their own oven , fridge and youncould borrow a bbq

Room Tip: 6&7have great views but 4&3 are close to the playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This place is a set of cottages setlled nord to the town in a quiet area, five minutes by car (20 min. on foot) to city center, only 10-15 minuts on foot to countdown supermarket, 10 minuts by car to whale watching station and other attractions. The cottages are very well distributed, with distance between every unit, great privacity, very beautiful cottages with great views to the mountains, snow capped in winter. May be the number 6 was probably the one with best views. The cottages look news, all was very clean, heating system was ok, and the owner put on 22ºCelsius before we arrive (late afternoon, winter) and this was really great.

Room Tip: The number 6 may be is the one with the best mountain views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Kaikoura cottages were a gem of a find and one of our favorite places to stay in all of NZ. I had read on Trip Advisor that cottage #7 was most private, with a front porch overlooking a mountain view. Although it wasn't until our last morning that it cleared enough to see the mountain, it was well worth it and dramatically beautiful, plus a lovely horse that lives on adjacent property. You can easily walk a cottage or two up to the laundry facilities and borrow their clothes dryers - note it can be windy so take advantage of the ample supply of clothespins!!

The cottage was immaculate, great way to have 2 separate sleeping areas (one bedroom and another full queen bed in the living space), great shower/bath, etc... It's just a quick drive to most dining options and grocery.

One tip - be sure to either ask in advance or study a map carefully as for some reason we missed the sign as you come into town (odd corner intersection of sorts) and ended up quite hopelessly lost after a lonnnnng drive from Blenheim. It's in a great location, just sort of hidden away.

Enjoy!! Wish we could've stayed for weeks! Kaikoura is paradise, regardless of weather. Swimming with dolphins in the wild and whale watching - what more could you ask?!

Room Tip: cottage #7 for view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Don't look any further. We stayed for two nights and were very impressed with the cottage. Our cottage No 5 was spotlessly clean well set out and perfect for our stay. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of information. The weather during our stay was terrible but we had a good supply of DVD's compliments of the owners from their extensive collection - great way to spend a rainy day and the free wifi was a bonus. We loved our stay at this cottage and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had one night in Kaikoura and I was glad we spent it here. Our cottage (#3) was spotlessly clean and had a well-supplied kitchen. The bed was comfortable as was the couch in the living area. The front porch looks out to the Seaward mountain range, a great view. Despite its proximity to the highway, traffic noise wasn't noticeable. They have an extensive DVD collection free of charge for guests. The owners were very friendly and eager to help. This was one of the least expensive places we stayed at in NZ and it was one of the best. Terrific value!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentlemanhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for one night. The cottages are set in lovely gardens and are very cosy. Each cottage has an outside sitting area and private car parking. Inside the cottages are split up into different areas for sleeping, lounging and cooking. We had a second bedroom which we used for storage. Everything was very clean and fresh and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We would happily return to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffJune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
3.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Property: Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing