We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal, location OK”

Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$52
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice meal, location OK”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When asked when making a reservation if we wanted a window table we were expecting to see the ocean. It about a block down a side street with no ocean views. The food was excellent. We shared a bowl of their seafood chowder and it tasted like it was scooped up from the ocean - perfect. I had the seafood pasta and it too was fresh and full of seafood. My husband had the catch of the day, also good. If you crave seafood this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    248
    80
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough dining”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my partner recently dined here on a saturday night and although it was a pleasant enough dining experience, it was nothing to write home about nor would we be in a hurry to return. We both ordered the soup of the day, which was leek and potato. It was piping hot but did lack a bit of flavour. My partner's belly pork wasn't as tender as he would have expected and he was severely regretting not choosing the steak after seeing it at some other diner's table. My baked fish was nice enough for a change but again, not outstandingly so. We finished off by sharing a light white chocolate cheesecake, which was probably the nicest course of the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samsonandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really had the WOW Factor”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My Husband Friend and Myself went to the Green Dolphin on Friday 27th June we all had something different and all 3 were out of this world ,I had the fig salami for dessert and it was too die for the service was great and staff very friendly and cheerful , toilets spotlessly clean all in all an amazing evening Thanks to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watersedgeKaikoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greytown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful winter evening”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A warm and friendly greeting, well paced attention in a filling restaurant, and a keenness to see we were enjoying our dining experience, led to a most relaxed and enjoyable evening. This is a lovely spot to dine with a reasonable range of wines and food to choose from. The one thing that made us rate at four rather than five stars was a meat course where the meat - pork - was not as tender as we like it. All the rest of our meal was delicious, and beautifully presented. The team's friendliness made for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fred5712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food and service- must try!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We ordered lamb and steak, both beautifully done. Must try their home made apple strudel, andthat coming from someone who normally doesnt particularly like apple strudels

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Farnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing