We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Why Not Cafe

Why Not Cafe
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

good food, great service with a good atmosphere, within the main area of town which is just great, coffee and drinks selection is great as well, can be busy when the buses come in

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    82
    46
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well located right in town. It was busy, always a good sign. Staff were nice & friendly and the order did not take too long to arrive.
The seafood chowder was really good, nice and hot with garlic bread. Beef nachos also good value.
Good atmosphere here, like a coffee shop but they serve way more than just coffee and muffins.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One Of A Few”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The interior is too welcoming, but it is one of the few places in NZ where you can get a burger and fries for $10 or under (outside McD or BK). Burger was good, plenty of toppings and they didn't even charge extra for ketchup or mayo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had gone searching for a place for breakfast and decided to give the Why Not Cafe a go as the prices weren't too steep compared to other places in Kaikoura.

The service was fine, the coffee was good, but the breakfast was very disappointing and quite possibly the worst bought meal of our 15 day trip so far. We ordered two scrambled eggs on toast and right as we were wondering what type of bread they used our meals arrived ... and we saw that they used cheap, thin white sandwich bread. That kind of says it all. At $12 a pop, it was very frustrating to see how little effort was put into it. The scrambled eggs were also either overcooked or microwaved.

In Wellington we had delicious eggs on toast WITH coffee for $10 each! This cost us $32.50 total. Any place that asks patrons to pay $12 for eggs on toast can afford to use some real bread. We could've gone to the store and bought the ingredients ourselves and made a better meal back at our backpackers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KorokoDelToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice and good prices. Has a lot to offer and a nice back door garden. Could be more cosy inside though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiriRonnmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Why Not Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Why Not Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing