We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thank you so much you saved our holiday!
We had been traveling all day and all we wanted was a room with a kitchenette and a bath. The Kaikoura motor lodge deliverd us just that and for a great price!
We arrived quite late and booked last minute but we felt like they went the extra mile for us.
We will defiantly be back !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

The best place about the Gateway is the location. Just a 5 min walk into the town center.

The room was clean and everything was in working order.

The reception staff were very kind.

Down sides for me:

Located on the main busy road of Kaikoura so you heard all the trucks going past all night.

Room was awfully cold on arrival and took well over 1.5 hours to warm up. With a baby this was not desirable and they did know the time of our arrival and that we had a baby.

The pool was dirty and not in any working order.

There was only one hand pump soap that you had to use in the bath. It was just body soap but you could see they stuck another label over the top calling it 'shampoo and body wash'. That was pretty cheap and it's not fair to trick people into putting body wash into one's hair.

For $140 a night you would think that you would get the normal samples like: face cleans wipe, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, shower cap and cookies. But you didn't.

This is the main reason I would not go here again- budget. But if a room to stay is all you need then this place is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you to our hosts for this impeccable accommodation. New, clean, spacious and warm. Loved the spa bath as we don't have on. Was a real treat. Loved it and had a darn good sleep too. A must return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

what more can I say the rooms are excellent clean and tidy, the hosts go the extra mile every time we required anything,
if you are looking for a nice clean comfortable place to stay look no further that Kaikoura Gateway motel. I am planning another trip around November guess where we are staying

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheWilds05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was an excellent lodge, full amenities, clean and perfectly placed for the whale watching.

When the local taxi let us down, the owner, without hesitation, took us to the station, and in typical New Zealand hospitality, refused any recompense.

Wifi access and all at a very reasonable price.

Would not hesitate to recommend to all who are looking for a comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A modern build so double glazed windows, decent and big bathroom were a plus. We had a single bedroom unit and there was plenty of room
In the could-do-better department - put in decent, meaning stronger lighting. All motels do this, weak lights to save power bills. It just frustrates the user

Room Tip: The further back you go, the further off the main highway you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were dubious at first about this place because of its location on the main road but we couldn't have been more wrong.We were probably about as far back as we could be from the road and we didn't hear a thing. The room was very spacious and clean, the decor very nice . Bathroom was superb.Very adequate cooking facilites which was useful as there didn't seem to be a great choice of places to eat out . We went whale watching whilst we were there which was a great experience we had done it before in the USA but enjoyed this experience more - very professional.Loved the stay,we tend to want to weigh the place up before we commit to staying longer than a night but ended up staying for three!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Churchill Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaikoura Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing