We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Nice modern and spacious hotel. Walking distance to main town, situated on a main road but did not hear a thing. Other than the two dated televisions the stay was perfect for a family of four. Owner was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    81
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
45
118
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the last few months and each time we have stayed the staff have been friendly and happy to go out of their way to help, on the last two occasions we have stayed we have arrived late and the lights and heat pump have been turned on and curtains drawn... such a lovely feeling to arrive to after uve had a long day on road.
The rooms are very spacious in size and clean,spa baths are a great way to unwind and relax in, even though situated on the main road the noise has never bothered us and the beds are are just great always have a wonderful sleep here.
This is definitely worth a visit and is our main stay in Kaikoura when heading through to Picton or ChCh which we do on a regular basis. ..... We look forward to seeing you next time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thank you so much you saved our holiday!
We had been traveling all day and all we wanted was a room with a kitchenette and a bath. The Kaikoura motor lodge deliverd us just that and for a great price!
We arrived quite late and booked last minute but we felt like they went the extra mile for us.
We will defiantly be back !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The best place about the Gateway is the location. Just a 5 min walk into the town center.

The room was clean and everything was in working order.

The reception staff were very kind.

Down sides for me:

Located on the main busy road of Kaikoura so you heard all the trucks going past all night.

Room was awfully cold on arrival and took well over 1.5 hours to warm up. With a baby this was not desirable and they did know the time of our arrival and that we had a baby.

The pool was dirty and not in any working order.

There was only one hand pump soap that you had to use in the bath. It was just body soap but you could see they stuck another label over the top calling it 'shampoo and body wash'. That was pretty cheap and it's not fair to trick people into putting body wash into one's hair.

For $140 a night you would think that you would get the normal samples like: face cleans wipe, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, shower cap and cookies. But you didn't.

This is the main reason I would not go here again- budget. But if a room to stay is all you need then this place is fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you to our hosts for this impeccable accommodation. New, clean, spacious and warm. Loved the spa bath as we don't have on. Was a real treat. Loved it and had a darn good sleep too. A must return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

what more can I say the rooms are excellent clean and tidy, the hosts go the extra mile every time we required anything,
if you are looking for a nice clean comfortable place to stay look no further that Kaikoura Gateway motel. I am planning another trip around November guess where we are staying

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheWilds05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was an excellent lodge, full amenities, clean and perfectly placed for the whale watching.

When the local taxi let us down, the owner, without hesitation, took us to the station, and in typical New Zealand hospitality, refused any recompense.

Wifi access and all at a very reasonable price.

Would not hesitate to recommend to all who are looking for a comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Churchill Street (State Highway 1), Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaikoura Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing