We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Having stayed at other motels in the Bella Vista "chain" we rate this one the highest. It is well located with fine views of the mountains, and it is just a short walk away from the town centre and all the noise and bustle. The room was just what we needed in terms of space, equipment and comfort, including the double glazing. However the real difference is the owners Penny and Josh) who were most friendly, knowledgeable and helpful - we might of missed the Ohau seal pup nursery if it was not for them.

Room Tip: Try for an upper room with view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you! I am so pleased you had a good stay here with us and hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    89
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornby, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked for one night at the Bella Vista . Our room was completely spotlessly clean and had that 'clean' smell about it too. The lady who greeted us upon arrival was lovely and very friendly and helpful showing us a map and suggesting things we could do in Kaikoura. The bed was possibly too comfortable and I found it very hard to get up the next day!
Excellent motel and would highly recommend to anyone staying in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms and bed comfortable and clean. I hope my advice and map was of use to you while here in Kaikoura! Penny :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Penny's warm and gracious greeting took the edge off of our motel experience. In fact, the place was very clean and I finally got my washing done!

Josh even invited me over to chat in Japanese. I was shocked that he spent 4+ years there. We spent 30 minutes discussing our lives in Japanese. He's the chef at White Morph and perhaps the best cook on the south island. Best meal I've had to date...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review! It was really nice to meet you and your family. Josh enjoyed having someone to chat with in Japanese too, and appreciates your kind words about his cooking. Hope the rest of your trip is going well :)
P.S one of you left a charger here with multi adapter on it, if you call or email and give me a forwarding address I will send it on for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I booked to stay in the Bella Vista motel on the basis of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. The owners were so friendly, their advice was spot on and they couldn't have been nicer. The rooms are modern, clean and when I opened the curtains in the morning I saw snow-capped mountains. I would recommend this motel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you here and hope to see you again in the future. So glad you got to see and enjoy everything Kaikoura has to offer. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Penny and Josh received us like friends! Including pick up at and return to the train station. Rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. The town of Kaikoura is within easy walking distance and very pretty. Josh also is a chef at the White Morph restaurant in town - what a treat to taste his food. Just check out that restaurant if you want top quality. Thanks Penny and Josh, we loved our short stay in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time here and hearing back from you makes it all worth it :) We love our jobs and enjoy making your time here memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for one night with our 2 preschool children, The room was immaculate and the managers were very friendly and knowledgable of the area. Would definately recommend the Bella Vista to friends and family looking for somewhere to stay in Kaikoura. Thanks Penny & Josh for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeck_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you :) it was lovely to have you here and hope you can make it up again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Good accomodation is at a premium sometimes in Kaikoura, famous for its whale watching. The Bella Vista is a modern motel on the main highway, but not plagued by noise. It's not far to walk to the town centre, where there are restaurants, including the White Morph where the co-owner is the chef). Cooked or continental beakfast is available, and the owner provides a friendly manner and plenty of advice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are probaly best from a noise viewpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to help all our guests and the best part of the job :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Property: Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Address: 45 - 47 Churchill Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing