We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Josh & Penny offer the real personal touch. Nothing was too much trouble, they even invited us into their home to use the computer, we almost felt that we were part of the family! The room was comfortable and spotless.The setting is attractive, very relaxing.and although on the outskirts It only takes about 5 minutes to walk down to the charming little town of Kaikoura, which has a lovely beach, offering access to the Whale experience, not to be missed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we toured the North & South Islands and this stop was definitely on top of the list. Thank you Penny & Josh, we wish you all the best of luck for the future.
Alison & Grahame Moore - Devon UK

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write us your lovely review. We truly enjoyed having you here to stay and it did feel like having family to visit! Please come and visit again if you get the chance :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    89
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Like all Bella Vista motels the room was a little on the small side but that was more than compensated by the quiet location, friendly service and good facilities. We had an upstairs unit which gave good view

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking your time to give feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bella Vista ,Josh and his wife can't do enough to help you with your holiday.
We used the BBQ which is available for guests on 2 occasions and had really good meals.
The rooms are spotless and a real credit to them,they are really working hard to make a success of the business and are so hospitable.when it came to leave we really felt we didn't want to go
They have a lovely grass area and nice tables and chairs to sit out and enjoy the nice weather we experienced while we were in New Zealand.
You would benefit from having your own transport staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We often say how lucky we are to have such lovely people coming to stay and sometimes it feels more like having friends over to stay! I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and visit to Kaikoura, feel free to come again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nice place to stay while in Kaikoura. Rooms are clean and tidy. The room we had was not big but comfortable. Easy to find along the highway. Easy to walk downtown Kaikoura. Close to Whalewatch tours. The landlady was very nice and made sure you had a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_MargretH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and clean and loocation close to everything you needed :) safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Situated up a steep hill from the main beachside street, the location is probably best suited to those arriving by car (we arrived by bus). That said, it was a spacious room, with the bonus of a sofa as well as great views across the nearby mountains.

The owners were helpful in storing our bags before and after our stay, making it easy for us to do the Albatross and Whale Watching unencumbered. Everything was spotless and you got the sense of a well-run place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review for us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kaikoura :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Such a surprise! Fabulous welcome from Josh - both he and his wife were so helful throughout our stay with restaurant recommendations and directions.

The room has everything you could need and delicious hot chocolate! :) The bathroom and the room were immaculate.

Close to the centre of town, just a 5 min walk. Great views (as the name suggests) and just all round brill place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to write is your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reccommendations helpful. Also pleased to hear the hot chocolate is good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

When we checked in, the manager Josh was very helpful and friendly. He gave us tips on the local restaurants and things to do. We stayed two nights but unfortunately dreadful weather prevented us from whale watching. We therefore had more free time to spend in the room than expected but fortunately this was of good quality, clean, spacious and well appointed so that we did not feel trapped. The sofa area was a bonus. We managed a few drives, including the seal colony which was fun. The only slight drawback was the very limited free Wifi which in our view is not enough if you are travelling and need to make ongoing bookings. Overall, however, we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Go for upper floor facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a terrible shame when weather doesn't co operate, but glad you found your room comfortable and found other great things to do. Regarding 50mb free Wifi, more is available for purchase if required and we highly recommend travelling with a laptop if possible for better signal coverage and cheaper access :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Property: Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Address: 45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing