We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Nearby Hotels
US$102
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
89
97
30
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
97
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifithe main roadwhale watchingshort walksmall kitchenettestay there againkitchen facilitiesbusy roadgreat place to staynice staynew zealandthe ground floorgood sizeenjoyed our staystayed nightsbed was comfortablequiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Josh & Penny offer the real personal touch. Nothing was too much trouble, they even invited us into their home to use the computer, we almost felt that we were part of the family! The room was comfortable and spotless.The setting is attractive, very relaxing.and although on the outskirts It only takes about 5 minutes to walk down to the charming little town of Kaikoura, which has a lovely beach, offering access to the Whale experience, not to be missed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we toured the North & South Islands and this stop was definitely on top of the list. Thank you Penny & Josh, we wish you all the best of luck for the future.
Alison & Grahame Moore - Devon UK

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write us your lovely review. We truly enjoyed having you here to stay and it did feel like having family to visit! Please come and visit again if you get the chance :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Like all Bella Vista motels the room was a little on the small side but that was more than compensated by the quiet location, friendly service and good facilities. We had an upstairs unit which gave good view

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking your time to give feeback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bella Vista ,Josh and his wife can't do enough to help you with your holiday.
We used the BBQ which is available for guests on 2 occasions and had really good meals.
The rooms are spotless and a real credit to them,they are really working hard to make a success of the business and are so hospitable.when it came to leave we really felt we didn't want to go
They have a lovely grass area and nice tables and chairs to sit out and enjoy the nice weather we experienced while we were in New Zealand.
You would benefit from having your own transport staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We often say how lucky we are to have such lovely people coming to stay and sometimes it feels more like having friends over to stay! I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and visit to Kaikoura, feel free to come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nice place to stay while in Kaikoura. Rooms are clean and tidy. The room we had was not big but comfortable. Easy to find along the highway. Easy to walk downtown Kaikoura. Close to Whalewatch tours. The landlady was very nice and made sure you had a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_MargretH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and clean and loocation close to everything you needed :) safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Situated up a steep hill from the main beachside street, the location is probably best suited to those arriving by car (we arrived by bus). That said, it was a spacious room, with the bonus of a sofa as well as great views across the nearby mountains.

The owners were helpful in storing our bags before and after our stay, making it easy for us to do the Albatross and Whale Watching unencumbered. Everything was spotless and you got the sense of a well-run place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review for us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kaikoura :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews