We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice friendly and comfortable motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice friendly and comfortable motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

One of the best accommodations we stayed in. Very comfortable and well equipped rooms, very clean and well maintained. Rooms are a little small but motel in good position and nice views. Very helpful and friendly management and great service.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here to stay and hope you come again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    89
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bella Vista, Kaikoura. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need, and on top of all this, the views from the room across to the snow-capped mountains were magnificent. Penny and Josh, the Managers, were extremely friendly, helpful and generous hosts. The gardens were lovely. The hotel is close to town, walking access via a path next to the church, so close to everything - beach, restaurants, shops. We can't speak highly enough of this place.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all good, but the upstairs rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you kindly for your lovely review on our town, property and service :) it is feedback like this that makes our job so enjoyable. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked for one night but stayed for two because the hotel was perfect for our needs. Near the town and beaches - rooms was large and comfortable beds, nice clean white linens and excellent shower - kitchen facilities always nice to have so we enjoyed a light supper and a good breakfast in our room for a change. Host Penny was very helpful and internet worked perfectly.

Room Tip: Farthest from the main road is the best but rooms were not noisy at all - BBQ available if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to enter your review for us. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay :) Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a great stay here at the Bella Vista Kaikoura, the room was adequate for our needs and even though the Motel was full there was no problem with noise. The staff helped us to plan a day out and told us about eating out in town a short stroll away. I would stay agaian.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you kindly for your review, see you next time you are down this way :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had an excellent night's sleep when we stayed here. The mattress was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well cleaned. Friendly staff at reception also.
In Kaikoura there is a great gift shop with lots of local Jade carvings and polished shell at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am pleased you found your room comfortable and clean and enjoyed the township :) Safe travels and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

paid good money for small room with paper thin walls complex was near empty but we were placed beside a YOUNG FAMILY THAT were loud from the time we arrived until the grand wake up at 6 am not ideal WHEN TRAVELING SOUTH ISLAND

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I am disappointed and saddened from your review. You did indeed book our smallest room which for Kaikoura is one of the cheapest available for a newer complex. Had you mentioned at the time we would have happily moved you to another room further away from other guests. We can not help if we don't know there is a problem, so I recommend for your future accommodation stays anywhere that you request options if you are not happy :) Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed overnight after a days traveling. We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. Perfect accommodation for a family of four. Our unit was warm, clean and very comfortable and we enjoyed having plenty of space. We liked that there was a recycling bin. We would recommend this as the place to stay while you are in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to provide feedback for us, we appreciate your kind comments. Happy travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Property: Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Address: 45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing