We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Norfolk Pine

Norfolk Pine
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norfolk Pine
Ranked #28 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Friendly, helpful owners. On seafront - rooms are at a right angle to the road so you don't notice traffic noise, and it's not a busy road anyway. Very clean, well equipped. Internet access was free, via a Zenbu voucher. Room decor was retro but in good condition! We had a slight problem with the television and the owners both came to sort it out very quickly. Swimming with seals was wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed there for 1 night on the way down South and then again on the way up North, we had our dog with us and they were very gracious to accommodate her. Very friendly owners and amazing views sitting outside the room. We stayed in the studio unit and found it perfect for a stopover for both 1 or 2 nights, we sat outside when we where there on our little porch and the rest of the time we were out and about. Location wise it's perfect with fabulous little restaurants close by and the beach a stones throw away. This is what a typical kiwi motel should be like.... would stay again just for the views of mountains and ocean..

Room Tip: the studio's are perfect if you just need a bed for the night, smaller but perfectly cosy and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We landed in the Norfolk Pine on the first night of the first leg of our road trip around New Zealand. It was a great start - a good omen. The owners had booked us into the studio apartment but when we happened to mention we were brother and sister, they immediately offered the beachfront apartment at no extra cost. There was plenty of space in the room and it was warm and clean, with a spacious bathroom too.

The motel couldn't be better located for exploring Kaikoura. They have good wifi and a laundry room which was all we really needed to get ready for the next chunk of the drive. They heartily recommend their neighbours in Encounter Kaikoura for DELICIOUS cooked breakfasts (I recommend the scrambled eggs) and they also gave us some great pointers for our foray into wine country. Their top pick for vineyards? Yealands estate. And we were so glad to have seen that as well.

It's definitely on my list of must-stays for the next trip to NZ.

Room Tip: If it's free, ask for the beachfront apartment. There is nothing like waking up to that view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridNiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plum2, Owner at Norfolk Pine, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip thru New Zealand and look forward to hosting you, if we are still, when you return
Sue and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2012. The units are a bit dated, but with comfortable beds and clean facilities. We stayed in a studio unit, which has no kitchen sink or full cooker, but there is a communal kitchen adjacent, so it presented no real problems - the toaster and microwave meant we could self -cater adequately and there was enough kitchen equipment to do the basics. The location is good - only a few minutes walk into the centre of town for bars and restaurants, and also a Four Square supermarket nearby, but you really need a car if you plan to stock up at the New World supermarket, as it's at the other end of town. The owners were friendly and provided various advice and information on local matters. They were also fairly relaxed about the wifi charges - we paid for a short period, but were given a voucher for the more expensive option, so didn't feel it was excessively priced - although of course if you shop around you'll find free wifi somewhere in the vicinity. Kaikoura offers a wealth of tourist opportunities, with the whale & dolphin encounters and bird-watching trips aplenty, plus the coastal scenery around the peninsula is stunning. This motel is one of many to choose from, but the accommodation is clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plum2, Owner at Norfolk Pine, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thanks for the review. We try and keep everything neat and tidy so that you will enjoy your stay with us.
Sue and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

A litlte TLC might not be amiss but the owners were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfy even if it was basic, with fridge and microwave and a New World supermarket just a few mins drive up the road it was certainly adequate. Beach just across the road and Albatross/ Dolphin encounter next door. More shops a few mins walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plum2, Owner at Norfolk Pine, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thanks for the review. We have changed the times for the usage of the laundry and updated the mechanisms to reduce the noise.Sue and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed in one of there ocean view units no.9 for two nights, it started off great room is nice, clean and well equipped until the motel started filling up with people and thats when you realise the walls are paper thin so you hear everything including road noise (the main road is outside the door) and the guest laundry the unit has beside it if the washing machine bagging noise through your room all day doesnt annoy you i dont know what will the best thing about it is its location and view... maybe it'll be a good idea to look around first before choosing to stay here the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

A terrible motel, old, rundown and right on the main road. The rate through wotif was a complete rip-off, well over priced. The child's play area consists of a swing. We were ordered not to have a BBQ as it was 'too windy' even though there was hardly a breath of air. No A/C - the rooms get stiflingly hot in the day. The family room was divided into two by a plastic partition wall - with no outside window. The bathroom was horrible, dark gloomy and infested with flies. KEEP DRIVING there are plenty of other places to stay at far better rates than this miserable dump.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Pine

Property: Norfolk Pine
Address: 124 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Pine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water front Motel with spectacular sea and mountain views. 9 Units ranging from studios to apartments all on ground level. Beach across road, children’s playground on site. Close to Dolphin Encounter and 2 licensed restaurants, close to township 6 minutes walk (1km). Ample off street parking. Quiet and clean with friendly atmosphere. Able to help organise Whale Watch etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing