We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norfolk Pine
Nearby Hotels
US$244
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
7
17
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
17
11
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

its just so 1975, once you get inside, there is really little to recommend this place at $125. Small and dated. It a typical managed motel where the the owner is absent and lacking.If you want Internet you will find $5 lasts you no time , if you are a couple who need internet get ready for $20, bad showers , not don't do it, there is better up the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulscottfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Friendly, helpful owners. On seafront - rooms are at a right angle to the road so you don't notice traffic noise, and it's not a busy road anyway. Very clean, well equipped. Internet access was free, via a Zenbu voucher. Room decor was retro but in good condition! We had a slight problem with the television and the owners both came to sort it out very quickly. Swimming with seals was wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed there for 1 night on the way down South and then again on the way up North, we had our dog with us and they were very gracious to accommodate her. Very friendly owners and amazing views sitting outside the room. We stayed in the studio unit and found it perfect for a stopover for both 1 or 2 nights, we sat outside when we where there on our little porch and the rest of the time we were out and about. Location wise it's perfect with fabulous little restaurants close by and the beach a stones throw away. This is what a typical kiwi motel should be like.... would stay again just for the views of mountains and ocean..

Room Tip: the studio's are perfect if you just need a bed for the night, smaller but perfectly cosy and comfy
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuluDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We landed in the Norfolk Pine on the first night of the first leg of our road trip around New Zealand. It was a great start - a good omen. The owners had booked us into the studio apartment but when we happened to mention we were brother and sister, they immediately offered the beachfront apartment at no extra cost. There was plenty of space in the room and it was warm and clean, with a spacious bathroom too.

The motel couldn't be better located for exploring Kaikoura. They have good wifi and a laundry room which was all we really needed to get ready for the next chunk of the drive. They heartily recommend their neighbours in Encounter Kaikoura for DELICIOUS cooked breakfasts (I recommend the scrambled eggs) and they also gave us some great pointers for our foray into wine country. Their top pick for vineyards? Yealands estate. And we were so glad to have seen that as well.

It's definitely on my list of must-stays for the next trip to NZ.

Room Tip: If it's free, ask for the beachfront apartment. There is nothing like waking up to that view of the Pacific with the snowcapped Kaikoura ranges coming round from the left. Stunning!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridNiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plum2, Owner at Norfolk Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip thru New Zealand and look forward to hosting you, if we are still, when you return
Sue and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2012. The units are a bit dated, but with comfortable beds and clean facilities. We stayed in a studio unit, which has no kitchen sink or full cooker, but there is a communal kitchen adjacent, so it presented no real problems - the toaster and microwave meant we could self -cater adequately and there was enough kitchen equipment to do the basics. The location is good - only a few minutes walk into the centre of town for bars and restaurants, and also a Four Square supermarket nearby, but you really need a car if you plan to stock up at the New World supermarket, as it's at the other end of town. The owners were friendly and provided various advice and information on local matters. They were also fairly relaxed about the wifi charges - we paid for a short period, but were given a voucher for the more expensive option, so didn't feel it was excessively priced - although of course if you shop around you'll find free wifi somewhere in the vicinity. Kaikoura offers a wealth of tourist opportunities, with the whale & dolphin encounters and bird-watching trips aplenty, plus the coastal scenery around the peninsula is stunning. This motel is one of many to choose from, but the accommodation is clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plum2, Owner at Norfolk Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thanks for the review. We try and keep everything neat and tidy so that you will enjoy your stay with us.
Sue and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews