We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort, friendly owners”
Review of Norfolk Pine

Norfolk Pine
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Pine
Ranked #28 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet comfort, friendly owners”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We turned up late in the day without a reservation. we got a two bedroom unit... The rooms adjoined with a sliding partition between the two. the beds were very comfortable, and the area very quiet. We got a fabulous recommendation for dinner, and the next morning the owners stopped by to make sure that we knew that a popular road often travelled by tourists was closed (we weren't taking it fortunately but it was lovely of them to tell us anyway). They also knew that the whale trips were going out that day which they knew we were keen on doing. Kitchen was well stocked and fine for preparing a simple meal (two burners and a microwave). Bathroom was spacious and everything was spotlessly clean. Plenty of room for our family of three to spread out and be comfortable. The Internet voucher is plenty of data to check your email and social media, not for downloading or sending large amounts of data.... I thought it was perfectly adequate for our needs, I can surf the net at home. Stunning mountain view from the room and just a few short steps -literally- from a sunrise over the ocean. Absolutely would stay here again

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank raezveyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The beach was just over the road, so great scenery on your door step. I had a self contained studio unit. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. I have stayed here a few times and have always felt at home. The hosts were great and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZRelievingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We had booked a studio room but was upgraded to a beautiful front unit that looked onto beach and mountains.the room was spacious and very clean.the owners were very welcoming.will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Among all the places I booked for our trip to New Zealand, this was the worst.
Booked a 2 Bedroom, very tired looking, beds were not firm. The best part we were only here for one night (thank God).
One of the things we signed up for was to swim with the dolphins (fabulous). And it helped that this was next to the meeting place of Encounter Kaikoura where we had to meet at 5:55 in the morning.
But the worst part was, walking into our room with the owners cleaning our room, removing all our stuff from the rooms and scolding us that check out was at 10am. We were there a little after 10am after our wonderful swimming with the dolphins!!! First of all, if they had told us upon check-in that check-out was at 10am then they have every right to scold us and remove our stuff from the room. The woman also scolded us for using the white bath towels for swimming with the dolphins. She said if we told them when we checked in that we were swimming with the dolphins, she would have given us a different set of towels. Hello? Am I missing something here? I told her we went to the reception last night and it was closed. I wanted to get extra towels and the password to the wifi. And she answered saying: " Just like you, we have a life, we also go out"... So this is how they treat you in this dump. I will never recommend this to anyone. It's ugly to start with anyway. And with this nasty behavior, it can really ruin your day!!! I just ignored her and collected our stuff and left. I didn't want her attitude to ruin anything for me especially since this was Easter Sunday...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just across the road from the Norfolk Pine Motel is the ocean .... it's a magic spot for the kids to play , or to just sit with a coffee in quiet contemplation . The motel rooms are simply designed and tidy . Full cooking facilities are provided , handy to knock up your own breakfast . You don't get much noise from the road traffic , nor from the local environs . It is a quiet , soporific location . If your budget runs to it , one unit does has an amazing ocean view .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

its just so 1975, once you get inside, there is really little to recommend this place at $125. Small and dated. It a typical managed motel where the the owner is absent and lacking.If you want Internet you will find $5 lasts you no time , if you are a couple who need internet get ready for $20, bad showers , not don't do it, there is better up the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulscottfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Friendly, helpful owners. On seafront - rooms are at a right angle to the road so you don't notice traffic noise, and it's not a busy road anyway. Very clean, well equipped. Internet access was free, via a Zenbu voucher. Room decor was retro but in good condition! We had a slight problem with the television and the owners both came to sort it out very quickly. Swimming with seals was wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Sierra Beachfront Motel
#18 of 20 in Kaikoura
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Pine

Property: Norfolk Pine
Address: 124 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Pine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water front Motel with spectacular sea and mountain views. 9 Units ranging from studios to apartments all on ground level. Beach across road, children’s playground on site. Close to Dolphin Encounter and 2 licensed restaurants, close to township 6 minutes walk (1km). Ample off street parking. Quiet and clean with friendly atmosphere. Able to help organise Whale Watch etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing