We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, but tired looking”
Review of Blue Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Seas Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
ELYRIA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, but tired looking”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms were good sized and clean, and had all the standard plates, cups and pans. But the countertops were older and worn, and the carpet was a bit threadbare. The bathroom was new though, and the shower provided very hot water with good pressure. The motel is away from the noiser town area, which means that there aren't any restaurants within walking distance. But, the owners were kind and welcoming, and offered several suggestions for food in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacf615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
58
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ranfurly, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The above says it all. We had the studio with spa bah which after traveling all day was bliss. This was also the front unit facing the sea so sleep came easily with the sound of the waves. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Compared with overseas this is up with the best.

Room Tip: ask for the spa unit to get the front one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I have been travelling around NZ for almost 8 weeks now ands this is the first Motel to offer such sound therapy. The location is right across the Esplanade from the beach and the two nights we were there, we were lulled asleep by the mighty waves.
It also helped to have a very comfortable bed and suite, with a complete kitchenette (including fridge, microwave, 4-hob stove and oven) and modern bathroom with shower. Sky TV and Internet access kept us entertained in the evenings, when it was too dark to sit outside our unit watching the waves (there is a table and chairs for al fresco dining). From the motel, one can take long walks along the beachfront in either direction: to the seal colony or the town, both not too far a walk, but bring sunhat and water, if you're venturing out the Peninsula way, and your camera. The Memorial garden is a peaceful oasis embellished by a lady who, until her 90's took care of the plae to honour the fallen soldiers. read the plaque, it will restore your faith in humanity. I won't say more: you must go there and feel the serenity of the place yourselves.

Room Tip: We were in unit # 11, the 3rd one in from the beach. Waves concerto guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon after flying from Australia and driving from Christchurch and we were welcomed by the owner and quickly shown to our room which was clean and well equipped with a full kitchen, although we didn't make use of it as we dined at the hotel at the end of the road. We had everything we needed in the room and it was quiet. There was a very good guide to dining options and things to do in the area in the room. Happy to recommend this motel based on our experience there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port angeles wa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

with knowing nothing of Kaikoura, we stopped in after coming across Lewis Pass from Greymouth. we considered ourselves lucky as many of the places were sporting "no vacancy" signs. Carole and Geoff are friendly and efficient hosts. their accommodations are very clean and the view out over the bay is inviting. being right across the street from the beach, swimming proved to be easy and refreshing. my wife and i ended up staying a week as we wanted to catch our breath, kick back and soak up some local color before returning to the states. our 2 1/2 month visit to New Zealand allowed up to stay in about 30 different places. motels, hotels, b&b, bach and backpackers. the Blue Seas Motels is easily in the top 5 of all these. the Pollards are folks who genuinely care for their guests.

Room Tip: rooms near the street offer the best view, and after sunset, the traffic is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My daughter, her baby and I stayed here over Christmas. We can't speak highly enough of these motels. They are at the quiet end of Kaikoura and we found them comfortable and very clean. Everything you need was there. The hosts, Carol and Geoff were friendly, obliging and helpful. Our two bedroom unit was comfortable and very well equipped. Queen and single beds in each bedroom. Highchair and baby bath offered for our baby.

We recommend these motels highly and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Whenever visiting Kaikoura, I always prefer to stay on the Esplanade, away from the noise and crowds of the town centre. This part of Kaikoura also offers the best views of the bay and mountains.

Blue Seas Motel is one of the motels on the Esplanade with average rooms, but a nice lawn in front. They offered a good off season rate which we availed.

The manager/owner was helpful with all the information we needed about the sightseeing, meals, etc.

When in Kaikoura, do drive down to the seal colony. You can even touch the seals, they are so closeby. On the way, you can stop for the crayfish stall and have a reasonably priced meal. Also do not miss the views at the water tank on hill behind the motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Motel

Property: Blue Seas Motel
Address: 222 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing