We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved this Charming Motel”
Review of Blue Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Seas Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We Loved this Charming Motel”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We only stayed here one night but we enjoyed our stay so much. This place is so charming. What a location and view! Kaikoura is a lovely spot to spend some time and this motel is right across the street from a beautiful beach with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The room is very clean and the kitchen has all you will need. The modern, updated bathroom is quite roomy. The bed has electric mattress pads to keep you cozy at night. Wide screen TV, too. Good location-close to restaurants and shopping but far enough away so it's very quiet. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

First of all, the lady who owns this motel is the nicest woman! You'll love her.

Her motel in Kaikoura is lovely, just what you expect of a motel. The location is nice, right on to the beach. Don't expect a luxury hotel, but then again, that's not what motels are about!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Exceptionally clean accommodation, friendly, helpful owners and quiet location.
I found the bed somewhat uncomfortable but my partner thought otherwise so each to their own taste. Kitchen unit outfitted well, decent shower and electric blanket on the bed for those cooler nights. Owners had the heater on warming the room for our late arrival - much appreciated. Motel is across the road from the beach - great view & the sound of the waves to go to sleep by. Village shopping & cafes a good walk or a short drive down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A pleasant walk along the esplanade from the main shopping and dining areas of Kaikoura make for a restful night at the Blues Seas. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the service is as friendly and helful as one has coe to expect in New Zealand

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in the room that faces the Ocean and had a wonderful time there. The room has a large spa bath and the sound of the ocean waves at night was wonderful and very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to others, it is on the quiet side of town and we enjoyed that heaps too. It is not far from the Peninsula Walk which was grand. We circumvented the entire peninsula and had a wonderful time doing that on our 2 day stay. The views were great. Very nice motel and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The only sound that you are going to be disturbed by is the waves. The motel has everything you need: kitchen with various utensils, showers, TV, etc. It is conveniently located for those who have a car as it is going to be a bit of a walk to the shops at Esplanade, which means being away from the noise of the central area. Seal colony and seafood BBQ is just a minute away by car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELYRIA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms were good sized and clean, and had all the standard plates, cups and pans. But the countertops were older and worn, and the carpet was a bit threadbare. The bathroom was new though, and the shower provided very hot water with good pressure. The motel is away from the noiser town area, which means that there aren't any restaurants within walking distance. But, the owners were kind and welcoming, and offered several suggestions for food in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacf615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Motel

Property: Blue Seas Motel
Address: 222 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing