We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your Own Tissue”
Review of Blue Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Seas Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bring Your Own Tissue”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Austere and basic best describe this motel. It was clean. We stayed one room from the road and it was quiet. It is a long walk to town. They provide 20 mb, per STAY, for free. Wifi is weak unless you are close to the office. I thought the laundry was expensive....$3.00 per load for washing and the same for drying. But, at least they have the facility. Breakfast is almost a joke...two pieces of bread, juice, and a box of cereal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    46
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here three nights while doing a self drive through New Zealand. I had originally booked for two nights in their one bedroom unit but decided to add an extra night in Kaikoura. When I couldn't add an extra night on my reservation via Booking.com, I changed to the spa/studio with beachfront view and am so glad we did!

There is really only ONE unit that has a full view of the ocean and that is the studio with spa beachfront-number 14. Because two of the days we were in Kaikoura were filled with overcast skies and wind at hurricane forces we were glad to have the unit with the view but not having to be outside to enjoy it.
The hotel staff is wonderful and very helpful.

The hotel is located towards the end of the area where the other hotels are so its about a 20 minute walk into town if you don't have a car. The hotel is actually across the road from the ocean divided by a two lane road that goes through town and the beach area is rocky,full of a lot of kelp and wood.

The hotel reminded me of a lot of the hotels from the 60/70's and appears to have been redone in the bathroom only with a jacuzzi tub and shower head.The usual price of the unit is supposedly $190 but the owner had reduced it to $170 when I made the reservation on booking.com. I feel it was a bit overpriced but the view out of the studio was gorgeous . The kitchenette area had a french press,water kettle,stove and fridge and was well appointed. Our unit had a full bed along with a twin bed;small sofa and coffee table with two chairs/table to eat off of. There was a bench to view the ocean outside of the unit along with a table set right on the side of the unit.

Kaikoura is a beautiful town-enjoy and be sure to do the Whale watch tour!

Room Tip: Unit 14 is the only unit to really see the ocean! The parking spot in front of 14 is terrible so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed four people in a studio unit which had plenty of space, good bathroom and kitchen. Everything was really clean and in good shape. The owners were friendly and nice. Really close to the beach but a little walk (20 min maybe) to the town center.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here over Christmas in 2012 and it was very nice, clean and well maintained. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We have been here twice now and will always go back to this motel again for its location, cleanliness and good size rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We only stayed here one night but we enjoyed our stay so much. This place is so charming. What a location and view! Kaikoura is a lovely spot to spend some time and this motel is right across the street from a beautiful beach with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The room is very clean and the kitchen has all you will need. The modern, updated bathroom is quite roomy. The bed has electric mattress pads to keep you cozy at night. Wide screen TV, too. Good location-close to restaurants and shopping but far enough away so it's very quiet. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

First of all, the lady who owns this motel is the nicest woman! You'll love her.

Her motel in Kaikoura is lovely, just what you expect of a motel. The location is nice, right on to the beach. Don't expect a luxury hotel, but then again, that's not what motels are about!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Exceptionally clean accommodation, friendly, helpful owners and quiet location.
I found the bed somewhat uncomfortable but my partner thought otherwise so each to their own taste. Kitchen unit outfitted well, decent shower and electric blanket on the bed for those cooler nights. Owners had the heater on warming the room for our late arrival - much appreciated. Motel is across the road from the beach - great view & the sound of the waves to go to sleep by. Village shopping & cafes a good walk or a short drive down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Sierra Beachfront Motel
#18 of 20 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Motel

Property: Blue Seas Motel
Address: 222 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing