We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akama Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Motel(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boat Harbour Resort(Urangan)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
427
81
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
81
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat clubdeluxe penthousefraser islandshort walk to the marinawhale watchingthe kitchenlarge balconyfifth floorbeautiful apartmentbedroom apartmentcoffee machinethree bedroombooking toursboat harbourheated poolrecommend this resortliving area
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My three friends and I booked a 2-bedroom apartment for the weekend, and it totally exceeded our expectations. We were amazed by how spacious it was. The apartment was so nice and clean. The resort also had a great pool, jacuzzi and bbq-area downstairs. Regina in the reception was really helpful with both booking the apartment and the tours for Fraser Island. We will definitely come back here next time we stop by at Hervey Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tu_Nhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Hello Tu_nhi
Thanks for the great review.
You were such a nice group of friends – it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Akama and we would love to have you back whenever you get another break from your studies.
We knew you would have a great time on Fraser Island – the style of tour you chose is very popular and the swim in Lake McKenzie is often reason enough to take any of the day tours we offer – it’s absolutely beautiful.
Look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife, two kids and I visited Akama Resort for two nights in 2011. We were blown away with the size of the apartment. Each apartment is like a penthouse. It was perfect base for our family. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a modern, large apartment in a great location for a single night or longer holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanJSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Hi NathanJSpicer,
Thank you for your review.
One of the biggest surprises guests seem to get when they open the door is the size of our apartments, gone are the days of staying in a small cramped unit. For a little extra $$$ you get a whole lot more.
Hope to see you and the family again one day.
Kind regards
Matt & pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My partner & I wanted somewhere to relax and enjoy a quiet Xmas & New year whilst visiting my immediate family who all live in Hervey Bay. We stayed in a 2brm ocean view apartment on the 4th floor from Xmas eve 2011 until 2nd Jan 2012 ... we didn't want to leave!

We loved the layout of the apartment with both bedrooms having their own bathrooms and separate to each other plus the large open plan kitchen/living area. All our meals and late afternoons were spent on the large private balcony overlooking the pool area. The best thing was waking up every morning to the view from here ... the ocean and nearby Fraser Island.

One of the surprising things was that the pool & BBQ area were always available and never over-crowded (even on Xmas Day & New Years Eve). We really enjoyed the intimacy of a small resort and the location is great - a few minutes walk to the beach and the Boat Club.

Apartments are sound proof, air-conditioned (not that we used it with the ocean breeze coming in through the open bi-fold doors) and extremely clean. Secure undercover parking gave us peace of mind.

Even though there is no Restaurant on-site we had a lovely meal next door at the Ramada Hotel at Smokey Joe's Cafe Bar & Grill.

What really sold me though on booking Akama Resort was the on-site Managers Matt & Pia who kindly showed me through a 2brm apartment and the rest of the complex when I was up in Hervey Bay in early Oct visiting my Mum. They were so friendly and extremely helpful I booked immediately for our Xmas break. Thank you - we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hi Trish J,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We remember when you and your mum came in and had a nice chat. We think most guests are surprised by the size and cleanliness of our apartments and this is what keeps them coming back. We like to class ourselves as a small Boutique resort and even when we are full it is always still peaceful and quiet. Look forward to seeing you back again, don’t forget to keep an eye on our website for super cheap off season rates and specials.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had six adults plus a baby in one of the 3 bedroom apartments for a week including Christmas. We had a fantastic week. The apartments are well equipped, very large and very clean. The balconies are huge and have a bbq. The coffee machine was great for everyone except the 2 of us who needed decaf pods. Owners pls have decaf pods available as well as regular for those of us who can't have caffeinated coffee! My only other negative comments -and I note other reviewers have mentioned one of these as well - are the unsuitability of the blinds in the bedrooms for the Qld summer sun and an issue with towels. Because Qld does not have daylight saving, it gets light here at 4am, and it is not a gentle light it is brillant sunlight. The blinds do virtually nothing to stop it and one of the blinds was actually fitted backwards so gaped out from the window badly. I also found that because we were staying for a whole week and the rooms are not serviced, there are not enough towels and hand towels in these large apartments. The towels are quite small and thin and with 4 adults using the main bathroom we definitely needed some more handtowels and also a couple of spare body towels. But even with these comments, it is a terrific place to stay and although I had limited contact with the staff, when I did they were friendly. I would highly recommend this as the best place to stay in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luabandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hello luabandit
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
So nice to read that you all had a great time while you were with us – yes, the size of the apartments makes them an ideal place to spend a holiday with the whole family. Pleased to hear that you liked the coffee machines and we will take into consideration your comments regarding the availability of decaf pods. As previously stated in our responses to past reviews the blinds are made of a block-out fabric but as you have mentioned with the sun rising so early in our part of the world it can be quite bright of a morning – we have no control over this but we do have control over the way the blinds are rolled and on this occasion you are correct the blinds were rolled in reverse and this was not detected prior to your arrival – we would have immediately rectified this issue if we had been aware of it at the time. Apologies for this oversight. We do offer a mid stay service on all reservations over 7 days, I am not sure why you did not receive this service and would like to apologise if you were missed. All our apartments have fully equipped laundries with washing machine, clothes dryer, clothes airer and laundry powder - we find most guests run their towels through during their stay but we would have happily given you more linen if we had been made aware of your problem. Our linen is hired through a third party, we pay for top range but do not always receive it. We are very pleased to hear that you would recommend us as the best place to stay in Hervey Bay and we hope this means you will visit again. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again for the great review.
Kind Regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My family 4 adults and 2 grand children spent 5 days here and were very happy, clean rooms,
with the rooms being nice and quiet.
Well stocked kitchen and our babies loved being so close to the pool we had no problems with privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Pamela j,Thank you for your review. Cleanliness and customer service is at the top of our list and it’s really appreciated when lovely guests like you take note. We like people to feel like Akama is their home away from home and a well stocked kitchen for those budding Masterchefs for some is a priority. Thanks for coming to stay and hope to see you again
Kind Regards

Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews