We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in mid April. This resort is in a nice quiet spot, just a short stroll to the mariner and beach. The room and outdoor area (balcony) were both great, with more than enough room and very comfortable. We had a ground floor room with a massive outdoor area and just a few steps to the pool. The resort does not have a restaurant but its a short walk down to the mariner and you will find a nice selection there. The resort was great and i would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Dazm70
Thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Our poolside apartments are perfect for families with the direct access to the pool as you have stated. With the pool being heated we have been finding our ‘winter’ guests have also been impressed.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again - we will make sure that 102 will be waiting for you.
Thanks again for the review.
Regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Outstanding accommodation close to the boat harbour . Good walking track to beach and pier . Can walk to restaurants however some a bit far to walk to but the quality of the accomodation and the facilities make this such a great place to stay . Really gorgeous and friendly helpful staff. We will stay again .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlbardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi mlbardwell
Thank you for the lovely review.
You are right; this is a great location just across from the harbour. The cycle/walking path that runs the full length of the Esplanade is very popular with our guests, it’s always nice to see our visitors heading off for a stroll to watch the sunset over the water.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again.
Thanks again for the review.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette & Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Akama whilst attending a business conference at the Hervey Bay Boat Club. The room and facilities at the Akama were great. I will recommend this resort to my circle of acquaintances. There is no restaurant available at the resort but the menu at the boat club nearby was great. Breakfast was a short walk to the Esplanade.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will1954Georgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Will
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay – even if you were working! Hopefully, you can visit us again when you need a break – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Akama Resort.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location, close to the Boat club, which is handy for meals.
Room was spacious - with a lovely balcony, comfortable beds and a well equiped kitchen.
Huge showers in both bathrooms, which was great after camping on Fraser Island.
Reg on reception was very friendly and helpful with booking us onto a fishing trip.
Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks Dee J for the great review.
It was a pleasure to welcome such keen travelers to Akama Resort for your recent stay. It was so nice to hear all about the terrific time you had on Fraser Island (even though you were all a bit ‘camped out’ by the time you arrived at Akama) Glad you enjoyed your fishing trip ( and the bbq that followed).
We hope you make it back up to the Fraser Coast again – we’d love to have you back.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am staying here for 3 weeks due to work this place is home away from home with everything you could need and more very friendly staff and a heated pool to top it all off very quite location and the boat club a 2 minute walk

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank lovepatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi lovepatong
Thanks for the review. It has been a pleasure to have you with us at Akama and we will be disappointed to see you leave. It does make it so much easier for the longer stays when you have plenty of room and everything you need to make you feel at home.
Once again, thanks for the review.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Akama Resort in Hervey Bay recently. Our hosts Chris and Henrietta were wonderful to us! They booked us a day tour with Fraser Island Tours, which we enjoyed very much! OK, that tour was one of the best highlights of our trip! We talk about it with everyone who will listen. The tour guide picked us up and dropped us off at the front entrance to Akama. Chris and Henrietta gave us endless amounts of local information so we could find our way up and down the coast and back to Brisbane for our flight to Sydney. (Loved Toogum!) We were able to buy groceries at a local Woolworth's and then buy fish at the local seafood market within a block of Akama and cook our meals in our spotless apartment. When we wanted to eat out, they referred us to local restaurants that catered to our dietary needs (vegetarian and gluten-free). These people aim to please. Akama is really beautiful. It is right at the ocean and convenient for walking along the beach. Although we were there in June, we did not get to see whales but we did get to go out on the pier and see pods of dolphins feeding. The sunsets from Hervey Bay and from Riverton (ferry stop) were awesome! We would go back in a hearbeat! Thanks to everyone there who made our stay THE BEST!
Anyone looking for a spotlessly clean, quiet, great location for whale or dolphin watching or beach walking, should definitely stay at Akama. Worth every dollar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghandi-flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello ghandi-flower
Wow – thanks for the great review. You were wonderful guests and it was our pleasure to assist you with your tour and dining options.
Your review has really captured what this beautiful region has to offer and you are right, the sunsets over the water are breathtaking.
Such a shame that you missed the whales by only a few days – we are already offering Whale Search trips and we have some great pics taken over the last couple of days. If you do plan another trip to Oz make sure it is a little later in the year – we would love to welcome you back to Akama.
Thank you again for the review.
Best wishes and kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely welcome from Chris & Henriette. Apartment spacious, clean with lovely balcony, and everything one requires for a pleasant stay.
Regina on reception was great in organising car rental from a lovely guy called David.
All in all it was lovely, and we would/will return and highly recommend it as a great place to stay in Hervey Bay.
Greg & Evelyn

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Greg & Evelyn
Thanks so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to assist you both while you were staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort – would be great if you could make it for the Whale Watching season.
We hope Evelyn is recovering well from her injury.
Thank you again for the review.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
601 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £96 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star AAA rated self catering resort is ideally situated next to the marina at Urangan, overlooking Fraser Island and the Great Sandy Straits. Guests enjoy Fraser Island tours and great opportunities for whale-watching. The property offers free WiFi access, free covered parking with lift access to all levels. Akama Resort provides a variety of spacious, modern 1, 2, 3 bedroom-penthouses and apartments that offer panoramic views of the Marina and Fraser Island from private, sunny balconies. All apartments are accessible via an elevator. Nearby attractions include small local markets, an 18 km long bike path along Charlton Esplanade, and cafés, pubs and clubs along Hervey Bay Marina. Guests can enjoy a 35-minute flight to the Lady Elliot Island, relax at Shelly Beach, or go sailing across the Great Sandy Strait while watching dolphins, dugongs, and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing