We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local knowledge and great service ( and whales!)”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local knowledge and great service ( and whales!)”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at Akama for two nights as a couple for a last minute getaway and to do some whale-watching. From the first interaction, I was impressed by Akama. The staff member who took my enquiry (Regina) was incredibly helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. It was so good to make a booking with a local person who knows (and clearly loves) her town. She discussed my requirements for the room, listened to my requests, and answered all my questions about the hotel, Hervey Bay, and the whale-watching tours available. She sent me a link to the boats within minutes, and offered to help with bookings etc. We followed her advice for our Saturday tour and had a fantastic magical whale-watching day on the Bay!

When we arrived, it was all smooth sailing. We were early for check-in, but Reg took our number and we went for a walk until she called us. The 3rd floor "pool-view" apartment was a pleasant surprise. We booked a one bedroom, and it seems they lock off the second bedroom and bathroom- that was fine and not a problem. The living area was spacious and light, all tiled floors, and the kitchen well stocked and equipped. The whole place was absolutely spotless. Gleaming actually. There are comfortable lounges, coffee table, good tv and spacious dining area. The only thing missing was a rug in the living area. It was a bit cold and echoing and a rug would have made all the difference.

The bedroom was large, with a comfortable king-size bed and good sized wardrobes. Plenty of space and whisper quiet at night. Bathroom (no bath) fine with a decent shower and again nice and clean.

The bedroom and lounge open onto a balcony with sun lounger and chairs. Would be pleasant to sit there in the morning, but we had mainly rain/wind so didn't really use it.

One thing to note is that this hotel is not actually on the water. The Esplanade veers away from the Bay at this point. The hotel faces onto a road and caravan park, beyond which is the bay. Our room looked over the pool area, and onto the street and caravan park. We knew we wouldn't have a view, but if you want a water view, upper floors would perhaps provide this. It is an easy walk to the marina where the whale-watching boats leave, but quite a long drive into the more central area of Hervey Bay. There is quite a large and popular Club on the marina- sort of like an RSL club, where you can have a simple meal and a drink. Having said this, Hervey Bay is actually very spread out and doesn't seem to have a real central area, but this hotel is a bit out of the way anyway. Once again, we were there for quiet and relaxation, and didn't mind this at all. We took a cab into dinner at a pub on Saturday night ($20 cab ride) and it was fine.

Overall, we were really pleased with Akama. It was nicer than I expected for an apartment hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and the service was really very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonwolf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi moonwolf242
Wow – thanks for the great review.
Such a lovely couple – it was a pleasure assisting you while you were here. It was a pity the weather wasn’t the best but as you have stated, just a chance to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet was still worth the visit. The Hervey Bay Boat Club is always a popular spot and the short walk over to board the Whale Watching boats is another advantage with our location.
You are right, the views across the Great Sandy Strait to Fraser Island are beautiful and we offer this style of apartment on our three upper levels. If you have the chance to stay with us again we’ll make sure we have an ocean view apartment waiting for you.
Thank you again for the very kind review.
Best wishes,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    73
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
188
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment. Very modern and clean with excellent facilities. Close to Marina and walking distance to quite a few restaurants. Only complaint would be that the 2nd bedroom had single beds made into a queen bed and these were hard and not particularly comfortable. The managers were really helpful and obliging and recommended great whale watching boat which was fantastic. Would definitely recommend ( esp if you don't have to have the single beds!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJane1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi NicolaJane1961
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
So pleased that you enjoyed your apartment and that you had such a great time out with the Humpbacks.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Akama in the future – apartment 102 will be waiting for you.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Within a five minute walk of the marina and restaurants, what this resort lacks from not being alongside the marina is more than made up by the helpfulness of the managers, Chris and Henriette, as well as the quality fit-out and size of the self-catering apartments. With such a great whale watching season this year we're hopeful of returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm_from_brizvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello mandm_from_brizvegas
Thank you for the great review.
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
The Whale Watching season means lots of very happy guests and some wonderful comments coming back to us about their experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully another trip out to see the Humpbacks.
Best wishes and kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Returning south on from a Qld road trip with our three teenage children, we had not booked accommodation ahead as we weren't sure what location we might end up in. As such, with tired and hungry travellers in our party, we discovered the Akama Resort on-line and presented ourselves at reception with fingers crossed (most of the town accommodation was booked out due to a Football Carnival). A lovely gentleman greeted us and offered our family the last available 2 bedroom apartment. We were very impressed with the service (the extra portable single bed was made and ready by the time we opened the apartment door) and the quality of the apartment itself. The large windows afforded views towards the marina, the beds were super comfortable and the showers were fantastic (important points for travellers!). The kitchen was extremely well appointed and the apartment was very spacious. The only (very small) issue was that our second key card did not work and the children were locked out for a time after using the pool. As it was 'after hours' we did not want to bother reception, although am sure they would have assisted if asked. We enjoyed our overnight stay so much that we have already booked a return three night stay (hoping to catch up with some whales).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Narelle W
Thanks for the very kind review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you all back in October - your Whale Watching cruise has been booked………you will have a great time out on the beautiful waters of Hervey Bay with the magnificent Humpback whales. Guests returning after each trip have been having some wonderful close encounters and some guests have been booking again for the next day.
Thanks again for the review. See you soon.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette & Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in mid April. This resort is in a nice quiet spot, just a short stroll to the mariner and beach. The room and outdoor area (balcony) were both great, with more than enough room and very comfortable. We had a ground floor room with a massive outdoor area and just a few steps to the pool. The resort does not have a restaurant but its a short walk down to the mariner and you will find a nice selection there. The resort was great and i would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Dazm70
Thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Our poolside apartments are perfect for families with the direct access to the pool as you have stated. With the pool being heated we have been finding our ‘winter’ guests have also been impressed.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again - we will make sure that 102 will be waiting for you.
Thanks again for the review.
Regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Outstanding accommodation close to the boat harbour . Good walking track to beach and pier . Can walk to restaurants however some a bit far to walk to but the quality of the accomodation and the facilities make this such a great place to stay . Really gorgeous and friendly helpful staff. We will stay again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi mlbardwell
Thank you for the lovely review.
You are right; this is a great location just across from the harbour. The cycle/walking path that runs the full length of the Esplanade is very popular with our guests, it’s always nice to see our visitors heading off for a stroll to watch the sunset over the water.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again.
Thanks again for the review.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette & Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Akama whilst attending a business conference at the Hervey Bay Boat Club. The room and facilities at the Akama were great. I will recommend this resort to my circle of acquaintances. There is no restaurant available at the resort but the menu at the boat club nearby was great. Breakfast was a short walk to the Esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will1954Georgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Will
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay – even if you were working! Hopefully, you can visit us again when you need a break – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Akama Resort.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing