We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

As soon as we arrived at Aklama Resort, our expectations were exceeded. We're seasoned travelers, used to staying at some of the best hotels in the world (including the Hyatt Regency Group in London and across Australia). We couldn't have been better greeted by the staff, who gave us lots of information and helped us to chose our whale watching tour. They even noticed we had brought our bicycles and offered information about local bike tracked we might be interested in. Then, when we went to our room, we were amazed by not only the size, but the cleanliness and the facilities available. Every need was catered for in the superb kitchen, and the rooms were luxurious. Also, because I can suffer from severe asthma, we noticed how spotlessly clean and dust free the apartment was. All in all, five stars plus for Akama Resort, and we will definitely be back!! Thanks again to Chris, Henriette and Regina. Debbi and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Retep D (Debbi & Peter)
Thank you so much for the very kind review.
The cycle path along the Esplanade is very popular with our guests – this is the perfect way to see Hervey Bay.
We always enjoy hearing that our guests were pleased with the standard of the accommodation.
We appreciate your generous comments and it will be a pleasure to welcome you both back in the future.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    73
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
207
188
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Used as a base for a trip to Fraser Island. Foolishly I had hired a 4x4 on the Gold Coast but hadn't checked whether the rental company would allow me to take it on the Island. Reception spotted I had a rental, told me to check and, when I found I couldn't take the car, immediately found me a place on a Hummer the next day. The trip would have been a disaster without their unprompted advice

Turning to the room, it was very spacious and comfortable with a large balcony. The kitchen was well equipped and milk and soft drinks provided. Underground parking was convenient and the spaces easily accessible.


If I have one observation, the rules on the use of the room, whilst standard and reasonable were written in a somewhat brusque style which was not indicative of the friendliness of the place.

Highly recommended

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hello Marcus K
Thanks for the excellent review.
You only had a couple of days at Akama Resort but you were so keen to see Fraser Island that it was our pleasure to be able to assist you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to this unique island and you managed to take plenty of photos to show your family back home.
Best wishes to you for your future travels.
Kindest regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

One of the biggest 1br. apartments in the world - immaculate & modern. Great position virtually on the marina [ where the whale watching boats depart ] & excellent restaurants on the water. Proprietors very friendly & helpful. We spent 4 days there - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Stan
What a lovely review. Thank you so much.
You were one of a number of guests over the last few weeks who extended their stay after they arrived – this is always encouraging, as it means our guests are obviously pleased with their choice of accommodation and our location. To be able to walk over the road to board your Whale Watching vessel is an added bonus.
We hope you have the opportunity to head back up our way again – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Akama Resort.
Regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 2br pool view apartment as no ocean view left. We were very happy. From my initial enquiry, assisting with booking activities, checking-in and out everything was positive. The apartment was very large as were both the bathrooms. The only thing we couldn't find was an iron but never bothered to ask as hey we were on holidays and who cared if we were wrinkled. Thank you Regina for your friendly assistance

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for the great review Lyndall.
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Akama Resort and to assist you with your tour bookings. So nice to read that you enjoyed your apartment and that you were all happy with your stay. Sorry to hear that you all ended up ‘wrinkled’……..just so you know for next time - there is an iron in the linen closet in the hallway. Your lovely attitude is very refreshing – thanks.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest regards
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just come back from a weekend in Hervey Bay and can't speak highly enough of Akama Resort. The apartment was huge... (A plus with two kids when the weekend was windy and raining) Great view... Exquisitly clean and modern. Location is perfect...just across the road from the Marina and a only a quick walk to catch the boat for our Whale Watching tour. The Managers were extremely friendly and helpful with local information and very accommodating when we wanted to arrange a late check out. My family and I will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Renae K
Thanks for the excellent review.
It was so nice to see that you all had such a great time out visiting the whales – an experience the children will always remember.
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you plan to return (we will have apartment 520 waiting for you)
Thanks again for the review.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at Akama for two nights as a couple for a last minute getaway and to do some whale-watching. From the first interaction, I was impressed by Akama. The staff member who took my enquiry (Regina) was incredibly helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. It was so good to make a booking with a local person who knows (and clearly loves) her town. She discussed my requirements for the room, listened to my requests, and answered all my questions about the hotel, Hervey Bay, and the whale-watching tours available. She sent me a link to the boats within minutes, and offered to help with bookings etc. We followed her advice for our Saturday tour and had a fantastic magical whale-watching day on the Bay!

When we arrived, it was all smooth sailing. We were early for check-in, but Reg took our number and we went for a walk until she called us. The 3rd floor "pool-view" apartment was a pleasant surprise. We booked a one bedroom, and it seems they lock off the second bedroom and bathroom- that was fine and not a problem. The living area was spacious and light, all tiled floors, and the kitchen well stocked and equipped. The whole place was absolutely spotless. Gleaming actually. There are comfortable lounges, coffee table, good tv and spacious dining area. The only thing missing was a rug in the living area. It was a bit cold and echoing and a rug would have made all the difference.

The bedroom was large, with a comfortable king-size bed and good sized wardrobes. Plenty of space and whisper quiet at night. Bathroom (no bath) fine with a decent shower and again nice and clean.

The bedroom and lounge open onto a balcony with sun lounger and chairs. Would be pleasant to sit there in the morning, but we had mainly rain/wind so didn't really use it.

One thing to note is that this hotel is not actually on the water. The Esplanade veers away from the Bay at this point. The hotel faces onto a road and caravan park, beyond which is the bay. Our room looked over the pool area, and onto the street and caravan park. We knew we wouldn't have a view, but if you want a water view, upper floors would perhaps provide this. It is an easy walk to the marina where the whale-watching boats leave, but quite a long drive into the more central area of Hervey Bay. There is quite a large and popular Club on the marina- sort of like an RSL club, where you can have a simple meal and a drink. Having said this, Hervey Bay is actually very spread out and doesn't seem to have a real central area, but this hotel is a bit out of the way anyway. Once again, we were there for quiet and relaxation, and didn't mind this at all. We took a cab into dinner at a pub on Saturday night ($20 cab ride) and it was fine.

Overall, we were really pleased with Akama. It was nicer than I expected for an apartment hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and the service was really very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonwolf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi moonwolf242
Wow – thanks for the great review.
Such a lovely couple – it was a pleasure assisting you while you were here. It was a pity the weather wasn’t the best but as you have stated, just a chance to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet was still worth the visit. The Hervey Bay Boat Club is always a popular spot and the short walk over to board the Whale Watching boats is another advantage with our location.
You are right, the views across the Great Sandy Strait to Fraser Island are beautiful and we offer this style of apartment on our three upper levels. If you have the chance to stay with us again we’ll make sure we have an ocean view apartment waiting for you.
Thank you again for the very kind review.
Best wishes,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment. Very modern and clean with excellent facilities. Close to Marina and walking distance to quite a few restaurants. Only complaint would be that the 2nd bedroom had single beds made into a queen bed and these were hard and not particularly comfortable. The managers were really helpful and obliging and recommended great whale watching boat which was fantastic. Would definitely recommend ( esp if you don't have to have the single beds!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJane1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi NicolaJane1961
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
So pleased that you enjoyed your apartment and that you had such a great time out with the Humpbacks.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Akama in the future – apartment 102 will be waiting for you.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
579 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing