We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in a great location in Hervey Bay”
Review of Eden by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is located in Scarness, which is the main tourist region of Hervey Bay. It is directly across the road from the beach and also a great cafe called Enzo's, which has great sea views from its tables. Parking for the hotel is accessed by the back street. It is a long thin hotel with a front and back section. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a separate bathroom and kitchen. The rooms a new, modern and tastefully decorated. There is a pool on the premises. There are a few restaurants very close by including Thai, Chinese, Indian and Italian/Pizza. The only problem I had was finding the desk unattended a couple of times and even though there was a phone to ring the receptionist, you could not always reach her.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Nice rooms, great facilities, helpful, warm and friendly management and close to restaurants, beach and everything you need. Ticks all the boxes the price is right! Management even leant us a bottle of wine to have with dinner when all the shops were closed on Good Friday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed here for one night for business, while the location was great and the room was very clean, it was very small, much smaller than I was expecting. Upon checking in the manager said that we should have booked direct rather than via Wotif, because we would have had a bigger room and it would have been cheaper. This makes absolutely no sense to me, I pay the booking fee to Wotif so if I pay a higher rate regardless of the origin of the booking it should be a bigger room.

In addition I don't like staying in hotels that have a lot of 'rules', there are signs everywhere telling you what you can and can't do, it makes me feel very unwelcome. There was also a list of rules handed to me when I checked in, the main rule I didn't like (that was highlighted heavily in pink) was having to take the rubbish out before I leave. As far as I am concerned if I am staying in a self contained room for a longer period of time this is fine, but overnight in a motel style room this is ridiculous. The price you pay for a room includes cleaning, which should include putting the rubbish out, why make paying guests do this?

My room balcony had a nice glimpse of the ocean but otherwise looked over the shops next door, and as others have said in other reviews there was an awful fish and chips smell. I didn't spend any time out on the balcony so this didn't bother me, but if someone did want to spend time on the balcony this would be very off putting.

Overall though the aircon worked, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, so it served it's purpose but next time I travel to Hervey Bay for business I probably won't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We're an italian couple in honey moon and we have found this hotel on the last minute. The price is quite high (195 AUD) but the whole Australia is very expansive.
Anyway the room was clean, with one bedroom and one dining room.
The location is perfect: on seaside at Hervey Bay downtown!
Unfortunately the price doesn't include breakfast and there's no breakfast service...but this is another difference between Europe hotel service and the Australian one!
The wifi was not for free, 16 AUD for 24 h.
I thought the "new world" was ages beyond Europe or even China, but concerning the hotel services they're ages below! (Also considering the high prices).
Dear Aussie hotel Managers, please go to China to understand better the hotels service quality and improve yours!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinarancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in a 'hotel room' in this apartment complex on the esplanade at Hervey Bay. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a walk-in robe which was great because it gave us a place to put the suitcase - we weren't falling all over it in the room as you usually do. There was also a small kitchenette with all the necessary crockery and cutlery. (No cooking, but there was a jug and toaster).
The managers were very helpful, pleasant and smiling.
Only problem was the smell from the fish and chip shop - but there is nothing the apartment owners or managers can do about that and as it was very hot the sliding doors were closed and the air conditioning on in any case.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the fish and chip shop extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmbawasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stay at Eden by the Bay every month when I travel for work. It's situated in a great location, handy to retail shops, restaurants, supermarket and directly opposite the beach. The apartments are well furnished and spacious and also has cooking and laundry facilities. The staff are friendly and always happy to recommend things to do and places to eat. I highly recommend the Eden by the Bay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaystravelling0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stay here for business regularly and find it a great place to stay. The location is perfect, accross from the beach, with several great cafes and restaurnats within a 2 minute walk.

The complex is modern and the rooms in good condition.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,149 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Crest Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Main Street Motel
Main Street Motel
#5 of 23 in Hervey Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden by the Bay

Address: 350 The Esplanade | Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden by the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden by the Bay is perfectly positioned opposite Hervey Bay's Scarness Beach, offering uninterrupted views of the pristine waters and Fraser Island and centrally located on the Esplanade close to restaurants, shops and beaches. The 19 self-contained boutique apartments are built around a landscaped courtyard. Superbly designed rooms are stylishly appointed, ensuring a luxurious space that remains relaxed and comfortable, and the pool, spa and sauna area is the ideal place to unwind. Eden by the Bay is truly "another day in paradise" - an exclusive boutique beachfront resort offering the ultimate escape to invigorate, refresh and restore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing