We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer care wins the day here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Customer care wins the day here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I stayed her for a couple of nights in November 2013.
Upon arrival the desk staff were helpful and we had no trouble parking and finding our room - which was a downstairs room at the end of the pool.
It was quite windy that night and this being Queensland meant we were not too surprised to find a large locust/cockroach type creature had got into our shower room.
As we left for Fraser Island the next morning I reported this to the desk staff who promised me they would get rid of our uninvited visitor. However when we arrived back later that evening we were very disappointed to find that the flying creature was not only still in the shower room, but the room had not been cleaned and none of the complementary condiments had been replaced. I went to the front desk to report the matter and again the staff were most helpful and apologetic and gave me replacement condiments and shower soaps etc.
When we left the following morning I expressed my disappointment to the staff.
A few days later I received an unsolicited email from the manager apologising for the oversight and giving a full explanation as to the communication breakdown between the various cleaning staff. He also offered us free night by way of compensation. As we were back in England by this time we were unable to take him up on this offer. I explained this to him and he refunded the cost of the night in full.
This is an excellent example of customer relations being applied. These things can happen and most establishments shrug their shoulders and do nothing. We have no plans to visit Hervey Bay again in the forseeable future, so it was not as if the Ramada had lost a customer. Quite the opposite. I would stay there again and would strongly recommend this place to anyone. I have categorised the ratings properly to reflect our experience. BUT THE CUSTOMER CARE SHOULD BE TAKEN AS THE OVERIDING FACTOR IN THIS INSTANCE.

Room Tip: One without an insect !!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    234
    61
    15
    23
See reviews for
98
283
17
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Room spotlessly clean and well presented. All rooms appear to over look the pool which is nice but does mean you are overlooked from the rooms opposite.there is very little choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity so rather than drive we decided to eat in the hotel which as it turned out was very good and reasonably priced.
Our only negative was all adjacent rooms are paired with what appears to be a shared smoke lobby with heavy self closing doors which our neighbours took great delight in allowing to slam constantly at all hours.
Hotel in a good position for a walk to the waterfront and whale watching trips but remote from both shops and restaurants.
Ideal for a one night stopover.

Room Tip: If you want slightly more privacy try for an upper level room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D18KRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed for two nights on a business trip at the Ramada Resort. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is nice and easy, just drive in and park. Seemed like plenty of parking when we were staying. I found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and a good size. I think we had an extra large bathroom with enough room for a small pony (not supplied). The pool is a good size and has a ramp for disabled people that is worth mentioning. The rooms are really quiet and nice and dark with the curtains drawn (important to me :)). I would recommend this resort for couples, business trips and families.

Room Tip: Special rooms / pool for disabled travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halide69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude D, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Halide69,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the staff looked after you. I have shared your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for one night in October before heading over to Fraser for a few days. We had a ground floor studio. It was spacious, clean and modern, with direct access to the large pool and spa which we really enjoyed using for the afternoon. The pool is overlooked by most rooms in the resort so if you are shy it might not be for you, but we loved it. The spa was huge, too, which meant plenty of people could use it at a time.

All staff were friendly and helpful, including the breakfast staff. Breakfast was a sound option before heading off early for the day. Location good for getting to River Heads.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude D, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear MoniT76,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay with us and you found all our staff friendly. We are only a small team and all the staff take great pride in providing excellent customer service.

Our 42 metre pool is the feature of the resort and provides a great place to unwind and soak up the sun. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked a luxury suite for two nights...only booking condition was no meals included in the rate..thats ok. Fantastic service by reception team throughout the stay. After a wonderful day on Fraser Island we returned to room to find that it had not been serviced...only to find on checking with reception that we were on 'eco rate' ..so your room doesn't get serviced..so no milk restocked for coffee, no cups washed, nothing...all in the name of the environment! I don't think so...you are encouraged to take fresh towels whenever from reception, are told that you can always ask for new crockery any time from reception..it just seems to me to be a cheap way to cut costs. A nice hotel but this left a sour taste. Meanwhile ..a drink from the bar was good..tho you had to go to reception to buy a packet of crisps to go with the drink! Clumsy. And the gym is a room with 3 pieces of equipment and a coffee table...amateur, don't bother..go for a great run along the Esplanade instead. I asked whether 'eco rate' (that we hadn't booked for but got) was economy or environmental in nature? Was advised that the hotel was 'an eco resort'...shame..could be so good if they just stuck to doing what you expect to happen when you book a 4star hotel room..service it swiftly and provide regular bar snacks at the bar rather than expecting your customer to harvest everything together! A strange experience.

Room Tip: Beware the eco rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude D, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Grimstar,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is great to hear you found our reception team fantastic as they all pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

We have just recently opened our bar and there was a slight oversight in regards to bar snacks, we did offer cooked items from the kitchen however unfortunately we did fail to recognise guests would like to enjoy some crisps or nuts with their drink which through your feedback has been rectified so thank you for taking the time and letting us know.

We do offer two rate types at the resort which is Deluxe and Eco. The deluxe rate includes daily housekeeping services where the eco rate does not. We recognised that some guests would like their rooms made every day however others don’t so for those who do not require housekeeping services are rewarded with a discounted rate. We also recognise that guest don’t want to use their towels for multiple days so they are welcome to come to reception and change them over. We should have explained that for an extra $20 per night you could upgrade to the deluxe rate which would include daily housekeeping.

I am sorry you felt we were “taking the mickey” we are just trying to cater for different guests requirements.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is nice. I would say it's overpriced though.
Pool is fine, spa works. Restaurant does good food. The breakfast was just OK. Daughter was hoping to find potato gems, or danishes, or croissants in the breakky smorgasboard.
A walk to the mariner if you are heading off whale watching.
The area around it though is absolutely desolate.
I wouldn't pay that much to stay there again, I'd rather go along the esplanade so at least you have something to see when you step out the front door.

Room Tip: one down near the pool would be better than one with an 'ocean view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude D, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Rosyjo11,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
The Ramada Hervey Bay is located in Urangan and is one street away from the marina which is great for those wanting to go whale watching.

As Hervey Bay is quite spread out the main centre of Hervey Bay is a 5-10 minute drive from the marina. There is a future master plan for this part of Hervey Bay with a large water park hopefully opening soon just a few minutes’ walk from our resort.

I am sorry your young daughter did not find potato gems or croissants on our breakfast buffet; however we do have hash browns and a selection of muffins available.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I booked into the Ramada Resort for two nights on our first trip to Hervey Bay, when we arrived we where treated very well and shown around the complex and found the rooms to be very clean and also quite large, very nice. On our first night we ate at the in house restaurant and found the food to be very good and the service was great. After our second day both my wife and I decided we would like to stay longer so went to reception who could not be more helpful and we booked for a further 5 nights.
We found the resort and staff exceeded our expectations and if we return to the Fraser coast will definatly be staying at the Ramada. Great value for money.
Ron Newsome
Christchurch New Zealand

Room Tip: we had end room which was very quiet and over looked the pool and complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude D, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic to hear you found all our staff helpful and they exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
5.6 mi away
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hervey Bay

Property: Ramada Hervey Bay
Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing