We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average hotel, dirty pool, awful breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very average hotel, dirty pool, awful breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a short break for 3 nights from 2/01/14 to 5/01/14. David on check in was very pleasant and checked us in very smoothly. When we arrived at out our room we found that it was a disability access room which we did not request I called reception and spoke to David who was very accommodating and requested we return to reception for a room reallocation. I guess my issue was that we should have been advised on check in that we had been allocated a disability access room. We were then allocated another room which we proceeded to when we opened the door this room had not been cleaned, again we returned to reception third time lucky David then allocated a room at the front of the building on the 2nd floor where we had glimpses of the water, room had a very pokey balcony where you had to stand to see out as it was a concrete rail and just enough room for a table and two chairs opposite each other. Upside the bed was great very comfy and room reasonably clean. We went down to the pool on the Thursday afternoon for a swim and noticed that the pool was quite dirty with debris on the bottom. The following days the pool got worse we noticed debris on bottom of the pool including two band aids and dirt smears on bottom goodness knows what this was, there was also greasy slime accumulating in corner of main pool and middle pool with bits of debris. During our whole stay we did not observe the pool being cleaned once and we were up early each morning walking. On the Saturday morning I approached reception and asked how often the pool was cleaned the receptionist said she didn't know I advised her how dirty it was she then opened a diary/ communication book and said she would make a note of it, she also commented that she had noticed in the book someone else had commented on the state of the pool. She then proceeded to tell me that as it was a weekend she didn't think anything would probably happen until Monday - I said but it hasn't been cleaned since Thursday. She was right probably nothing happened until Monday as it definitely wasn't cleaned on Sunday morning. This did in fact spoil our holiday as our main intent was to relax around the pool. The pool area was another story really run down there were only six sun loungers for the whole complex, there were quite a few small tables with outdoor chairs - many had seen better days and did require replacing, sun umbrellas were tattered and also require replacement. In a nutshell this pool is a disgrace and the management should be ashamed, do they not realise the risk to people of an unclean pool.
Breakfast buffet a bit hit and a miss one morning we were down not long after restaurant opened and yet eggs and bacon were cold which does seem to be a fairly common theme at many hotel breakfast buffets, the last day Sunday 5 January was nothing short of disgusting we arrived for breakfast approximately 40 minutes after opening and the fried eggs were like plastic I couldn't cut the yolk it was so hard obviously these had been cooked hours before. This would have to be the worst buffet breakfast I have ever had in a hotel every day there was a shortage of hot water, no knives to cut bread, insufficient serving spoons / tongs.
On a positive all staff were very friendly and helpful as much as they could be.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it was a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ally135stargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    234
    61
    15
    23
See reviews for
98
284
17
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend The Ramada Hervey Bay staff were really friendly and attentive, only downside is I didn't have a pool view but the room was awesome and value for money, location was great very central or 5min drive to everything I will be back :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Locky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Ramada Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2015
Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Peter Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are friendly, and we felt they looked after our needs!
The rooms were average, not the cleanest! I wasn't a fan of the Eco rate and I wasn't aware of this before I booked!

The pool (which is suppose to be the highlight of this hotel) was pretty dirty, With plasters dirt and god knows what else floating in it!

We went to the restaurant for dinner and was told it would be a 40 min wait for food, despite the restaurant being quiet, so we decided to go else where!

The hotels location is not great either!
Probably would try elsewhere next time in in Hervey Bay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert11mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked in a one bedroom unit on the ground floor overlooking the pool area. Room was nicely furnished, great king size bed, was clean and comfortable and had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Inhouse movies are all free and many to choose from. Breakfast is a good selction of hot food, cereals, fruit and all fresh and plentiful. Staff were pleasant and helpful - check in and check out were a breeze.

We dined at their own Smokey Joes Restaurant Sunday night and while it was not busy, it took 50 minutes to serve our mains (they also do room service from the same kitchen so prehaps this would explain?) The serving was quite small and overcooked (burnt) and my wifes salmon was unappealing and swimming in a pool of melted butter - but that is my only gripe about the Ramada.

Just 80mtrs away from the hotel is "The Boat Club" - an RSL type club with the typical restaurant, bars, pokies and entertainment. We dined there twice during our stay and the food was nice, plentiful and served in record time (10 minutes). With a 2 year old in tow, we didnt expereince the rest of the club but do recomend a visit. Next to the club is a boardwalk with the odd bistro and cafe dotted along its lenght so there are few more choices available.

The location is near the marina and a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the many holiday makers visting Hervey Bay which may not suit some, but for us it was perfect. A short 10 walk will take you around to the jetty and some more shops and cafes. Overall we had a great relaxing break and chose to relax by the pool most days and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The one bedroom unit is self contained and has a kitchen if you like to save money and cook for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youstillthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were originally booked into a ground floor next to the pool, and pleased we changed, as no privacy on the patio from everyone using the pool. Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and clean, and the king bed was excellent. The only major shortcoming was that there was no kitchenette, plates, spoons, or utensils of any kind, and the fridge was tiny - so forget about doing any catering for yourself. The hot buffet breakfast was very good, and we found the staff very friendly.
The location of this resort is also very good, being walking distance from the Boat Club, fresh seafood outlets, good restaurants, and a quiet beach where the swimming was delightful.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, get a room well away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Average hotel/ motel room, lovely pool. Not sure about the Eco friendly rate for the rooms as the room we were put in smelt quite badly of damp , not sure if this is directly related to the diminish in regular room cleaning. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

it fits you if you like branded international hotels. got nice swimming pool, separated into three parts: Jacuzzi, heated pool and the long swimming area.
Breakfast is nice and simple, restaurant offer good quality of lunch and dinner.
the room is clean, big with balcony facing to the pool
Free wifi in the room, free parking.
perfect choice for families with Kids

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
5.6 mi away
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hervey Bay

Property: Ramada Hervey Bay
Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing