We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved this retreat just outside the centre of Hervey Bay in a wonderful setting. All rooms are individual cabins overlooking the lake teaming with birds and turtles. The cabins are large and very well equipped (it could do with a slightly larger table and two chairs to make it easier to eat indoor). The couple who runs the place are lovely and very helpful. A very relaxing place where we would have very much liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
84
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The owners were lovely chatty people. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The kitchenette was wonderful and made it possible to make meal in the cabin. The views were spectacular, and it was wonderful to have such a peaceful spot in spite of the surrounding hotels and homes. There was no street noise. This place is definitely suitable for any couples or families with kids! We will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teh_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Just magical. Wonderful environment. Turtels, ducks, swans in the backyard. Very reasonably priced. Nice people, pool access, 7 minute walk to beach. Little walk (15) to the pier at sunset, just Awesome. Very nice place 2 stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank luzisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as a stop over. We had 3 children 2, 6 and 9. They loved it, all the birds following them around. The rooms are basic but it's a nice spot. It is in a good location, the bays water hotel is not to far and is an excellent spot for dinner or a drink.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We went Whale watching at Hervey Bay and needed somewhere to stay for 3 nights, I could have stayed a month at this beautiful Retreat. It was exceptionally clean, peaceful and relaxing. The owners are lovely friendly people who do an awesome job. I will definitely be going back and taking visitors back there as well. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake side there is not a bad room I do not think
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller11257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We loved everything about Sanctuary Lakes. The owners Desly and Brad were so warm down to earth and helpful. A really great couple. We also loved Dozer dog. A real sweetheart. Our cabin was just right. We had cabin 31 which we really recommend. In a group of three it had the best views of the lakes and was so quiet. Urangan Bay is a great place to stay as it's not too far from the Pier for Whale watching trips. The birdlife was relly good and a wander around in the evening is interesting as we could inspect cane toads. New Zealand doesn't have these so to us they are a novelty. Take a small pair of binoculars.

Room Tip: Ask for Cabin 31. 33 also looked great or 32. This little group of three is quiet with the best l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journeymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Sanctuary Lakes & found it very peaceful. Feeding the ducks, turtles & birds was an experience - they came from everywhere.! The cabin was large but only had basic cooking facilities, therefore we ate out both nights. The cleaners missed cleaning the microwave, which had remnants of a pizza that had been cooked/re-heated. The toilet still had stains under the seat & signs of blue toilet cleaner? We ate first night at the hotel in the next street, which was terrible - we had lamb cutlets that were almost entirely fat - a piece of meat about the size of a 20c was about all we got. We asked for & received our money back - $46 was a lot to pay for two plates of fatty food. On our 2nd night we ate at the Boat Club - a good hearty meal, tasty & fresh. You don't park right outside all of the cabins which was our case & you have to carry/pull your suitcase along a path. Would not be pleasant if it was pouring rain. The staff were friendly & helpful - makes a pleasant first impression.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.8 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
4.9 mi away
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Property: Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat
Address: 1 Shell St | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat is a unique holiday destination like no other in Hervey Bay. The 36 private, individual lakefront villas are surrounded by 10 acres of lush nature reserve, teeming with wildlife. Each villa is self-contained with a balcony overlookig our lake, providing the perfect setting for your family holiday or quiet getaway.Just 300 metres from the best beach in Hervey Bay, it's pricless. For your meals you can either cook in your villa, on our array of barbeques near every villa or dine out at a fantastic variety of restuarants close to the retreat. For your supplies, Urangan Shopping Centre is only minutes away, or stroll down to the fish co-op in the morning and select seafood that has been caught fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing