We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hervey Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We recently had a stay at the Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast and had a cooking class. This was the highlight of our week stay in Hervey Bay... the accommodation is outstanding... from the king size bed which was so comfy to the lovely deck and other finishing touches ... awesome. Mara and Rocco were wonderful hosts and Rocco was a great chef teaching us how to make our own pasta and then enjoying the fruits of our labour that night. Mara cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning before we set off for our day's adventures... will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the back room which was lovely and private and with a beautiful view over the pool and BBQ ar...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzylou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here with my best friend for two nights as a base for a whale watching trip. Mara was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. The cooked breakfast was to die for and the flexibility that is offered with the time you are able to book for breakfast meant we were able to get away early on our whale watch day but were able to sleep in on the second day and eat a bit later. The accommodation was very comfortable and modern.
I am planning to come back sometime with my husband and join in with a cooking class with Rocco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Mara and Rocco are amazing hosts. I booked the Italian cooking class with 5 other colleagues to enjoy a Friday night farewell dinner and team activity. We simply had the BEST evening.
From the moment we arrived, Mara made us feel very welcome, taking us on a tour of her beautiful property , we ended up in the kitchen where Rocco was awaiting us in his crisp white chef's uniform! The kitchen was very warm and welcoming, fitted out on a commercial basis , one immediately new this was serious business!
The six of us proceeded to learn how to make various pastas using the dough simply prepared. The first was calles "bling" tiny pasta that was served later with a light parmesan sauce and it was simply the best thing I had tasted for ages! Rocco explained all the different types, fillings, we tasted bits and pieces, until it was all prepared. We all had a chance to cut , press, poke, make various shapes such as tortellini, ravioli etc.
We then sat down to eat at the dinner table and Mara served us fabulous Italian white wine from Piedmont (Favorita) -This was followed by a Barbera red which had a hint of sparkle - delicious! We ate 4 different pasta courses with varying sauces cooked by Rocco. I couldn't believe that it was our group who had actually made the pasta and here we were enjoying it (granted we didnt make the fillings or sauce, we had help from our expert Italian chef!).
Mara diligently looked after us throughout the evening, topping up our wine, chatting and talking about Italy. The dessert was drop dead "to die for" chocolate sponge with Italian icecream homemade by Rocco drowned in a decadent chocolate sauce with a hint of something alcoholic, it was a wonderful way to finish of a fabulous meal. This was an amazing experience and I felt I had been transported to Italy. The Italian cooking school is available for small groups and I would recommend booking one of Villa Cavour's special packages and stay the night, it is great value for money and a truly memorable experience. You can choose from a variety of menus, but we couldn't go past the Pasta school. HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this for couples, small groups, birthday parties and family reunions. I will be back for sure! Can't wait.

Room Tip: Downstairs room for older people. Upstairs for couples who want a bit more privacy. Each room has...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipc282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fantastic time here. Mara the host was very friendly and helpful. She will book any trips on your behalf. Although it is a b&b, they will cook an evening meal..... Very good if you don't want to drive. Tell them by 4:30 what you would like for dinner and they will cook it for you... We were late coming back from fraser island, but they still managed to cook a delicious carbonara.

This is an ideal place for whale watch and fraser island.

Want to eat.... Go to. Coast.... Brilliant food to share

And hervey bay is the place to whale watch

Rooms are great, breakfast a choice of hot cooked or continental.... Both lovely

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I booked for two nights including the cooking class with Rocco, which was a "steep learning curve" especially trying to make tortellini with clumsy fingers, but we succeeded and were able to dine on our four different pastas, with individual sauces. Very tasty!
Accommodation is very comfortable and the excellent breakfast on the balcony served by Mara made for a great experience.
Rocco is quite a fisherman. He bagged a 14kg yellowfin tuna from the end of the Hervey Bay wharf, early one morning.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: All three rooms are equal in quality and aspect with views to Fraser Island.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heff_260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I spent one night at Villa Carvour and were amazed by the hospitality of Mara and Rocco. Due to our early flight we arrived at the Villa at 9.30 am and Mara kindly allowed us to leave our luggage with them until the room was ready. She was also extremely helpful liasing with a taxi company trying to book a cab for us; beware getting a cab in Hervey Bay can be a little bit tricky(only one company in town). Mara was very friendly and looked after us superbly. The area where the Villa is located is beautiful and peaceful. The room was very spacious (huge bed!) and the food was something else. We stayed in for dinner and absolutely loved it. Rocco's risotto with fresh seafood was out of this world. The traditional dessert from Piamonte region in Italy (hazelnut torte with chocolate) was to die for! Breakfast was very generous and Mara offered dairy free alternative despite me not having requested it in advance. I wish we could have stayed longer as it certainly felt as home away from home. After having stayed at various hostels, hotels and motels during our Australian adventure this is definitely the highlight of our trip as far as accommodation and food are concerned.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Villa Cavour is not just a comfortable and relaxing place to stay - Rocco and Mara make you feel like you are at home. Whilst never intrusive, Mara was never too busy to have a chat about our plans and give us advice about where to go and what to see in and around Hervey Bay. The food was amazing, and Mara was happy to accommodate our vegetarian requests.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Unclechapchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,949 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
5.0 mi away
Barooga on Pier
Barooga on Pier
#1 of 1 in Urangan
26 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Banksia St | Point Vernon, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £96 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale watching season package. Package including: Two night accommodation at Villa Villa Cavour B & B, including breakfast for two. 2 courses dinner for two. 2 passes for Tasman Venture Whale watching cruise. Available from 1st August to 31st October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing