We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Hervey Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hervey Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed two nights in November at the Villa Cavour, and can certainly endorse the favourable reviews below. Our room was upstairs on the first floor, with French windows opening onto the verandah. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, with a comfortable furniture and king-size bed, a polished dark-wood floor and modern ensuite. The Queensland-style house is beautiful, inside and out, built to Mara's specification. A pleasant mix of the Italian and Australian.

We too had our cooked breakfasts on the verandah serenaded by chattering White Cockatoos, The food was wonderful - Rocco and Mara have a history of running restaurants, Rocco as chef and Mara as 'front of house'. This expertise is visible in the quality and presentation of the food. he B&B is close to the esplanade, but be warned, it is a long walk into Hervey Bay. If you like walking, as we do, that's fine.

Mara was an efficient host, organising our trip to Fraser Island, and taxi on our final day - as well as doing everything else that was required to run the B&B. We had a splendid meal, cooked by Rocco, on our final night: pasta, risotto, and chocolate dessert. A little bit of Piedmont transported into Queensland. This is definitely the place to stay in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and 2-yr old toddler stayed for 2 nights in late December. Maria graciously arranged a cot even though I was happy to use the existing bedding. We enjoyed a meal cooked by Rocco on our first night - the Chicken Parma had my husband raving about it for days, and my tagliatelle was just delicious, but the winner was the pannacotta - absolutely to die for! We enjoyed the continental breakfasts each morning and a swim in the afternoon in their pool. The room was spacious, amenities clean, and the room was serviced daily. The free wifi was a bonus and made it so convenient for us to organise our days' activities. Off-street parking was also great. A great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to the Esplanade. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had the garden room which is downstairs, and that was convenient for us as we didn't want our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraHerveyBay, Owner at Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Alice,

thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay at Villa Cavour.
We really enjoyed to have your little girl around, and we wish you all the best for the new baby coming on your family schortly. A special thanks for the card that you kindly left on my bench the morning you left: that's really made my day!!!!. I very much appreciate that, because it's a very personal thought and show that you really enjoyed and liked your stay with us.
Once again, thank you and look forward to see you again.
Mara & Rocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Well, as usual when travelling to new places we hit the trusty Trip Advisor site to make a choice of accommodation and - no surprise - ended up very happy with our selection! (what did we do when travelling to parts unknown before Trip Advisor???)
The idea of the Italian cooking class (based on delicious sounding pastas) really appealed as something a bit different, and it turned out to be very entertaining. There was plenty of room in the functional kitchen for both of us to make the pasta dough under Rocco's expert guidance and he was patient with our rather fumbling efforts - by the time the four types of pasta were filled and ready to cook I couldn't wait to taste them. They were delicious! (A green vegetable or salad to accompany the meal would have taken it to a perfect 10!)
Our room was spacious and comfortable and we kept the doors to the verandah open and the fan on to keep everything cool. Both of us used the swimming pool. Proximity to the Esplanade was a bonus, we used the walking/biking trails both days and all the trees provided welcome shade. We were struck by how friendly the locals all were, either out biking, running or walking their dogs, it was rare not to be greeted by a smile.
Must say that our hard working hostess Mara was delightful, very helpful and accommodating - and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Room Tip: We had one of the upstairs rooms overlooking the verandah and pool - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Delicious Meals, clean/spacious room, service & location.
Stayed at Villa Cavour for 7 unforgettable days!
Pt Vernon is residential, wide streets, quiet, B&B short walk to Esplanade. Excellent morning walks well shaded areas along the walks with plenty of amenities for BBQ, fishing & relaxation in park areas & beaches. Easy short drive to Hervey Bay Pier, Marina.
Room Serviced daily. Although air-conditioned, we never used it as room was airy & breezes plentiful. Ensuite, kingsize bed, fridge, kettle & complimentary tea/coffee/chocolates, TV DVD player, ample wardrobe. Room opens to verandah where Mara served us our cooked breakfast & coffee every morning whilst we enjoyed the bird life. Swimming pool. Glimpses of bay through trees from verandah.
We had planned to have evening meals in local restaurants but after 1st evening experiencing Rocco's gourmet fine Italian cuisine, we decided to book all our evening meals & delicious desserts prepared by Rocco & were never disappointed. Evening meals were served in the pleasant & spacious lounge/dining room downstairs.
Free: Wi-fi (so we kept our family informed of our wonderful daily experience) & DVD's from B&B library. Bookings for nearby tours like Whale watching & Fraser Is were made by Mara in our behalf with pickup/drop off to and from B&B.
Mara & Rocco spoiled us with attention to detail & fantastic cuisine. Look forward to another stay to continue enjoying not only our fine accommodation but excellent cuisine.
Restaurant Tip: Rocco's fine Italian cuisine is a must to any guest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCarmen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraHerveyBay, Owner at Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear MaryCarmen,

thank you very much for your very nice review. Was our pleasure to have you as our very welcome guests. Our aime is always to provide good service, with a touch of personal attention to everyone. We really appreciate your comments and we will be happy to see you again at Villa Cavour B & B. Mara & Rocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I recommend the cooking class, so much to learn and experience... the flavours and the wine. Rooms were simple and elegant and lovely. Stayed with the girls but it would be a nice place to go with your partner:)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanDanlovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We recently had a stay at the Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast and had a cooking class. This was the highlight of our week stay in Hervey Bay... the accommodation is outstanding... from the king size bed which was so comfy to the lovely deck and other finishing touches ... awesome. Mara and Rocco were wonderful hosts and Rocco was a great chef teaching us how to make our own pasta and then enjoying the fruits of our labour that night. Mara cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning before we set off for our day's adventures... will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the back room which was lovely and private and with a beautiful view over the pool and BBQ ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzylou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here with my best friend for two nights as a base for a whale watching trip. Mara was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. The cooked breakfast was to die for and the flexibility that is offered with the time you are able to book for breakfast meant we were able to get away early on our whale watch day but were able to sleep in on the second day and eat a bit later. The accommodation was very comfortable and modern.
I am planning to come back sometime with my husband and join in with a cooking class with Rocco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
4.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torquay Terrace Bed & Breakfast
5.0 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
602 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
272 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Banksia St | Point Vernon, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £95 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale watching season package. Package including: Two night accommodation at Villa Villa Cavour B & B, including breakfast for two. 2 courses dinner for two. 2 passes for Tasman Venture Whale watching cruise. Available from 1st August to 31st October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing