We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous day”

Freedom Whale Watch
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.66*
and up
Hervey Bay Premium Whale Watching Cruise
Ranked #1 of 29 Tours in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Freedom III is a comfortable 58ft power catamaran which operates ¾ day whale watch cruises from the Great Sandy Straits Marina in Urangan Harbour. Departing at 9:30 and returning after 4:00pm allows you plenty of time with the awe-inspiring humpback whales in Platypus Bay. The cruise along pristine Fraser Island’s western beaches can offer sightings of dingoes, schooling fish and numerous sea birds. Expert commentary by our knowledgeable skipper will keep you entertained as well as DVD’s on the plasma TV. Colouring activities and soft toys will keep the children amused and if they are tired we have 3 double beds. Home-baked morning tea, tropical buffet lunch as well as fruit and cheese platters for the return trip are all included as well as tea, coffee, water and soft drinks all day. With maximum passenger numbers of 45 and three levels of viewing your whale watch experience will be memorable, informative and uncrowded. Outside of whale season Freedom III is available for Mother shipping charters. These trips are usually for 3 days and 2 nights and fish the abundant waters of Fraser Island. Get a group together for some great fishing action with experienced guides in smaller boats. The month of November is great for sportsfishing in Hervey Bay with the migrating juvenile black marlin visiting these waters. We work in Conjunction with Hervey Bay Fly and Sportfishing to provide Mothershipping for his groups of guests. Freedom III can also be hired for private day charters or overnight trips on the Great Sandy Strait. Your choice of activities: crabbing, boom-netting, swimming, sight-seeing and cruising the sheltered waterways between Fraser Island and the Mainland.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fabulous day”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Our 3/4 day cruise was well organised with a fast comfortable boat (not too big), great crew and tasty homemade food. We were fortunate to see dozens of humpbacks of all sizes doing all the whaly things like breeches, tail slaps, spins and peering at us up close and personal. Captain Keith gave an excellent running commentary and he and his crew were very responsive to passengers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yarrahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiro1234, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write your lovely review. You certainly got the full range of whaly behaviours on your outing with us and this is often possible as we have more time with the whales than some others. So did yoyo prefer the scones or the profiteroles?
thanks again,
Sue & Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    40
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
bundaberg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We were so spoilt on our whale watch”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went on freedom three whale cruise,What a wonderful day the deck hands and the skipper were fantastic..we went 80klms out of hervey bay,and saw so many whales doing everything that you would dream of.we will be booking for another day out with this boat with other friends. The food was great,information excellent.and a great comfortable boat.We only had a small group of people which was great it was their Quota but not too full so you could get around easily. Make sure you get on this boat,it's a blast. Morning tea ,lunch.afternoon tea all included on this cruise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yvonneBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiro1234, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your day on Freedom III with the humpbacks. We really enjoy sharing the magical experience that is whale watching on the Fraser Coast. Good to hear the crew looked after you so well.
Cheers,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey Channel Isles
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whale watching on Freedom 111.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the way to see the whales, brilliant commentary, extremely helpful crew and the refreshments were equally good. The whales behaved and showed up, we saw three different pods. There's just everything for you on this trip. Take waterproofs for protection from the wind when you go up to the bow, also incase it rains.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect day of whale watching”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Surpassed our expectations. The owners and staff were a pleasure to deal with. We saw lots of whales even though it was early in the season. All food was included with fresh baked treats for morning tea. Yum! Would highly recommend this company. Good value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn_R51231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A glorious day on Freedom III today! We say 10 whales and a handful of dolphins, and were lucky to see one whale breach four times in a row. Magical weather, fantastic crew, delicious food, great customer service. Can't speak highly enough of this family-run business and they way they take care of their guests on board.

We had a look at some of the other boats our there whale watching. The bigger ones are just too crowded with far too many people to enjoy moving around the boat and getting a good view. One in particular has little outdoor space meaning you have to stand behind windows inside to see the action. This doesn't compare to Freedom III, which has heaps of outdoor space, and a limited number of people on board (40-ish, compared to 100s).

The boat was so comfortable and there was plenty of space for everyone to move about and get a great vantage point.

We especially liked that it was 3/4 of a day with a respectable departure time (9.30am) rather than half a day and rushing back so the next trip can go out. The skipper delayed our return by 30 mins because we saw more whales on the way back in - perfect!

Thanks team, we had the best day :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing