We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip”

Freedom Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Freedom III is a comfortable 58ft power catamaran which operates ¾ day whale watch cruises from the Great Sandy Straits Marina in Urangan Harbour. Departing at 9:30 and returning after 4:00pm allows you plenty of time with the awe-inspiring humpback whales in Platypus Bay. The cruise along pristine Fraser Island’s western beaches can offer sightings of dingoes, schooling fish and numerous sea birds. Expert commentary by our knowledgeable skipper will keep you entertained as well as DVD’s on the plasma TV. Colouring activities and soft toys will keep the children amused and if they are tired we have 3 double beds. Home-baked morning tea, tropical buffet lunch as well as fruit and cheese platters for the return trip are all included as well as tea, coffee, water and soft drinks all day. With maximum passenger numbers of 45 and three levels of viewing your whale watch experience will be memorable, informative and uncrowded. Outside of whale season Freedom III is available for Mother shipping charters. These trips are usually for 3 days and 2 nights and fish the abundant waters of Fraser Island. Get a group together for some great fishing action with experienced guides in smaller boats. The month of November is great for sportsfishing in Hervey Bay with the migrating juvenile black marlin visiting these waters. We work in Conjunction with Hervey Bay Fly and Sportfishing to provide Mothershipping for his groups of guests. Freedom III can also be hired for private day charters or overnight trips on the Great Sandy Strait. Your choice of activities: crabbing, boom-netting, swimming, sight-seeing and cruising the sheltered waterways between Fraser Island and the Mainland.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We went on a 3/4 day trip with Freedom. A must do for locals and tourists alike. This is a small family run operation, as such, the attention to detail is exceptional. Nice to be on a smaller boat than some of the other companies, as you can cover more distance and get closer to the whales. We had some amazing sightings from early in the day until the tour finished. Lovely food and an interesting and entertaining commentary topped off a wonderful day.

Thank BelindaL0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your great review. It is wonderful to hear your day was enjoyable and entertaining. Hope to see you again on Freedom III in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 750 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the third whale watch cruise we've experienced & it was by far the best! The crew were friendly & went out of their way to make sure we had the full experience. The food was excellent & plentifull & as for the whales...they were everywhere. Friendly, curious, beautiful. magnificent creatures. It was a magical day & we couldn't stop smiling. We will definitely book again on Freedom 111.

Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Great to hear we were your best whale watch experience! With just a 2-3 hour drive from the Sunny Coast you can make it a day trip as we depart at 9:30am. Look forward to sharing the whales with you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We went out expecting to see a just a couple of whales... at a distance. We ended up seeing at least 10 humpback whales! A number of these came right up to the boat, not just as a result of their own curiosity, but because the skipper had an in-depth understanding of whale behaviour. He knew when to switch off the engines, which direction to steer (so as not to frighten the whales), etc. It was wonderful to see the whales so relaxed around the boat, and confident enough to show off for us! Furthermore, the boat was comfortable and a smorgasbord of food was served over the course of the day. Most definitely great value all round!

Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your review Stacey B. Great to hear we exceeded your expectations. The whales have been plentiful so far this season and very friendly most days. The Protection of Fraser Island makes whale watching in Hervey Bay a very comfortable experience most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had the most amazing day with the most beautiful people. Captain Keith and his crew are lovely genuine people. We saw lots of whales and had a beautiful morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. Whales come right up to the boat you couldn't ask for more. We were even out longer than itinerary says. From the bottom of our hearts we would like to say Thankyou for such a wonderful day, but Thankyou doesn't see enough for the wonderful memories given to us today.
100% recommend anyone wanting too whale watching. Freedom whale watch is the one you need

Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks Susan T for your glowing review. It is great to hear the locals enjoy our style of hospitality just as much as the interstate and overseas guests. Hope to see you onboard Freedom III again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Was the most exciting experience seeing whales up close n personal. The captain n crew on board the Freedom boat were fantastic. Very friendly. Captain great sense of humour. Had a really wonderful time out on the blue seas off Fraser Is.
Highly recommend this trip to everyone. The food was so delicious and so plentiful. There was no rushing to get it in case it ran out. It didn't.
All praise to the crew for making it a wonderful experience.
We'll come again.
Thank you.

Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your whale watch experience aboard Freedom III. Great to hear the crew were attentive and entertaining and the food tasty. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Whale Watch also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Freedom Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing