We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Coast Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
Coast Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 180 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Traralgon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Hervey Bay for the first time and were lucky enough to be 4 doors down from this restaurant. We had lunch on the first day here and immediately booked in for dinner again - we would have been back there the following day as well if they hadn't been shut! Staff were friendly and attentive.
It's not very often that a menu comes along that we would try everything on it, but we would have gladly paid to try every dish on this menu!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    160
    54
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of QLD's Best!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been to Coast a dozen or so times. I am regularly in Hervey Bay on business and love coming back to this restaurant every time.
But Coast is also the place I take clients to impress them- this restaurant really nails it every time, The food is so consistently great and the service always friendly and efficient. Coast is a hatted restaurant (the quality of the menu and wine/beer list is fantastic) and VERY reasonably priced for food and booze of this quality. I travel extensively for work and rarely come across a place that really nails it like these guys. A truly great restaurant.
By the way- they do a great Sunday session!! Coast have a great acoustic set and $20 buckets of Corona's every Sunday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFunnyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Honestly not worth the rave.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined here on the 6th July 2014 to celebrate our 8year anniversary at what looked like to be a promising menu and meal.

We arrived at 7pm and were seated promptly. We were not asked weather or not we wanted to be seated inside or outside, which was a real shame as we would have loved to have sat outside.
We sat inside along the large bench seat.

It took around 10minutes for them to come by and take our orders, from which we ordered the following;
1lt of Apple black currant cocktail
Hervey Bay scallops straight up
Meat choice was the pork belly
Pear walnut salad side

The scallops came out even before our drinks which we were disappointed in. They came out around 13 or so minutes after taking the order, so the entree time wasn't a bother. It was the fact we waited 20minutes to receive our $35 cocktail!

The scallops, whilst I loved these, my husband found them unpalatable. They were served cold and were extremely sweet. My husband ended up forfeiting his share.

The pork belly was next (around 10minutes after finishing entree) which time wise was great.

The meat came out on a wooden board with a jus and chilli jam on the side. In total there were 9 thin slices of the pork. The pork belly indeed was soft as butter and easily broke under the pressure of your butter knife, however not crunchy at all. The fat part was all soft and stringy, not a pleasant texture in ones mouth. The chilli jam was amazing though. This was my husbands favourite part of the whole meal. I ended up only having 3 slices as it's texture put me off.

The pear and walnut salad, we both enjoyed this. The only thing my husband didn't approve of was the walnuts. He said the flavour combo was off putting but enjoyed the salad without the walnuts. I tend to agree there were certainly too many. However all the other elements were delicious. I think this was my favourite part of the whole meal, the side salad!

We were offered the desert menu but politely declined, after what we has experienced, we decided to go down the road to the local Ice creamery.

All in all, for the experience and "pleasure" of utilising their share plate feature, and finding the food to be of average quality, the $112.50 in total we spend could have been spent better elsewhere.

I feel the menu is indeed enticing, however the pricing and standards have to be lifted. Pork belly should never be served soft. Even if they quickly pan fried the edges before serving, it would have changed the texture of the meal into something more palatable overall.

Would I dine here again?
Certainly not.
I would choose a smaller side restaurant that offers generous servings for the price paid.

Helpful?
5 Thank xxSjayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for sharing”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been here twice now and have not been dissapointed. The first was my husbands 20 year service at work, the second was the bosses birthday. The menu is designed to be in the middle of the table and shared depending on what you choose from the menu. I highly reccomend the lamb. There is a great vibe and position and staff are fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Didn't like the staff badgering us every ten minutes asking if everything was ok, which is wAs. Only down side - food, and atmosphere are great! Polite staff, fast delivery of meals and great tasting food in large portions. You pay for excellence and you get it at coast. The only restaurant I will be happy to pay money at as it has never been a let down for us

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyseatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Coast Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing