We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh local fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maddigan's Seafood

Maddigan's Seafood
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh local fish and chips”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Good local fish and chips, we usually have the sweet lip or local reef and the calamari hands are always lovely. We never have bad service, but it can be very busy so patience is part of the requirement, most locals avoid the peak holiday weekends though and most of us order before 6-6.30 to avoid the mad rush

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    117
    43
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Queensland”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

OMG so yummy! The flake was so good, the batter was crispy and not too thick, the potato cakes were contained thick slices of potato. This was the fish and chips of my childhood memories. Great value, lovely staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Woo Hoo!!! Divine!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had the luck to find Maddigan's on a work trip to Maryborough and after a great conversation with the owner about the care needed to cook seafood I bought myself a muddie, some prawns and oysters for dinner. Heaven is a crab claw full of meat. Am heading back and have already ordered more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PurpleJulie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok but missed”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Looking forward to awesome fish n chips in a great seafood location. Ordered 4 pieces of local Coral Trout that was displayed in the window but got something else. Our order either got mixed up or we got substituted. We got 6 pieces of crumbed mystery fish (suspect imported farmed barramundi). Chips were ok, prawns good.........I wish we got better fish.

Helpful?
Thank Scottgumby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarralumla
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Grabbed some takeaway consisting of the local snapper and some deep sea perch.
Perfectly cooked with a great fresh taste
Well done

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maddigan's Seafood also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Maddigan's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing