We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riviera Resort(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunseeker Motel(Scarness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelly Bay Resort(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fraser Gateway(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
334
100
23
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
100
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinema roomfree breakfastwine and cheesethe kitchenfraser islandflash packersbig walkshuttle busthe east coastcommon areasfantastic hostelbed female dormprivate roomno air concommon roomshuttle servicetea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean room (8 dorm) with own, modern bathroom. Great value for the price! Free breakfast with toast and cerials. Familiar athmosphere due to the very kind owner. We can definitely recommend the hostel, it was one of the best we ever had!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank livingmylive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently stayed here in a double room with a private bathroom. It was very clean and tidy and the staff were really friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were allocated a room, when we got to the room the door was open and the rubbish hadnt been removed. The lady on reception came over and offered to move us but we were happy to stay put once the rubbish had been removed...she then came back and insisted on moving us as she didnt feel comfortable leaving us in a room that might not be clean...we happily obliged and it was nice to know they cared about their guests.

You get free tea and coffee anytime of the day, free breakfast (toast and cereal) as well as free wi-fi in the common room area. There is a pool and car park facilities and also bag storage facilites if you need to check out before going on excursions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LynneMichelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it.
The manager was helpful since the first second ...
When we called him from our way to the hostel , he handled everything very easy and uncomplicated and without much trouble.
Before we paied we got free wine to drink and snacks because of our long drive ... ;) and then we checked in without paying ... He trusted in us that we pay the next day ...
The kitchen stuff was very clean and the chill area was great ... The cinema as well ;) one day we watched in the cinema a really nice movie.

All in all the best hostel we stayed in at our easy coast trip ! Thanks for that ...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mareike1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When arriving in hervey bay with greyhound, I got picked up and driven to the hostel. The hostel is quite central and accommodates a very clean shower and bedroom. Also the kitchen and fridge are very big so you can cook very convenient here. The owner is very helpful and I definitely recommend staying in this hostel.

Room Tip: Pay an extra 2 dollars for a new room with an amazing shower
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martintravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warick2013, Owner at Flashpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for your kind review. The extra $2 in the dorm rooms made us laugh! Yes the extra moves you into our new rooms with the huge amazing 8" shower heads from the ceiling. Lots of our guests comment on how great the showers are especially after a Fraser Island camping trip it is a excellent way of washing away all that sand. It's funny where that sand can get too! All our rooms have real Hotel grade mattresses and bedding and strong pressure showers, but as you say the new ones for the bit extra are worth it. Value rather than the cheapest is something some travellers need to understand. Flashpackers is similarly priced to other hostels but has so many extras for no additional costs. All the best, Warick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room. It was comfortable except that the duvet and bedding was covered with hair and the shower was also dirty and full of hair. The rest of the hostel was lovely and the guy at the front desk was accommodating. I just think the one thing a hostel should be is clean!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank KatieM1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warick2013, Owner at Flashpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Katie, I'm as disappointed as you. We pride ourselves on cleanliness (as you may have noticed with the common areas and kitchen) so obviously something has gone wrong the day of your arrival. All our rooms,bathrooms and bedding are cleaned thoroughly on checkout and dorm rooms daily. Please as a tip for future travels and stays, let Reception know of any problems during your stay so efforts can be made to make your stay perfect for you. Apologies for your issue and rest assured we will go through our cleaning procedures again to try and make sure this doesn't happen again. Sincerely, Warick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews