We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely people”
Review of Shelly Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelly Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my elderly parents who stayed here for more than 2 weeks due to illness. My father was very ill on his first night and taken to hospital. My mum was left on her own and things would have been very difficult for her, had it not been for Lisa the manager. She took mum under her wing and went above and beyond what she needed to do, including ensuring mum was settled, finding a mobile phone charge cord in the lost property, ordering her room service, and writing down instructions on how to use the mobile phone. We were ringing the room frequently, and all calls went via reception; Lisa's 'phone smile' never faltered. As I understand it from my mum and my brother and wife who ended up staying in Shelly Bay the property was lovely and rooms very comfortable, homely and well equipped, with good views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were one of 4 couples who went to the Hervey Bay area for our 40th Wedding Anniversary from 5th to 10 July. As it was school holidays, accommodation was somewhat scarce, but our research on Trip Advisor located this gem of a place. Our rooms were very spacious, on the top (3rd) level, and with lift access, this was a breeze for my wife, who has a disability (no, not me!).
The acting managers were very friendly and were very willing to assist whenever we wanted advice on going places, or doing things. The location is directly across from the beach, which was nice and quiet, even though it was school holidays. All our group agreed that we would not hesitate to go back to this resort, which saves us looking for other accommodation, on our next holiday to the area.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best, unless you want to be nearer to the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobbo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I highly recc this property.clean,well appointed,great location and very reasonable tarrif.the staff could not do enough for us.easy walk to restaurants and just across the road from great beach.good safe car parking was an added bonus.

Room Tip: go for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murray r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We only spent one night here and wish it had of been longer. We were on the second level in a 1 bedroom suite. It was very clean and well set out with a well appointed kitchen and had an outlook of some sea views through the trees. The beach was just across the road. I highly recommend this property, especially the 3 night deal for $95 per night (off peak stand by rate I think).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaileasoutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This property is directly across the road from the beach which makes it convenient for beach access and lovely views. It is also within walking distance to restaurants. We stayed in a one bedroom appartment. My only gripe was that the bed was so hard that I would wake up stiff and sore. Very friendly staff and very clean property.

Room Tip: A higher location gives you better views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Friendly staff. Very big clean apartment comfortable bed. A bit outdated and no dishwasher. Nice pool although needs more chairs and umbrellas. Great location opposite the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment over Easter and we all had a wonderful time. The kids made good use of the pool which was nice and warm (as was the ocean). The apartment layout was ideal with the bedrooms being towards the back so noise and morning sun were never a problem. All staff were very helpful and friendly, and lots of places were only a walk away. We were impressed by the quality of the food at the Indian Restaurant on site. A great holiday and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#4 of 23 in Hervey Bay
513 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Crest Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelly Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Bay Resort

Address: 466 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelly Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelly Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing