We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovliest of four hotels over a week...”
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Hervey Bay
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovliest of four hotels over a week...”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As they say "every room with a view"; and although it's not always essential to have one, in this place it was great to overlook the marina, and the pool etc. (from both the balcony and within) rather than just a car park or adjacent nondescript building.

Another Wotif mystery room, this was far and away the best I struck. The bathroom had a spa bath (very nice soak after a wet windy day at Fraser Island), and one could see through the bedroom to the view from within it (privacy being afforded by a venetian blind when required).

The room itself is not very large, and had there been two of us with big suitcases it may have seemed crammed, but there was space in which to unpack, so one didn't have to leave the suitcases open, if that were a possible problem. I've certainly been in smaller rooms, and this did have a small table and chairs that could be moved if you got really stuck for space.

Too wet and windy (edge of a tropical cyclone was lashing the region) to enjoy the pool, but the nearby board walk afforded a bit of exercise between showers.

I dined in the restaurant, availing myself of two entrees, and found them both delicious and beautifully presented. I'd looked at all the menus of all the eating houses nearby and opted for it, and was not disappointed.

Nice ending to a trip.

Room Tip: If you like swimming, get one of the rooms whose balcony has it's own ladder directly into the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Jqqls. We looove hearing from our Kiwi friends, thanks for your informative review. We hope you get to come back in Whale Watching season – July –October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    675
    321
    112
    81
See reviews for
366
906
76
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in Tower 2 in a 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor overlooking the harbour. with a work colleague. Rooms are separate but share a common entry hallway. One room had a spa bath with view, the other had a full kitchen, and lounge area, both with balconies and air-con. Well-appointed and comfortable, with laundry in the bathroom.Swimming pool is large and wraps around both Towers. We noticed that some ground floor units have direct access to the pool.The hotel bar is near the pool where you can enjoy happy hour after a long day. There is a choice of restaurants next door which will charge-back to the Mantra and food was good quality and reasonably priced. There is also a Boat Club/RSL close-by which is popoular with the locals and travellers.Easy access to harbour in Whalewatching season, and plenty of walking options to explore the area. Parking is onsite but not all undercover. Overall, was a very pleasant 1 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a corporate rate if you are travelling on business. Rooms above 2nd floor have best views. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear FAF10,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra Hervey Bay on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and we agree we have some of the best views of the harbour. Both Towers have awesome views and we are glad you enjoyed Tower 2. You are correct in that we have some units on the ground floor with direct access to our pool – these rooms are called Swim up rooms and are very popular. Our car parks are only accessible to hotel guest’s and we have shade sails in each car park.

There are a number of great restaurants close by and we are happy you were able to recommend these to fellow travellers. I see you have mentioned Whale Watching – the best time to come and see the Whales is during August through to October. It is an amazing experience and we recommend the trip to all.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Hervey Bay one day soon.

Kind Regards
Leah Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stayed recently at mantra hervey bay. location is great. plenty of good food around marina. ask for room up high so you can get views of fraser island and sandy straits. room average hotel rooms. great location for whale watching as boats leave at front of hotel in the marina.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear andrewjenny,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra Hervey Bay.

We agree the location is amazing! Being able to watch the boats leave the harbour from your balcony every day is spectacular. The best time to experience the awesome Humpback Whale Watching is from August through to October. There are a number of excellent dining options located close to the hotel and I am pleased you are able to recommend these.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Hervey Bay one day in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah Sullivan
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If it wasn't for the reception staff then this would only get 2 stars. Even for a solo traveller the room I was given was tiny. Okay it had a balcony and you could see the harbour BUT......How you could get two peoples luggage in I really don't know. The restaurant offerings were at best mediocre for the price. I have stayed at other Mantra properties and enjoyed them but this needed some tlc to get it anywhere near the standard I expected. Maybe I was unlucky.....!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review…. I am disappointed that on this occasion you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us whilst visiting Hervey Bay and I hope we can offer you a better experience on a return stay in the future. I apprecaite your lovely comments about our staff, they are certainly a great bunch of Guest Service professionals , who really love what they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Comfortable beds, good location and view over the mariner, great cafés at door step, overall nice stay except for the poor front desk service which lacked attention and enthusiasm from unfriendly and uncooperative staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thanks for your review, Jennifer M. I’m pleased you enjoyed all the facilities here at the hotel. I have to agree with you on the location, we are so lucky to be so close to the Marina which also overlooks Fraser Island – it’s just so peaceful. Did you manage to do the walk out to the entrance of the Marina? It's definitely a pretty walk.

Your comments regarding the staff concern me. This is not what Mantra Hotels is about. We go to great lengths to employee passionate and friendly individuals to work at our hotels nationwide. I will be personally sharing your feedback with the staff and will address this internally to further develop their customer service skills. I hope we see you again soon, so we can show you the TRUE Mantra experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights, on the 6th floor great view over the marina and out to Frazer Island. We arrived early and the room was not ready which is fine, so we headed to the boat club for lunch. We had most dinners at the club 200 meters walk and the food is excellent. The room was small but it did have a king bed and a large bathroom with a spa bath and shower over the top. I do not understand the idea of a window between the bedroom and bath with a blind control from the bed side????The front desk staff were great as good as any where we have been in the world. The weather was hot and sunny but the wind did not stop for the week we were here. We had to cancel a fishing trip we booked weeks in advance. The rooms are not service unless you pay an extra fee which is fine I don't like people coming into the room when I am not their. I like the off road parking for the car. the internet did not work for the week plenty of wifi next door at the cafes, the pool was very welcome when we came back from day trips. would stay again but next time in whale season.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
What an informative review, Stephen022. Thank you. We are so lucky to be situated in such as special place in Hervey Bay. It’s just so central to the boats for Whale Watching season. I hope we are given the opportunity to welcome you back later this year. Whale watching starts from July. Last year was one of the best seasons we’ve ever had – so this year is gearing to be even better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband booked Mantra Hervey Bay spa suite for my birthday.
On arrival we found out the lift wasn't working (apparently from friends this has also happened to them and other people they know). We walked the stairs to the 6th floor - great view of harbour. We then found that the rubbish bin in the toilet hadn't been emptied and it wasn't nice. On advising reception the maintenance man said it was the 8th complaint he had rectified that day. I wasn't game enough to use the spa bath. The louvres on the air conditioning unit in our room were broken so there was no airflow to any part of the unit except in front of the air cond. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was obviously broken as on the fastest setting I could have spun the fan around quicker by hand. It was a very poor effort from a supposedly 4 star resort. Have stayed at Hervey Bay many many times and believe the smaller family run accomodation places are of a much higher standard.

Room Tip: Please check all the room facilities when you check in and perhaps demand to be moved if not up to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burpengarytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Burpenary Travels…. I would like to personally offer my sincere apologies for the standard of the apartment as you have described from your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. There is no excuse for an uncleaned room. I can assure you this is not our normal standard and I have thoroughly investigated the apartment and housekeeping issues from your stay to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future. I also would like to apologise for the lift outage. It’s never ideal when mechanical equipment fail – especially over peak season. In an ideal world we would love to know when this would happen, but unfortunately we cannot. However, we really do appreciate the flexibility our guests provide us when the rear occasion items such as lifts, fail us.

At the hotel we have a receptionist on from 6am-9pm Monday-Sunday. They are equipped with the tools at hand to assist guests when things just don’t go to plan. They would have moved you to another suitable apartment should you had not been satisfied with the room. I apologise that we were unable to assist you while you were in house.

I really do hope you will give us a second chance as we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back and show you our true Mantra style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Property: Mantra Hervey Bay
Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Hervey Bay is the region's only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Only three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a range of accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring hotel rooms and one, two, and self-contained three bedroom apartments, all rooms include private balconies and cable TV, with most rooms featuring a spa bath. One and two bedroom apartments offer the additional convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities. Onsite leisure facilities at Mantra Hervey Bay include a swimming pool, sauna, exercise room, BBQ facilities and adjoining restaurants. Free security parking is available. There is also a number of retail outlets including fashion boutiques, a day spa and gift stores within the marina precinct. With an abundance of nature, such as the Great Sandy Strait, Fraser Island and the wetlands, as well as the eco tourism ventures and attractions, Hervey Bay offers something for every visitor. Hervey Bay is an idyllic location to experience the Fraser Coast with Mantra Hervey Bay providing the perfect base to explore all that is on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing