We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what you pay, needs updating but for price n cleaness you can't complain”

Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Is located near hervey bay waterpark so great if you want to spend time there or at beach. Stayed new years n had no probs with noise even thou bar and restaurant next door and it's handy for cheap meals or bottle shop. Things are tiered but kept very clean n that stood out that it was clean, pool kept neat n clean n rooms were large n aircon worked well. Great for what we payed. Just go there realising it's tiered but tidy and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetski1200r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

For $80 we were impressed with the size of the room. There were two cane armchairs, the varnish of which was quite worn. The bathroom was tiny, with the shower over the bath.
The carpets need replacing in the lobby and corridors as they are threadbare and grubby..However, the carpet in our room was in better condition. In our bathroom the vanity counter had a large crack right across it. The surface was lifting on the side of the cupboard where teamaking was sited showing the chipboard beneath. The bistro of the hotel was handy and the meals very good, making it un-necessary for us to go into town. The night we were there they had the Tuesday special "buy one get one free meal deal". This made it a very economical stay. It was a good one night stop-over. With some upgrading it would be a lot nicer facility more in keeping with the outside appearance. We had a room at the front but were not bothered by traffic noise. The facility is a long way from town, being at the Point Vernon end of Hervey Bay. It is at the opposite end of the Bay to the Marina should visitors intend to go on the whale watching cruises.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

POSITIVE :
Nice location,close to the water and walkway along the beach area, BAR located at the rear of the premises if you like a drink and dont want to drive ,undercover parking when spot available. Fairly quiet if you get the front location however not sure about the rooms at the rear being so close to the Bar .

NEGATIVES.
Staff did not offer an upgrade (paid or completmentry)to a bigger room or room with a balcony, obviousley they were not full. The reception area in the least to say requires a major upgrade the Carpert was dirty and threadbare in most areas. Breakfast pack was available for purchase however would rather go to a local Cafe. The lift was old and the carpet again threadbare and getting to the part of being dangerous. I was situated on the 2nd floor and upon entering noticed that again the Carpet needed to be changed and further $100 of paint and some elbow grease would have bought the room up, I dont want to see paint peeling off the walls pay for a better painter next time. The small kitchen area was ok but the opening door for breakfast went out in the 70s a little upgrade there..
Its now the Digital age and TVs are not that expensive and better if the old ones you have work, had to call the desk and have the one changed which they did with another old TV.
The bedding and headboard needs to be bought into the 21st Century as the nostalgic look of the 70s is gone. The bathroom is ok and good size for the unit.
On checking out ,well I just dropped off the key to a lady who must have worked, but she was not not wearing any type of uniform or clothing that depicted her as an employee.

CONCLUSION.
To the owners, you have to spend money to make money, you have a great location and the rooms are a good size lets not cheapen out, you need to upgrade this property or you will go the way of the Dinasours. I was there for the Whale Festival and have now been looking for a new location for next year. Carpet is not expensive and painting is fairly cheap I am sure there is people out there to do it, charge an extra $5 per night per room and you will get it back 10 fold in the end.
MY RATING 2.5 STAR WITH GREAT ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very basic. The room & building are dated, frayed, and a bit musty.
The website boasts 'superb views of the bay' but my room had a view of the top of a palm tree and of the busy road that separates the hotel from a caravan park
Also, this is in no way 'centrally located', but a good 3km at least from shops/restaurants
For the money, and for one night only, it was just about acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fmackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort is a decent budget option.

The whole place looks a bit dated, especially the rooms. Our room was big and clean, but the carpet was pretty much worn out and the room looked tired.

Our room had a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, iron, TV, airconditioning and a ceiling fan. It also had a balcony with a nice view over the ocean (although upon arriving we were charged extra for the balcony even though we had booked it). There is also a pool.

There is a busy road right in front of the resort, which can be noisy both during the day and in the early evening. Also, although the place has a pub attached (with a restaurant) you really need to drive to the other local restaurants, unless you enjoy long walks.

There's a caravan park accross the road from the hotel, so don't expect uninterrupted views of the ocean. However if you're on the first floor, you'll get a pretty good view of the sea.

All up, Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort is an ok place to stay if you're making a stopover in Hervey Bay. But if you're staying any longer, I'd suggest you stay at other accomodation in Hervey Bay

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Panikinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
3.4 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachside Motor Inn
Beachside Motor Inn
#20 of 23 in Hervey Bay
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
1.1 mi away
Pialba Motor Inn
Pialba Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Urraween
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: 249 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £45 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing