We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachside Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First management mishandled booking. We put this to one side and decided to ignore the long black hairs on the linen. The next day management became abusive when we requested fresh towels. Apparently they refuse to service rooms unless requested by guests, and then refuse to provide clean towels after midday. Facilities were poor (limited cutlery - why no forks in room?, clothes dryer "out of order" and limited AC). I suspect previous reviewer is correct in suggesting this is due to electricity prices. Rooms are tired, dated and in need of renovations. VERY basic facilities for the price (what's with the single liquid substance advertised as shampoo, conditioner and body wash?). Bathroom was tidy but not thoroughly cleaned. I have stayed in dozens of hotels/motels worldwide, including several in Hervey Bay and this was by far the worst I have ever stayed at. I would strongly suggest any prospective guests look further afield. I wish we had.

The only positive thing about this place is the location, which is close to the beach and shops, but so are plenty of other places. When visiting Hervey Bay we usually stay at The Beach Motel (formerly the Green Motel) which always has wonderful service, but unfortunately this was already booked out. Will never stay at the Beachside Motor Inn again, and have advised friends and family to avoid this place as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonequark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn L, Owner at Beachside Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time for all the reviews, here, Wotif and Golden Chain. Your booking was done with Wotif and you requested a twin room which you received. No mishandling of booking. Our motel linen comes straight from the laundry service and is changed in every room when it is cleaned so l cannot explain long black hairs because none of the staff has that colour hair. Our rooms get service everyday when you put out your sign which is supplied by Golden Chain, hanging in full view and mentioned in the compendium. We were also outside your room for over an hour and you were sitting outside and did not say a word until 2pm and then wanted your room serviced. I explained to you that the cleaners had finished for the day and you said you wanted clean towels etc.. I replied that as l was the only one on reception to bring them up and l would change them over. You brought them up and were so abusive that after giving you the towels that l said l would refund your money and you could stay elsewhere. The abuse continued until l said l would have to call the police. After you apologised l continued on with the rest of the bathroom items you required. Your partner came up to get my side of the story and l said to him that he was being nice and if would have been so much better as when you are nice other people are nice to you.Obviously you did not want a service the next day because you did not put your sign out. You said as a world traveller and being in the industry you had never encounted this before. It is common practice not only in Australia but all over the world and you would not be able to buy signs which come from Golden Chain otherwise. The special liquid l used in the shower comes at great expense because it is shipped up from NSW and has been used here since before l took over. Most motel room do not have toaster or crockery and cutlery. The basics are supplied for your own breakfasts in the room. If you had of wanted forks all you had to do is ask. and l would of been happy to supply these. Hope you enjoy your stay elsewhere as nobody should be treated the way you treated me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Management seemed helpful at check in but we soon realised that once the account was paid the hospitality stopped. They also entered the room while we were out for dinner, turned off fans and air con!!! Car park was taken by another guest and when I questioned management I was told to park on the grass. Just not helpful and unsociable. I wouldn't recommend this motel at all.
No hot water! I suspect that electricity prices are restricting their service.

Room Tip: $200 per night at Pier One apartments is by far a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn L, Owner at Beachside Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. I have taken on board your comments and went and checked out the hot water and it works well. As it was very busy over christmas that may have contributed to the fact of fluctuating controls of water when many people use the showers at the same time. Unfortuately this cannot he helped. We have more carparking than units with spare parks situated along the motel. A guest had come in with a boat and they had spoken to me about parking in the tandem space and as you have a grassed area straight out the front of the room l thought l was doing you an act of kindness instead of you having to park quiet a distance away from your room with your 2 vehicles My mistake.
We do not have a power controlled key system in the rooms. At reception, in the compendiums and also in the rooms there are signs that ask for the aircondtitoners to be turn off when leaving the room. This is not just for saving power, which is expensive as everybody realizes but also for safety reasons. The rooms power can be controlled by manual operation at the switchboard but it is very inconvenient. Some people go out and leave the airconditioners on for 6 to 12 hours and have it set on 16, then have to put extra blankets on there beds because it is too cold. Most people understand and do the right thing because it is not much to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in a family room upgraded by the owners from a standard room. The room was clean and tidy but tired and in bad need of maintenance. The bathroom area stank badly. There was a problem with the shower in that you got either only hot or only cold. The toilet made a terrible sound for several minutes every time you flushed it. Yes it is close to the RSL but we still had to drive every where for shops, breakfast, good playgrounds etc and could have stayed anywhere else in terms of location. For the cost of this motel I would definitely try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As there were no more double rooms available, we were given an upgrade to a family room, at no extra cost, which had a queen bed in the main room, a kitchenette with crockery and cutlery and a microwave, a comfortable sofa, plus another bedroom. The room was very clean with good linen and bed coverings. The motel is in walking distance of a shopping plaza, and the RSL Club where we can always get a very good meal. We really enjoyed our 4 night stay here and were very comfortable. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The two bedroom apartment we rented for two nights was tired and falling to pieces.
The light in the otherwise unlit bathroom flickered and died on the first night.... the water pressure kept "spitting" at me, like it does when there's air in the line..... the vertical blinds were in need of repair..... there weren't enough wine glasses and various other crockery.... AND worst of all.... there was no fire hydrant in the cradle in the hallway, where it should have been.
We sought to get replacement towels and our room serviced, as it said was part of the deal in the handbook in our room, only to be told the apartments were serviced only once a week.
We weren't advised of this.... and all the literature in the apartment didn't state this. And there was even a sticker on the bathroom mirror stating "leave dirty towels on the shower floor to get them replaced"?!!!
Also, the wifi was extremely poor..... it barely registered one bar on my tablet.
Needless to say we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Found this hotel good value for money. Great location with lots of places to eat within walking distance. Comfy beds in a spacious room. Lots of info on hand for travellers. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Great location opposite the beach. Good air con, lots of info about things to do and places to see. Walking distance for breakfast out and nice restaurants
Not a luxury place, but a clean and comfy motor inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funkytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#21 of 23 in Hervey Bay
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Main Street Motel
Main Street Motel
#5 of 23 in Hervey Bay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motor Inn

Address: 298 Esplanade | Pialba, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £62 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachside Motor Inn is situated on the Esplanade in Pialba, Hervey Bay directly opposite the beach. With the Central Business District, RSL Club, shops and restaurants 200m behind the motel it makes for a great stay. Now under new management since 1st July 2015 we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachside Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing