We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at YHA Hervey Bay end of January. Even though the weather was dreadful (just before the floods!!) we had a really nice stay here. Nice, helpfull staff, a big camping area where we could put up our tent, a huge but at the same time cosy communal area with cheap meals and bar and nice kitchens. We really enjoyed it, and would defininately recommend it to anyone going to Hervey Bay, especially if you don't want a party hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    68
    29
    22
    16
See reviews for
15
77
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it :) everyone is so friendly and all the staff are brilliant and just so helpful and friendly :) nice food and really cheap as well, cheap drinks. Was a lovely stay and very relaxed atmosphere :) would defo advise people to go here :) good for families as well, it's more like a holiday camping village than a hostel, it's lovely!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great value for money. I was travelling female/solo, and stayed twice last month. I felt very comfortable, my private ensuite room was large, clean, quiet and surrounded by beautiful gardens. Best night's sleep I had along my journey. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, bistro/communal area comfyand friendly. The food was tasty and good value. I walked up to the shopping area and quay, 10-15 mins, doable, especially if out of the heat of the day. It was the best hostel environement I stayed in during five weeks in Aus. and much better than a BB and a motel along the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This place is part of YHA but is not really like others YHA all around Australia. It's not really a backpacker place for young travellers. It's more a place for families.

The hotel is quiet but so quiet sometimes it's just... dead. Some days the bar close very early because there are no customers or just a few.

They don't provide breakfast. You can't even buy a breakfast.

They provide pick-ups to the bus station but sometimes schedule change last minute.

Internet is quite expensive and the 24 hours cards expire after 2 days, even if you disconnect after every use. Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms.

The owners are sometimes aggressive.

I travelled 2 months and half in Australia and stayed in a lot of hotels there but I wouldn't recommend this place.

For a nice backpacking experience in Hervey bay, I would rather recommend Flashpackers Hervey Bay : more friendly and they provide free Wi-Fi, free computer access, free tea/coffee and free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mage M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A fun courtesy bus driver was our first contact to the friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are old but nice and clean. Had a good sleep here! The rooms are surrounded by gardens and you can hear different kind of birds singing all day long.The location isn't the best possible but it's worth hiring a bike from the hostel and take a tour around the city. The atmosphere was very relaxed and easy going. There was a nice pool, good space and great music in the resting area. The food at the bistro was good and the bartender the best. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We couldn't fault this Hostel. Excellent value for money. Our double room was very spacious with en-suite, fridge, aircon, fan,etc. The room had its own veranda with bench seat overlooking well kept gardens. The pool was very good with sun loungers. The Hostel is set in a large well kept plot. The owners were always friendly and helpful and had very high standards. The hostel is quiet and peaceful due to the accommodation being spread out. Our kitchen was kept clean and tidy and only shared with five other rooms. This hostel is very convenient for Fraser Island trips - companys will pick up and drop off at the Hostel.
Tony and Chris Baker (UK)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyhbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Dont know if it was because it was raining and the hostel had not a lot of guests, but the rooms were great, the bathrooms are in the rooms.
The resting area, pool table and bar is pretty cool and nice.
The staff has been awesome! I clearly recommend it if you go to Hervey Bay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojomillenium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,774 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#3 of 53 in Hervey Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
2.2 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#31 of 53 in Hervey Bay
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Property: Colonial Village Resort
Address: 820 Boat Harbour Drive | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Colonial Village YHA)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay is the closest departure point for a Fraser Island Adventure. Why waste a day of your 4wd tour getting to the highlights, we put you right where the action is. You have'nt been Whale watching until you have been via Hervey Bay, the ONLY place i Australia where you can swim with the Whales. We have a free daily courtesy bus to and from the coach station (7am to 915pm). Please phone for bus pick up times. The Colonial Village is unlike any other hostel; with 8 acres of sprawling botanical grounds complete with native wildlife and enough activities to make it a self-contained retreat you are sure to love your stay here. Complete with a pool,free tennis and basketball courts, free Wi-Fi and PC use, free table tennis, darts, pool table, wii, a children's play area, large playing field, a large relaxing pond with fountain, hammocks, all surrounded by tree's with a huge variety of resident and visiting birds, not to mention the tree frogs, sugar gliders, possums, and so on. Endless hours of fun, plus push bikes available to help you explore all that the gorgeous Hervey Bay has to offer. The bar and restaurant are well priced for travellers on a budget and will leave you well satisfied. With your belly full you can retreat to your tastefully decorated dorm or private room each with their own en-suite. There is no need to fight over bottom bunks here either as the entire hostel is bunk bed FREE!! The private rooms seem like luxury apartments complete with mini fridges, TV's and a private balcony. It's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy your stay in Hervey Bay. All of our rooms are professionally cleaned , and all come with linen, pillows and blankets. All rooms are either air conditioned, or come with ceiling fans. Villas and cabins are fully self-contained with their own kitchen, TV, lounge and bathroom. Colonial Village is situated only 50m's from Urangan beach, and it is only 350m's from Hervey Bay's 7 kilometres of unspoilt beaches, and the 850m long Urangan pier, which is wonderful for fishing. The all year round perfect climate with cool refreshing sea breeze is great for fishing, swimming and water sports. On our doorstep is the Marina/harbour with a range of cafes, galleries, shops and restaurants, also a boat club with daily entertainment. Urangan Central plaza is 700m's away with a Woolworths, Post Office and Pharmacy. We have an all day bar and bistro, with day and evening menu's, and breakfast is also available. We appeared in the 'Fraser Coast Chronicle - July 2014...Venues that scored a thumbs up for pub meals..' We offer 24 hour access to the shared self catering cooking facilities/TV room and showers/washing. All accommodation and the whole site are at ground level with no stairs. 1 of the ensuite double rooms has a special access shower/toilet. There is a special access toilet in the bistro also, as well as a spacious non-partitioned toilet/shower by the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing