We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for aircon don't come here. Falsely advertised on their website which didn't give a good first impression. Next we were stood at reception for 5 minutes waiting for the 2!!!!!! Female staff more interested in finishing their fags. Other staff just weren't helpful and forgot about my queries minutes after they had left me to deal with other customers. Uncomfy beds and a very quiet boring place. Terrible WiFi and a shocking tv signal (unwatchable)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mike_ross_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    66
    27
    20
    16
See reviews for
15
74
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Ŵe originally booked to stay only 2 nights but ended up there for 3. The lady on reception (Karen I think her name was) was very friendly and helpful. We had booked a stay on Fraser Island at the kingfisher resort for 1 night and thought that would give us enough to see of the island - she convinced us to book a day trip and it's one of the best recommendations we've had. We wouldn't have got to see the island at its full potential if we hadn't!

We stayed in a double room which is one of the cleanest we have stayed in, showers / toilets were also very clean.

The bar / restaurant is very reasonable priced and you get drinks vouchers when you check in too.

Kitchen was clean, and you could always get in to make a meal when you wanted. Pool looked nice even though weather wasn't great so we didn't get a chance to use it. There is also a mini lake which has ducks and turtles which you can hand feed.

All in all a great hostel with friendly staff, would definitely recommend you stay here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMW1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Quite a way from the esplanade, although there isn't much there anyway! Shared kitchen dirty and full of flies. Bed ok, sheets nice n fresh. Decent en suite bathroom in 4 share. Nice pool and communal area. Bar closes by 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our room was clean, and big enough for 4 people, and its a good place to stay if you wanna go to Fraser Island. I was satisfied with this accommodation till the checkout: I realized one/ two hours after the checkout that I forgot my shampoo/conditioner and my phone charger in the room. So I told the reception and I could go back and have a look. but the room was already cleaned and nothing was there. The staff said I should wait till the cleaner has finished in every room, she should bring the forgotten stuff to the reception. So I did, but they said: Sorry she couldn't find anything.. We were the last persons in that room, so they lied and stole that studid things and I had to pay 40 bucks to buy new stuff....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a great time in Hervey Bay and this hostel was a good place to stay. I particularly enjoyed the pool and bar area, where we spent plenty of time relaxing. The meals were good and very reasonably priced as were the drinks. We ate here every night as it was just to comfortable to move anywhere else! We stayed in a private room, which didn't have airconditioning. I suspect you could upgrade to a room with air conditioning, not sure. We chose to tough it out. Our room was quiet but others in our group stayed in a different area and one night had a few problems with noisy people (one of which was a staff member), but I guess you get that with hostels sometime. The management (owner?) was very friendly and made an effort to make us all feel welcome. He was short staffed and run off his feet! More tea towells and clothes pegs for the clothes line would be a cheap improvment. Overall a great hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at Colonial Village for two nights. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming, and the grounds look lovely. The room was small but had a fan and two beds, which was really all we needed. The mattress was not very comfortable, and when removing the linen, the mattress cover looked like it had not been washed in a fair while. The shared bathroom was clean but the second day we had no hot water. Finally, a screen door to our room was the only door we could fully shut and lock, which firstly seems like a bit of a security issue and secondly made it impossible to sleep during a storm. Colonial village is also not near any restaurants, so we had to drive to the esplanade to have dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritatravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Colonial Village YHA for 4 nights in October 2013. I had a single room which just had a bed in it, but was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. The shared bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait for the showers. The staff were friendly and helpful and can advise and arrange all sorts of trips and travel options for you. Several tours that run from Hervey Bay will collect you from the road entrance to the hostel, or you just meet them at the whale head statue that's just a 15 minute walk away.

The location of the hostel is a little way out of the action, but you can hire bikes or the hostel is on a bus route if you don't fancy the walk to the harbour or the beach. There is also a small Bilson's supermarket about a twenty minute walk away or a little further on is a big Woolworths. Another reviewer mentioned that there was no pavement to the supermarket, but you can walk on the grass verge and unless you have a particular aversion to grass, it really is not a problem. If you don't want to cook, the bar does some nice pizzas and barramundi and chips, or just a 15 minute walk away is the marina and yacht club, with a couple of nice restaurants.

The only downside was that my room backed on to the communal kitchen/bathroom area and could be a bit noisy where other guests slammed doors or were talking loudly during group cooking sessions.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would not hesitate to recommend the hostel to other solo travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfreak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#1 of 54 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
2.9 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
2.2 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#30 of 54 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Property: Colonial Village Resort
Address: 820 Boat Harbour Drive | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Colonial Village YHA)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay is the closest departure point for a Fraser Island Adventure. Why waste a day of your 4wd tour getting to the highlights, we put you right where the action is. You have'nt been Whale watching until you have been via Hervey Bay, the ONLY place i Australia where you can swim with the Whales. We have a free daily courtesy bus to and from the coach station (7am to 915pm). Please phone for bus pick up times. The Colonial Village is unlike any other hostel; with 8 acres of sprawling botanical grounds complete with native wildlife and enough activities to make it a self-contained retreat you are sure to love your stay here. Complete with a pool,free tennis and basketball courts, free Wi-Fi and PC use, free table tennis, darts, pool table, wii, a children's play area, large playing field, a large relaxing pond with fountain, hammocks, all surrounded by tree's with a huge variety of resident and visiting birds, not to mention the tree frogs, sugar gliders, possums, and so on. Endless hours of fun, plus push bikes available to help you explore all that the gorgeous Hervey Bay has to offer. The bar and restaurant are well priced for travellers on a budget and will leave you well satisfied. With your belly full you can retreat to your tastefully decorated dorm or private room each with their own en-suite. There is no need to fight over bottom bunks here either as the entire hostel is bunk bed FREE!! The private rooms seem like luxury apartments complete with mini fridges, TV's and a private balcony. It's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy your stay in Hervey Bay. All of our rooms are professionally cleaned , and all come with linen, pillows and blankets. All rooms are either air conditioned, or come with ceiling fans. Villas and cabins are fully self-contained with their own kitchen, TV, lounge and bathroom. Colonial Village is situated only 50m's from Urangan beach, and it is only 350m's from Hervey Bay's 7 kilometres of unspoilt beaches, and the 850m long Urangan pier, which is wonderful for fishing. The all year round perfect climate with cool refreshing sea breeze is great for fishing, swimming and water sports. On our doorstep is the Marina/harbour with a range of cafes, galleries, shops and restaurants, also a boat club with daily entertainment. Urangan Central plaza is 700m's away with a Woolworths, Post Office and Pharmacy. We have an all day bar and bistro, with day and evening menu's, and breakfast is also available. We appeared in the 'Fraser Coast Chronicle - July 2014...Venues that scored a thumbs up for pub meals..' We offer 24 hour access to the shared self catering cooking facilities/TV room and showers/washing. All accommodation and the whole site are at ground level with no stairs. 1 of the ensuite double rooms has a special access shower/toilet. There is a special access toilet in the bistro also, as well as a spacious non-partitioned toilet/shower by the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing