We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in a double en-suite room. It was clean and tidy and very roomy. We were next to one of the kitchens and TV but heard no noise, from either which was a real plus. In fact it is a quiet location not far from the boats to Fraser Island and the whale watching. The only major drawback is the atrocious free wifi that could only be used in the bar. It was so bad that I could not open my trip advisor app in the building so I am posting this at the YHA Byron Bay. iMessage was just as bad as was using safari.
Overall a decent room and location for the price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BT3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the first time we have came across a backpacker hostel that also provided space for camping - more places should do this!

The campground was a good size, nice and level, plenty trees for shade, and wasn't too busy during our stay - we always managed to get the same spot if we left in our van during the day and came back, and it was very quiet at night - no noise or disruption. The duck pond was nice, lots of birds, frogs and turtles!

The pool area was great - we spent most afternoons lying in the sun - only half a dozen loungers available but we never had a problem getting one. It got very hot so being able to go for a dip to cool down was amazing! There was also a hot tub and a couple of hammocks to lie in.

The kitchen facilities weren't the best but we normally managed fine - you just need to be early as it's quite small and could get very busy - there really should be a bigger kitchen considering this is a hostel / campground combined. There was no ventilation or windows so it could get VERY hot in there! Also one of the doors leading off the kitchen was actually a dorm - I'd feel sorry for the people staying in there! The dining area also acts as the TV lounge, with a few grubby sofas and a television - again, this isn't ideal, there should be more tables for people to sit and eat, and the couches & TV should be in a separate area.

The restaurant and bar area however, were excellent - this was a really nice area to sit - the meals and drinks were reasonably priced (nice pizzas) and there were also computers and pool tables. We found it great having somewhere indoors to sit instead of being in our van all the time, especially when it rained very heavily a couple of times during our 6 nights there. There was wifi but it didn't really work.

The amenities were fine - again quite small for the potential capacity of the place, and on a few mornings we had to wait for showers to become available, but then discovered the poolside shower room and started using that.

We booked Colonial Village as a base for our Fraser Island tour, but apart from that, there would really be no other reason to stay there. The location isn't the best - there are no shops or eateries nearby or even within a short walk. The nearest supermarket / bottle shop was a 5 minute drive away and to walk to the beach / pier, it took about an hour. Have no idea where the nearest bars/nightlife were so having the on-site bar came in handy!

Despite the location and lack of things to do, we enjoyed our time here - very relaxing, felt at home, and had an amazing time on Fraser Island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights to visit Fraser Island. The resort looks really nice, there are peacocks and other birds walking around, it is very green and the cantine area is nice as well. However, there is really nothing to do in or around the area. Also the room was quiet dirty, and the kitchen really small. The kitchen facilities were in bad condition as well. We had a little bite at the bar for we didn't eat all day. The food however was really bad, it said the pizzas were handmade but I think they came straight out of the microwave. The salad came straight out of the supermarket and the garlic bread was literally sickening. So yeah, if you're hungry you might consider to make something yourself.
Overall we had a good stay, it was cheap and the staff was friendly! Internet didn't work though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 013travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing stay here. Friendly staff, pleasant location and not too far to walk to shops. The cabin was clean and tidy and had everything we required. Good value for money. Would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had looked around for some time on an affordable accomodation in Hervey Bay, the minute we were greeted so nicely by Tiffany and Karen, I knew we had made the right decision when choosing our little family holiday getaway. I was worried about amusing our little one if we stayed around the village, but even more worried about being able to get a nice cold beer when the sun went down... this place had me covered on both accounts and more! Tiffany and her husband treated my wife and daughter like we were actually family, we fed the ducks, took a walk round the village to see the abundance of wildlife, then made it back to the Bistro for the best fish and chips I have had in my life! Of course I got my cold beer as well, on tap! The next morning we asked Tiffany where we could wet a line, and little did we know, it was all of about 200m away from the village, and ended up catching plenty! We will be back!

Room Tip: Cabins have everything you need if you have a little ones with you, otherwise all other options are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was perfect. It had everything we could ask for including a split system A/C, kitchenette, nice hot shower, comfortable bed, nice patio and a covered carpark.

The grounds and facilities are great for families. We spent the weekend with our 1 year old and the hosts at the Colonial Village 'Jeremy & Tiffany' treated us like royalty.

The communal area is a great facility with internet, pool table, lounges, various games to play, pool cheap meals & cheap beer. The hot chips are AMAZING!!! Best hot chips we have ever had in our lives.

We would recommend this place to families wanting a great budget place to stay that the kids will love. Close to everything, very welcoming and overall the perfect place to stay.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reece K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An awesome Hostel! On arrival the very friendly Tiffany was more than helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Great space, more than enough room for Caravans, campers and tents. The accomodation had plenty of room and was nice and clean. The pool and common area was a really nice place to relax or enjoy a game of table tennis or pool. The food was generous and affordable. I would be more than happy to recommend this place to family's, friends and couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binzyyzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
2.7 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#4 of 53 in Hervey Bay
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat
1.6 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Address: 820 Boat Harbour Drive | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Colonial Village YHA)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay is the closest departure point for a Fraser Island Adventure. Why waste a day of your 4wd tour getting to the highlights, we put you right where the action is. You have'nt been Whale watching until you have been via Hervey Bay, the ONLY place i Australia where you can swim with the Whales. We have a free daily courtesy bus to and from the coach station (7am to 915pm). Please phone for bus pick up times. The Colonial Village is unlike any other hostel; with 8 acres of sprawling botanical grounds complete with native wildlife and enough activities to make it a self-contained retreat you are sure to love your stay here. Complete with a pool,free tennis and basketball courts, free Wi-Fi and PC use, free table tennis, darts, pool table, wii, a children's play area, large playing field, a large relaxing pond with fountain, hammocks, all surrounded by tree's with a huge variety of resident and visiting birds, not to mention the tree frogs, sugar gliders, possums, and so on. Endless hours of fun, plus push bikes available to help you explore all that the gorgeous Hervey Bay has to offer. The bar and restaurant are well priced for travellers on a budget and will leave you well satisfied. With your belly full you can retreat to your tastefully decorated dorm or private room each with their own en-suite. There is no need to fight over bottom bunks here either as the entire hostel is bunk bed FREE!! The private rooms seem like luxury apartments complete with mini fridges, TV's and a private balcony. It's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy your stay in Hervey Bay. All of our rooms are professionally cleaned , and all come with linen, pillows and blankets. All rooms are either air conditioned, or come with ceiling fans. Villas and cabins are fully self-contained with their own kitchen, TV, lounge and bathroom. Colonial Village is situated only 50m's from Urangan beach, and it is only 350m's from Hervey Bay's 7 kilometres of unspoilt beaches, and the 850m long Urangan pier, which is wonderful for fishing. The all year round perfect climate with cool refreshing sea breeze is great for fishing, swimming and water sports. On our doorstep is the Marina/harbour with a range of cafes, galleries, shops and restaurants, also a boat club with daily entertainment. Urangan Central plaza is 700m's away with a Woolworths, Post Office and Pharmacy. We have an all day bar and bistro, with day and evening menu's, and breakfast is also available. We appeared in the 'Fraser Coast Chronicle - July 2014...Venues that scored a thumbs up for pub meals..' We offer 24 hour access to the shared self catering cooking facilities/TV room and showers/washing. All accommodation and the whole site are at ground level with no stairs. 1 of the ensuite double rooms has a special access shower/toilet. There is a special access toilet in the bistro also, as well as a spacious non-partitioned toilet/shower by the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing