We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of The Bay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have just had a 5 day stay in a superior apartment. The apartment was very spacious & comfortable. The hot tub on the balcony was great to relax in after a day out sightseeing. The location was great & close to everything we needed. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We will definitately go back & recommend the units to our friends & family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hi Denise,

Thank you for your review and taking time to put it on Trip Advisor. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the sights of Hervey Bay. We are so fortunate to have apartments with the outdoor spas on the balconies as they are always popular with guests. We agree our location is great and also feel very fortunate for this.
Look forward to seeing you here again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Denise & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    35
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
43
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Had a two bedroom apartment (no spa) and it had very spacious living areas. Two living areas, so great for kids to have their own tv. Kitchen was well equipped and the BBQ area was very well equipped with bar fridge and plenty of cloths for cleaning. Lap pool, gym, sauna and tennis court to keep you fit. And secure undercover parking to keep the salt air off the car. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi there,

So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Bay Apartments. They are huge apartments and guests are always shocked on their arrival as to just how big they really are. The resort facilites are great also so glad you enjoyed them. We are lucky to have them here. The BBQ area is Derek's domain and he loves making sure it is fully equipped and makes life easier for anyone using it such as supplying oil, utensils, fridge etc.
Hope to see you again sometime and thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. We found it very spacious with each of our 4 children having enough space to themselves. The extra wide balcony was great especially on the day it rained - it meant we could still sit outside without the rain blowing in on us. Kids loved the pool and the tennis court. We didn't have any problem with noise from the spa as others had mentioned but when sitting on the balcony did find the noise and wind from the air-con a bit annoying but we just turned it off when we went out there so didn't really cause a great problem. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllSixOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review of our resort on Trip Advisor. Our balconies are particulary large and great for all the family. The airconditioners are a neccesity that unfortunately as a motorized machine do create some noise. However they are usually not required to be turned out while sitting out on the balconies so don't really cause an issue just the few who choose to leave them on while not actually in the apartment and even then are not that bad. The garden and tiling works are coming along nicely and would love to see you up here once they are all finished. While it is a shame you were here while the works were going on we are happy that we can keep updating and maintaining the building and grounds. Hope to see you again. Cheers, Denise & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at for the Harvey Bay Triathlon in a beautiful 3 bedroom apartment. With 3 of the family competing we had gear everywhere but the staff ensured we had plenty of space to store everything. The apartment was clean, spacious and beautifully appointed. It has everythign we needed to make out stay comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a nice room on the top floor that overlooked the bay, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Katrin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Sue,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We are very lucky to have such large apartments that suit large families and couples alike.
The triathalon in Hervey Bay is such a fun well organised event and as a sponsor of the event we enjoy having the competitors here at The Bay.
Take care and all the very best at M1 Resort.

Kind Regards,

Denise & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you are wanting a "great" holiday in Hervey Bay, this is the place to stay!

The first impression to an enjoyable experience is always the booking. We have always found the Managers of the Bay Apartments, Derek and Denise, to be friendly, courteous, helpful and no amount of re-arranging or shuffling is too much for them. They are happy to answer any or all queries and offer great advice re Hervey Bay tours and attractions.

The units have the "wow" factor. The first thing on entering is the size. We have stayed in a few different units at the Bay Apartments and they are all large. You can spread out, find your own space and not feel cramped in pokey little rooms.

The furniture is modern and very comfortable including the beds. The ensuite and bathrooms have everything you need and are very clean and fresh!

The appliances, as we have always experienced, are up to date, all in working order and easily found in the large kitchen and/or laundry.

The balcony is large, has good views on the higher floors, and is so relaxing to enjoy a cool drink while soaking in the sea views, the sunsets on the water and horizon, or the thousands of parakeets that show off their flying skills at the end of the day.

The pool has always been clean when we have swam. The spa beside the pool is naturally relaxing and there is a barbeque and gym if you feel so inclined.

The location of the Bay Apartments is also a bonus. It is within walking distance to a multiude of shops for eating takeaway and/or dining, shopping and close proximity to the pub.

It is our favourite place to stay on the Bay and we love returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors - naturally better view over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyQLD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi Wendy,
Wow what a huge review and so thoughtfully written. We really appreciate the time you tookt to sit down and enter all this wonderful information. Once again we are so happy to hear you always enjoy your time at The Bay. We will always strive to continue our friendly service and keep the facilities here at The Bay in great shape. Each guest has different preferences and that is something we are happy to work with to ensure we can meet as many requests as we can to make sure each individual stay is a great one.
Look forward to seeing you again.Thank you once again.
All the best,
Derek & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Fantastic. Superb hotel. Extremely clean, friendly staff and wonderful pool area. Close to shops and beach. Great!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravendq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day. We love hearing that our guest feel welcome and we and our staff have been friendly along with our lovely property getting great feedback.

Happy Travels.

Cheers,

Denise & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family and I stayed at The Bay apartments for a week during December 2011. There were 5 adults and a toddler, and the 3-bedroom apartment suited us perfectly. The bedrooms were a good size and the master bedroom was great. It also had 2 full bathrooms and a laundry with a washer and dryer tucked away inside a cupboard which I thought was fantastic. Built in wardrobes in every room as well. The kitchen was a good size with just about everything you could need for a short stay. There was an 8-seater dining table inside, plus an outdoor one on the verandah, and a huge wraparound couch in the lounge room.

The spa on the verandah was great to have however we did go down to the pool area and used the outdoor spa as well which we liked. We also used the BBQ near the pool area on Christmas Day which was very handy.

The airconditioner noise that other reviewers have mentioned did not bother me at all, I guess because I live in Dubai where we are used to that noise 24/7, but my family that aren't used to it did mention it. I really didn't think it was an issue. I really liked the security as well - you need the key to get into the building, the pool area, and the carpark, plus to go up to your apartment.

The apartments are across from the beach, and there are some restaurants and a convenience store along the road. You could not fault the managers as they were fantastic and very friendly, even showing my sister how to park her car in a tight space in the garage. I would definately stay here again if I were to return to Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchickuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHerveyBay, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi There,
What a wonderful review and with so much time and effort put into it, thank you so much!
We are always estatic to hear our guests have had such a great time and that we have again been able to provide a happy and professional service. What a fantastic way for you and your family to spend Christmas Day together around the pool and with a good Aussie BBQ. Security is a must nowadays so we are fortunate to have a safe and secure building which also keeps the floors private to guests only. Airconditioners are a neccessary item in our climate during summer and when turned on guests are usually inside with the doors closed so noise is fortunately not usually a problem so glad to hear you didnt feel they were an issue.
Hope to see you again when you next visit the family. All the best, Denise & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.1 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
493 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Apartments

Property: The Bay Apartments
Address: 371 The Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Apartments Holiday Resort is situated directly opposite one of Hervey Bay's best beaches, right on the Esplanade with an array of restaurants, cafes and shops all within a short few minute stroll. All of our fully self contained apartments are incredibly spacious and contemporary with large bay facing balconies or ground floor courtyards offering direct access to the pool. Being self contained you get to enjoy more space and facilities in your apartment allowing you to self cater. Our Outdoor Spa Apartments offer you the added luxury of your own personal outdoor spa on your balcony or in your courtyard. Why guests love the bay apartments Hervey Bay's best 25 metre lap pool with hot spa & Children's wading pool - heated year round Sauna & Gym & Full size Tennis Court Well equipped Poolside BBQ Area in a tropical garden setting Secure Basement Parking including Security Access to Grounds, Building and Lift Levels Private Individual Storage Cages in basement Personal Outdoor Balcony/Courtyard Spas available in Outdoor Spa Apartments Complimentary starter kit of toiletries/tea/coffee allowing you time to settle in & shop later Reception Tour Desk assisting with Fraser Island, Whale Watch, Lady Elliot Island & local tours. The Bay Apartments continue to be Hervey Bay's favourite Resort offering the very best for couples, the largest of families, corporate groups and business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hervey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing