We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Eco-Haven!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancashire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Eco-Haven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Another TripAdvisor find! Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by many old age pensioners on a retirement village! Realising the SatNav had thrown a wobbler we quickly recalculated our brains and used maps to locate the hotel! : )
We arrived at the hotel shortly after and were greeted by Rob, the owner. The hotel was situated in lovely surroundings in the rainforest and was very quiet even though it was next to a main road.
Rob was really friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and really enthusiastic about his eco-friendly ethos which was nice as he really cared about making a difference, however small, and encouraged his guests to do the same. He instantly provided us with a map, and informed us of some great places to eat, and visit.
We viewed two rooms before we decided to stay, and opted for the standard room which suited our needs but also accommodated 3 people.
The room was slightly dated but well equipped with a kitchenette including microwave, cutlery and crockery. We also had a sofa and a large flat screen TV, the room was very spacious and clean, and we had a big shower.
Security doors blocked out all the wildlife noises so a good night’s sleep was had by all! : ) All the screens & security doors had secure key locks on them as well.
The only downside we had was that a few ants were found in the room (nothing major) but an hour after we had left the hotel the next day we opened a carrier bag which we had left in the room on the floor and it was crawling with ants looking for food. An ant station in the room would be the only improvement.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi UKBiker,

Thanks heaps for your comprehensive review. I certainly appreciate your comments about our environmental initiatives and commitment - it's great to know that guests read about our eco initiatives in our compendiums, and hopefully take some tips with them when they leave.

Your comments re ants are a worthwhile tip for travellers to regional areas in Australia - particularly when it is wet, if any open food items are left out, ants will find them ... it is always worth travelling with zip-lock bags or tupperware containers for your snacks and food items! We treat our rooms and surrounding gardens every 3 months for insects and ants but they are very industrious if there are food scraps left on benches etc.

I'm glad I was able to help with local tips and suggestions, and hope you also enjoyed our magnificent natural attractions on the Fraser Coast.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and I look forward to seeing you again some time in your future travels.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    65
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
125
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here in March for one night to allow an early departure to Fraser Island. Although Rob wasn't around he ensured we had everything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable. No frills but that wasn't expected. I'd recommend it as a good value for money place where you aren't going to get any nasty surprises.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi MLDH,

Thanks for your review and comments.

We are extrememly proud to be recognised as one of the best value accommodations in Hervey Bay. Not only did we win a TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award in the "budget" category, but we have been recognised as the best value accommodation in Hervey Bay by Virgin Australia in their touring guide. Our aim is to provide the highest quality of service, cleanliness and the best value for money for travellers.

Thanks for recognising our value for money accommodations, and it would be great to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Emeraldene Inn consists of 14 units and we stayed in no. 2 on a weeknight for $99. It is set in 2 acres of private lush tropical gardens and is very quiet and peaceful. It is 4kms from The Esplanade which is the main restaurant strip. The swimming pool looks very nice and there is a laundry and clothes line for guest use.

The room was a wheelchair accessible room and was very spacious. It was spotlessly clean and had a very large bathroom and plenty of storage. It contained a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery and even wine glasses. There was a queen size bed with crisp, white linen, a single bed and a two-seater lounge. The decor was very modern and looked quite new.

Rob recommended a few places to go for dinner and we decided on The Black Dog Cafe which was an excellent choice. We will certainly stay here again when we come back to Hervey Bay. We would highly recommend Emeraldene Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Benaroon,

Thanks for your review and compliments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you with us!

Black Dog Cafe is a great local restaurant with an eclectic menu and great fresh local produce. It is one of my favourites in the Bay and I'm pleased you enjoyed my recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hervey Bay.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I found the Emeraldene Inn on Trip Advisor (of course!) and stayed for one night while passing through Hervey Bay for work.
It has all been said, really-you approach through an avenue of trees and the space is cleverly used so that you feel you are in a bigger place than it actually is. It is very easy to relax totally here-There are sofas and seats scattered around, the rooms are spotless, and what a treat to have plunger coffee! The bed was comfortable with a fresh doonah and clean cover (and it didn't have that awful standard motel bedspread tht might not see the inside of a washing machine too often!) and it was wondeful to wake up to bird song in the lush tropical gardens.
The Inn is well placed on the way into town from Maryborough and close to the hospital. Local resaurants deliver meals and for breakfast, treat yourself to Enzo's on the beach! You can have a light breakfast delivered to your room though.
I wil stay here every time I travel to the Fraser Coast-might even have to find excuses to travel!
This is a truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Ozzygal,

Wow- thanks for your excellent review - it is most appreciated!

We have an obsessive focus on cleanliness and customer service, and it is most rewarding when we receive praise such as yours.

Enzos is an awesome spot for breakfast - right on the beach. As you mentioned we also offer a continental style breakfast that is very popular with our business travellers, as we place this in the rooms/fridge the night prior, allowing an early departure if necessary. (Also great for those early morning tour pickups!)

We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future, for either business or just a relaxing weekend away!

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the Emeraldene Inn for one night and enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere and the great hospitality. Rob had already been waiting for us since friends of ours had been traveling the same route a couple of weeks earlier and left us a little honeymoon present. We even got an upgrade to a really nicely decorated and spacious superior room that provided everything we needed including plunger coffee, bottled water and a really comfy king bed. Since we had already explored Fraser island prior to our stay we were able to enjoy the nice pool and the cute terrace attached to our room. It just felt wonderful to have a day of total relaxation in between all the traveling. We definitely recommend staying at the Emeraldene Inn when visiting the Hervey Bay area.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get an upgrade to a superior room and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiepchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Schiepchen,

Thanks for your review! We are honoured to have been able to contribute happy memories to your honeymoon, and I am so glad you enjoyed our Superior Rooms for your night with us.

It is a long way from Germany to Hervey Bay, but maybe on 5, 10, and 15 year anniversaries you can visit us again and experience some more of our great region! We would certainly love to have you stay with us again!

All the best for your future together.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Rob could not have been more helpful with our stay in Hervey Bay. His advice on eating places and onward travel were invaluable. The location of the motel, just outside the main strip was a bonus as it was quiet and relaxing. We stayed each side of a two night visit to Fraser Island and Rob arranged for some of our luggage to stay at Emeraldene during our time away. Fantastic response to clients' needs!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Gordon,

I really appreciate your kind words and am thrilled that my advice and assistance was helpful.

For a quiet country town we have some pretty good restaurants, and even one that was voted top 10 in Qld this month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We choose this lodge based on reviews and were not disappointed :-) I spoke to the manager Rob a few times prior to our arrival to organise the rooms and a Fraser island tour. Rob is extremely efficient with great knowledge of the area and tour options.
We were a family group of 4 adults, 2 kids and an infant so we booked into 2 rooms. Our room had bunks in the lounge and a double in a separate bedroom. We decided to have the baby in bed with us although rob could have provided a travel cot if we needed one. Rob also offered to source a baby set for the car if we required, we didn't but very useful to know when travelling with a baby. The room was huge, very clean and we were supplied with coffee and tea which was a nice touch, as was the washing line in the garden area, little thing but can really help with 5 wet towels and swimsuits to dry!
We stayed 2 nights pre and post Fraser island and really enjoyed our time. The kids and daddy braved the pool which was clean whilst I enjoyed a wine on the veranda, perfect! The lodge is very Eco friendly and the beautiful foliage attracts an interesting range of birds, some a bit noisy but that's nature!
The hotel is situated just as you reach town, the beachfront is a short drive away.
Overall an excellent hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Vicki,

Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure having your extended family stay with us, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our property and also your trip to magnificent Fraser Island.

We would love to see you again some time in the future, maybe to experience some of the other great attractions of the region - whales and the Great Barrier Reef.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.6 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Property: Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Address: 166 Urraween Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing