We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great experience at the Emeraldene! Rob, the owner, was extremely helpful and gave us some great restaurant suggestions. The grounds were gorgeous, the room was spacious and very clean. Unfortunately, we were only there 2 nights surrounding a trip to Fraser Island (as I suspect many guests do). I wish we had more time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EP1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Hi EP,

Thanks for the great review. I am happy you not only enjoyed our property, but you also had the opportunity to visit and enjoy Fraser Island for 2 days. You will just have to budget some more time for your next trip to Hervey Bay, and I will organise some more great natural experiences for you!

I'm glad you enjoyed my restaurant rercommendations as well - we have some great dining opportunities in Hervey Bay - including one of the top ten restaurants in Queensland!

I hope we have the opportunity to see you again on your next trip to Australia.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    65
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
125
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

A planned trip to Brisbane was changed (not by us) to Hervey Bay. We looked up Tripadvisor to find a cost effective yet clean and roomy place to stay for two nights. The reviews of Emeraldene seemed to suit us so we called to make a booking. As with all of the other reviews, Rob was helpful from the start. The price suited our limited budget so we booked. On arrival, the grounds are fantastic, the rooms some of the cleanest we have stayed in and roomy for the three of us. It had everything you could need, we only wish we had more time to be able to use the BBQ area which looked fantastic.
This hotel is well located but not on the beach if you want a view, but not sure that view is worth three times the price. The rooms are spacious and have verandahs overlooking the lush gardens and Rob has all the knowledge you could want - 4wd hire, whale watching and restaurants. On our way driving back to Brisbane, we were stopping at Rainbow Beach and Rob even had some fantastic advice on a beautiful sight there, but you will have to stay with Rob to find at what it is - highly recommended and put on the bucket list so we could tick it off!!!!
We will stay again and we cannot recommend it more highly. It has everything you need, is well located and Rob is the biggest bonus of this place (and the dog, which my daughter would have loved to take with us). We would prefer the lush gardens at night and then spend the days on the many beach spots in the area. Save your moneyfor the many experiences in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the road which although not a major road, did have some noise. Other rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jxkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Hi Guys,

Thanks so much for the excellent review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms and facilities such great value.

You will just have to come back again and spend some more time with us so you can have a day off relaxing around the pool and a nice family BBQ. I'm thrilled you enjoyed my secret tip for Rainbow Beach - I just love that spot and it is a photographers delight! (As you say, you have to stay with us to get the good oil lol!)

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are up our way.

Best regards,

Rob (& Jess - our border collie / kelpie and Head of Guest Relations!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Booked a superior room and was very pleased throughout my stay here. Rob, the owner, was extremely helpful and prompt when answering my e-mail enquiries about things to do in Hervey Bay. He gave very good suggestions about places to go and things to do to suit our taste and preferences.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a smile and great service from Rob, and then led to our room which was very comfortable, roomy and very clean! We couldn't find anything that was upsetting about our room at all! The iPod dock and the plasma tv were great, but being surrounded by nature all around us in the hotel was a great relief from city life. The kitchenette was basic but had all the necessary equipment for us to prepare simple meals. The toilet was comfortable and big and literally spotless! Room was equipped with air-conditioning and a portable heater, the latter was very useful when it got cold at night.

Had a very enjoyable stay there with a great room, great surroundings and very excellent service.

Room Tip: The superior room was superb and very affordable. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Hi Fullofcolours,

Thanks so much for your comprehensive and glowing review! I appreciate your feedback and am so glad you enjoyed our Superior Rooms and your stay with us.

It would be great to see you again sometime in the future.

All the best for your future travels,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We only stayed in this hotel for about 5 hours, as we had dinner in Bundaberg and drove to Hervey Bay the same night. But we had to get up at about 5 am to go pick up our 4x4 and make the 9am ferry to Fraser Island. But the owners were super hospitable and let us book our room and use it, all without ever meeting them. They kindly left the door to our room unlocked as we didn't arrive till about 12:30 at night. The room was spotless and very nice. It would have been nice to spend more then the 5 hours that we did. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi Ryan,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and pics - much appreciated, and very glad we were able to make your brief stay easy... AND optimise the limited amount of sleep available to you!

Hopefully on your next trip we will get to meet you, and you will be able to spend some more time with us and enjoy our peaceful surrounds and facilities.

Hope you enjoyed Fraser and I look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting the Fraser Coast.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Another TripAdvisor find! Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by many old age pensioners on a retirement village! Realising the SatNav had thrown a wobbler we quickly recalculated our brains and used maps to locate the hotel! : )
We arrived at the hotel shortly after and were greeted by Rob, the owner. The hotel was situated in lovely surroundings in the rainforest and was very quiet even though it was next to a main road.
Rob was really friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and really enthusiastic about his eco-friendly ethos which was nice as he really cared about making a difference, however small, and encouraged his guests to do the same. He instantly provided us with a map, and informed us of some great places to eat, and visit.
We viewed two rooms before we decided to stay, and opted for the standard room which suited our needs but also accommodated 3 people.
The room was slightly dated but well equipped with a kitchenette including microwave, cutlery and crockery. We also had a sofa and a large flat screen TV, the room was very spacious and clean, and we had a big shower.
Security doors blocked out all the wildlife noises so a good night’s sleep was had by all! : ) All the screens & security doors had secure key locks on them as well.
The only downside we had was that a few ants were found in the room (nothing major) but an hour after we had left the hotel the next day we opened a carrier bag which we had left in the room on the floor and it was crawling with ants looking for food. An ant station in the room would be the only improvement.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi UKBiker,

Thanks heaps for your comprehensive review. I certainly appreciate your comments about our environmental initiatives and commitment - it's great to know that guests read about our eco initiatives in our compendiums, and hopefully take some tips with them when they leave.

Your comments re ants are a worthwhile tip for travellers to regional areas in Australia - particularly when it is wet, if any open food items are left out, ants will find them ... it is always worth travelling with zip-lock bags or tupperware containers for your snacks and food items! We treat our rooms and surrounding gardens every 3 months for insects and ants but they are very industrious if there are food scraps left on benches etc.

I'm glad I was able to help with local tips and suggestions, and hope you also enjoyed our magnificent natural attractions on the Fraser Coast.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and I look forward to seeing you again some time in your future travels.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here in March for one night to allow an early departure to Fraser Island. Although Rob wasn't around he ensured we had everything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable. No frills but that wasn't expected. I'd recommend it as a good value for money place where you aren't going to get any nasty surprises.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi MLDH,

Thanks for your review and comments.

We are extrememly proud to be recognised as one of the best value accommodations in Hervey Bay. Not only did we win a TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award in the "budget" category, but we have been recognised as the best value accommodation in Hervey Bay by Virgin Australia in their touring guide. Our aim is to provide the highest quality of service, cleanliness and the best value for money for travellers.

Thanks for recognising our value for money accommodations, and it would be great to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Emeraldene Inn consists of 14 units and we stayed in no. 2 on a weeknight for $99. It is set in 2 acres of private lush tropical gardens and is very quiet and peaceful. It is 4kms from The Esplanade which is the main restaurant strip. The swimming pool looks very nice and there is a laundry and clothes line for guest use.

The room was a wheelchair accessible room and was very spacious. It was spotlessly clean and had a very large bathroom and plenty of storage. It contained a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery and even wine glasses. There was a queen size bed with crisp, white linen, a single bed and a two-seater lounge. The decor was very modern and looked quite new.

Rob recommended a few places to go for dinner and we decided on The Black Dog Cafe which was an excellent choice. We will certainly stay here again when we come back to Hervey Bay. We would highly recommend Emeraldene Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi Benaroon,

Thanks for your review and compliments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you with us!

Black Dog Cafe is a great local restaurant with an eclectic menu and great fresh local produce. It is one of my favourites in the Bay and I'm pleased you enjoyed my recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hervey Bay.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
5.6 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Property: Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Address: 166 Urraween Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing