We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and helpful staff”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Located about 8 km from the Esplanade in Hervey Bay, the Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge offers a quiet oasis of lush gardens. If you are looking for accommodation in the middle of the restaurants and bars, then Emeraldene may not be the ideal place as it is a drive into town. However, if you are looking for a quiet place to escape the noise and commotion of the Esplanade, then Emeraldene is a place that you should certainly consider.

We booked a deluxe suite and found it to be quiet and clean. The walls were made of brick and so we never heard our neighbors. The room had a sliding glass door which opened up onto a patio. Since we had an end unit, we also had windows along one wall in addition to the patio door and the front door which allowed for nice breezes. There was also an AC unit.

The room had a kitchenette with a microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and some dishes and cutlery. Cooking a big meal wouldn’t be an option, but it was nice to have the facilities to make breakfast. There is an Aldi supermarket about 3 km away and so we could self cater. Otherwise, the office offers a breakfast for $12.

The communal facilities include a pool and a BBQ. There is wireless internet, but as we had the furthest unit from the office, I had trouble getting a signal in the room with my phone. This was fixed by just sitting outside the office to download my email.

The staff were really friendly. Upon check in, they gave us a map and made recommendations for places to eat in town. They also book tours and were really helpful in this regard. We were planning to go to Lady Elliot Island the next day and upon hearing this, the staff offered to call the airline to see if we could get on an earlier flight. They kept at it all morning which was something that I hadn’t thought of myself and was much appreciated.

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Emeraldene again the next time that I am in Hervey Bay. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi mhnstr,

Thanks for your excellent and comprehensive review! I really appreciate you taking the time to thoroughly review our property and facilities. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and I hope you had an awesome time on Lady Elliot.

You've pretty much covered everything perfectly, leaving me little to say, other than a slight correction - we are 3km from Centro shopping centre and 4km from the Esplanade.....

Thanks again, and I do hope we will see you again and for a longer stay next time!

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    67
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
126
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

A perfect out of town location for our whale watching - Whale Song and our very special tour with Peter in our Hummer Tour of Fraser Island - just do it you won't be dissapointed. Our host Rob at Emeraldene was superb, arranging our tours to suit the weather. The Eco lodge is well appointed with all you need, including a simple kitchen in the room. There is a small pool in the grounds, but being winter we didn't venture in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalloButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi HalloButlers,

Thanks for you great review!

Fantastic that you were here at an awesome time of year, and ticked all the best boxes with your whale watch tour and Hummer Tour of Fraser. It was the best season ever for whales this year, with some incredible up close experiences - and you were here at the best time!

We have just put up our Whale and Fraser Packages for the 2013 year, and for the early birds we have offered the opportunity to book at 2012 prices!

Hopefully you will get another chance to visit us all the way from the UK, and next time I can organise a trip for you to experience the best of the Great Barrier Reef at Lady Elliot Island.

I hope you enjoyed your adventure in Australia, and it would be great to see you again.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and our friends were very happy with the rooms. It was more spacious than we expected. It had one queen bed and one single bed. It also had a two seater couch and coffee table. It has a small decent sized sink, bar fridge, microwave, cutleries, plates, saucers and cups inside thus you can bring in some food and heat it up in the room. The room also had a mini porch at the back where you can sit, have a coffee while reading some book or newspaper.

It also has a combined toilet and shower which is reasonably large and designed for a disabled person. The toilet sink is a bit small for my liking but wasn't really a big deal.

The one thing that I really loved about the room, which I always look for on Hotels, Motels, and Apartments is that it is CLEAN and WELL KEPT. It is not as luxurious as other accommodations but the mere fact that it is clean compensates for it.

The location is also very quiet and peaceful, however, the only downside is that we had to drive out every time we need something as it is a good 5-15 mins away from Hervey Bay's main commercial areas.

Room Tip: If you're coming in groups and you want to stay in rooms beside each other, do ask the Emeralden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxified_blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Tox,

Thanks for your excellent review and also for posting some images.

I am thrilled that you were so pleased with our obsessive focus on cleanliness, and also our oversized rooms. As you suggest, when travelling with friedns we can accommodate you in interconnecting Deluxe Rooms.

The room that you stayed in (and provided pictures of) was actually one of our wheelchair accessible Deluxe Suites. In these rooms the bathroom is much larger (but you are correct, the sink is a little smaller than a normal Deluxe Room).

As you suggest, being on the western end of town set on 2 acres of gardens, we have a very quiet setting, but are only minutes away from Hervey Bay shops and facilities. We are actually only 3.5km from the main shopping centre (Centro) in town (2 minutes drive), and about 12 minutes from the marina (the opposite end of town). It is certainly an advantage to have a vehicle wherever you stay in Hervey Bay.

Thanks again for your comprehensive review, and it would be great to see you and your friends again some time in the future.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just spent a few days in Hervey Bay at the Emeraldine Inn. Very pleased with the friendly staff, clean rooms and nice breakfast. A great, quiet place for a family with kids just outside the busy town and the owner, Rob, arranged a great one-day Hummer tour to Fraser Island for us. A hastle free stay with great coffee at the reception! Wifi was a bit slow, so ask for a room near the reception if you can't do without ;-)

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Fdeluxe,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you appreciated our quiet location and family friendly surrounds.

Thanks also for mentioning our "Tropical Breakfast" which we put in guests fridges in the evening, so it is ready for any early tour departures the next day. Glad we could help with, and also that you enjoyed your Hummer Tour to Fraser.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We spent 2 nights here as a family mid July 2012. Our room was absolutely great and the staff was very helpful. If you go on a daytrip to Fraser Island, we recommend not to take the shuttle bus because we had to leave way too early in the morning. Stay in your comfy bed a bit longer and drive to the ferry yourself.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GhentFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Greetings to you all in Belgium, and thanks for the great review!

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and also your trip to Fraser Island.

As you suggest, at busy times of the year, the free transfers can take some time to pick everyone up, so it is good advice if you are a family and happy to drive to River Heads (20 minutes out of town where the barge departs), you can catch some extra sleep!

It is also worth considering the smaller group tours for this same reason. For example, the Fraser Explorer Tour (40 passengers) picks up at 6:50am, but the Hummer Tour picks up at 7:45am!

It is a long way from Belgium to Australia, but if you are ever back this way again, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We drove to Hervy Bay - spent one night and flew to Lady Elliot Island. This is a family owned motel. Front desk is very helpful - answered email questions before and after the trip - stored our excess luggage while at reef and updated us on the weather. Bird identification information in room. Good advice on places to eat and suggested sunset walk on pier. ID of birds that serenaded in the morning as well as minor bird that I photographed. We had hoped to see turtle egg laying at Mon Repose or Lady Elliott - were a couple of weeks too early in November.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polka-Dot-Umbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Polka,

Thanks heaps for your review.

I'm really pleased you found our laminated "Self Guided Bird and Wildlife Tour" info in our rooms helpful and interesting. We have a lot of native bird and wildlife within our 2 acres of gardens, and binoculars available for loan in reception. Lots of opportunities for visitors and bird photographers to "go wild" !

Its a shame you were a little early for the turtles (an awesome experience!!) and a little late for the whales .... you will have to come back and visit us again on another occasion! I am glad, however you had the opportunity to experience the best of the Barrier Reef at Lady Elliot.

We would love to welcome you again for turtles, whales and Fraser!

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We flew up from Brisbane to spend one day on Fraser Island with two nights stay at Emeraldene. The owner was extremely helpful setting us up with local ground transportation and a tour. Rooms are pretty standard for the climate: clean, spare, lots of tile. Kitchenette was nice. There's absolutely nothing in walking distance, though, so be prepared to take a cab for every meal and flight if you don't have a car. There's a $15 flat rate car service they like to use, with a surcharge for trips to/from the airport. There was a slight confusion around payment (because we had checked in late, after the front desk was closed), but the owner's kind father straightened it all out on the morning of our departure, no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BioAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi BioAnnie,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you appreciated our obsession with cleanliness, and our comprehensive kitchenette. As you mentioned, Hervey Bay is a BIG town (16km from one end to the other), so it is a diffcult town to explore without transport. Whilst it is a fair walk from the Emeraldene to the shopping centre or restaurants, we have a number of suggestions for guests without vehicles...

If you are doing tours to Fraser, Whale Watching, or Lady Elliot, it is useful to get your free transfer to drop you at the Boat Club, RSL, or Bayswater (Thurs-Sat), where you can have dinner and utilise a free shuttle service back to Emeraldene. We also have numerous restaurants that deliver direct to your room, or if you are just after something simple and quick, we have frozen microwavable meals available from reception. Our BBQ area is also a great option. As you mentioned, the limo service charges a flat rate of $15 anywhere in town.

I hope you had an awesome time on Fraser, and we would love to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,841 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
271 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
589 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
5.0 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Property: Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Address: 166 Urraween Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing