We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rob was extremely helpful and friendly, sorted out a whale watching trip (Freedom Whale watch) checking the weather for the best day to go. He also organised our trip with Fraser Island experience and gave us good insight to other attractions and restaurants around the area.

The room was spacious, light and clean and so was the bathroom. The furnishings were of good quality as were the towels and bedlinen.

The gardens were lovely, full of native birds and wildlife, we were regularly visited by a Butcher Bird and heard the sounds of Kookaburra and watched a Possum feeding in the palm trees.

It was a real pleasure to sit on the verandah feeling as if you were in the Australian Bush.

We had no problem with the location, but if you want to be in the centre of town or on the seafront this may not be the place for you, although it is only a short drive away.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamcatcher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Dreamcatcher,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thorough and positive review of our property, rooms and surroundings. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and also your experiences with Fraser Island and the whales (not to mention our own friendly wildlife here at the Emeraldene!!).

We look forward to welcoming you again some time soon.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    65
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
125
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms - loved the bird-filled grounds - and brilliant service and advice from owner, Rob. He helped us choose and book two whale watching trips and a day trip to Fraser Island, all of which were fantastic. Greta value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Penny,

Thanks heaps for your kind words. It was great to have you with us.

The whales have been just awesome this season, and you, like many of our guests, just had to go and see them twice! I'm sure you would have gone again if you had time!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, on Fraser and your experiences with the whales.

I hope we get to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Thanks Rob for a wonderful stay at the Emeraldene Inn. We only had a short time to enjoy Hervey Bay so appreciated all your advise and tips. The tours you recommended were fabulous with the whale watching the highlight of our Australian trip.

Arriving at the lush green setting of the Emeraldene was wonderful after a long day of driving, as was our room. Whilst a motel is a motel is a motel - not here! The care and attention to detail is what makes the Emeraldene stand out for us, super comfi beds, thick fluffy towels and black-out curtains. The room was presented immaculatly clean and stocked with basic supplies too.

The weather was warm and dry, unfortunately not quite warm enough for a dip in the pool yet, so I have to say it, "We'll be back"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Kylie Jane,

Thanks for your great review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us!

We have had such amazing weather this winter, and I am so glad you had the opportunity to experience the best our region has to offer - Fraser Island and Whale Watching, with a visit to Coast Restaurant, and a trip out to Toogoom as well! The only box left to tick is Lady Elliot, so I look forward to your next visit and I can send you out to experience the best of the Barrier Reef!

It would be great to see you again on your next visit to Australia.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

this place is very nice. the owner rob greets you as you arrive and somehow amoungst the other guests remembered our names throughout our stay, very impressive and just one example of the level of customer service we experienced.
the rooms were spacious, clean, beds comfy and the owner has great knowledge about local area ( just check out his blog on his website). we used the accom as a base for fraser and whale watching trips and whilst it is a little further than other accom to marina etc we liked position and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessntimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Tess & Tim,

Thanks for the great review!

I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and also your great trips to the island and to see the whales.

We do try to provide the best service, cleanliness and value possible, and I certainly appreciate your recognition thereof!

I hope you get an opportunity to visit us again - it would be great to see you.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Owner-manager, Rob, MAKES this place the wonderful experience it is. He works very hard and his passion for whale-watching and care for travellers was fantastic and delivered with genuine Aussie wry humour. He booked us a great tour with Whale Song boat upon which we had the most marvelous encounter with two teenage hump-back Whales. A big, fat tick off my "Bucket List".

The mini-bungalows are very spacious, well equipped amongst a tranquil setting that sat well with my ecological concience. Wish we could have spent more time there but too busy enjoying nature's miracle of the Whitsunday Islands!

All this makes great value accommodation, in my opinion, although we were in a hire-vehicle so the out-of-town location was not a problem for us. Well done, Rob!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMorganPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Sue and family,

Thanks so much for your awesome comments and review - I appreciate it very much.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and I am so glad you had the amazing early season experience with the whales that you had! It has been an incredible season that really demonstrates why Hervey Bay is considered "Whale Watch Capital of the World"!

Sounds like you had a great time enjoying the rest of Queensland, so I hope to see you all back for another visit in the future!

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This time we took our boys with us to experience Fraser Island and the reef around Lady Eliot Island. Rob arranged the trips for us and provided a comfortable and spacious Family apartment. The trips were brilliant and Emeraldene was comfortable and welcoming to return to to recharge our batteries

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi David and Family,

Thanks for your positive comments once again. It was indeed a pleasure to see you both again, and I am thrilled you had the opportunity to share our great region with your boys on this trip!

It would be great to see you again on a future trip to Australia, if not the boys in some years when they return with their friends!!

All the very best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent the night here prior to our Fraser Island Experience tour. The suites were large and well appointed. The surroundings are very lush, almost like a tropical garden / jungle effect. We had arranged a package deal with the Emeraldene for accomodation and a one day Fraser tour (a tour that was not advertised on their website). Emeraldene staff were very helpful in taking care of the arrangements and made our visit a resounding success.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Manofkent,

Thanks for your complimentary review!

I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Fraser, your time in the region and your time with us.

We have a lot of great tour and accommodation packages that showcase our fantastic region. I'm so glad we managed to customise a package with a small group experience of Fraser for your trip.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, and it would be great to see you again some time.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
5.6 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Property: Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Address: 166 Urraween Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing