We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 October 2013

very comfortable motel with good rooms and a very helpful owner. the grounds and natural habitat are really nice but the space can feel a little cramped. the only real downside is that you are way out of 'downtown' Hervey Bay and the area surrounding the motel is at present a large building site with roadworks

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russelld49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Russell,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our great, comfortable rooms and our natural habitat full of native bird and wildlife.

Our property is only 14 rooms set amongst 2 acres of gardens and rainforest surrounds, and the accommodation itself occupies only a 12% footprint - so there is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the serenity.

There has also been a new private hospital being built in our suburb which has resulted in a new water main and associated infrastructure being installed along our road, which may have been the construction whilst you were here. I apologise if it inconvenienced you. The upgrades to infrastructure in the suburb include linking our property with the "mobility corridor" which is a bike / walking track which now runs over 20km through town and along the beach front, and a new bus stop. We are excited about lots of new upgrades which benefit us and our guests!

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Hervey Bay.

Best regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

A comfortable motel with beautiful surroundings.
The rooms have amazing foliage around them with beautiful birds flying everywhere, there's even a friendly butcher bird who will come and visit you while you sit outside and have your breakfast.
The rooms are very clean, well fitted out and they have really comfortable beds.
There's an excellent bbq for everyone to use and an outside table with lights and citronella lamps.
Rob the owner is a top chap and really helpful. He's great with the tours and managed to get us onto a whale watching trip when we thought we'd left it far too late.
The Emeraldene was one of the nicest places we stayed in the whole of our Australia trip, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordVelcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi Lord Velcro,

I much appreciate the kind words and great review of our property. I am particularly thrilled we were one of the best places you stayed in Australia!

I am also pleased you enjoyed our beds, which we pride ourselves on, as they are top of the line Sealy Commercial beds (which we replace every 3 years), with luxurious mattress toppers in our Superior Rooms!

There are, of course, LOTS of butcher birds that call the Emeraldene home, but you would have been visited by Butch and Bazz, who are particularly friendly and have been known to follow guests inside for a treat! If you are lucky they will sit on the veranda and serenade you in the evenings.

Thanks again for the awesome review - it was a pleasure having you with us, and it would be great to see you again.

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Hervey Bay if you are travelling by car. Don't be put off by the road works outside, once you enter the drive of this motel and eco lodge you find yourself in an exotic oasis of peace and calm with tropical bird song and rain forest trees. We stayed recently for six nights and would have liked to stay for longer. The accommodation is well planned, spacious, comfortable, equipped for self-catering, and spotlessly clean with verandah seating to while away the early mornings and evenings. Rob, the owner, goes out of his way to be helpful and is a mine of information about the area with spot-on restaurant recommendations and exceptionally accommodating advice about trips to take. It was a pleasure to be his guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFM114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi KFM,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us and within our great region. I am thrilled you enjoyed our large and spotless rooms, and also our natural setting. Guests often comment that they see more birds and wildlife here than they do on Fraser Island! It is indeed peaceful and calming to listen to all our birds in the mornings and evenings.

I do hope you get another chance to visit Australia, and of course I would love to see you again and have you stay with us (longer than 6 days next time!!!).

Best wishes,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We loved our 4 nights stay at Emeraldene and will remember it always because of its' uniqueness. We had already booked our whale watching from NZ but Rob was helpful with other recommendations and his overall knowledge of the area and genuine warmth spread throughout. The room was lovely and the natural habitat was there to be enjoyed. We cannot recommend more highly than this! Thank you and we will stay again.

Room Tip: We like a room withan outlook. Can't add much otherwise. It all adds to the experience doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi Lesley,

Thanks heaps for the great review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time within our "rainforest oasis", and also your time in the region! We feel our 2 acres of natural habitat and gardens complements the natural experiences that people are coming to our region to appreciate. After a day of exploring Fraser Island or Lady Elliot Island, you can come "home" and continue to enjoy the amazing bird and wildlife that share our gardens and surrounds.

I do hope you get a chance to visit us again - we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much,the grounds are lovely with a nice pool and BBQ area and lush tropical plants. We had a superior room which was exceptionally clean with a lovely comfortable bed, free wi fi etc. Rob is very informative(and his Dad) of the local area and recommended places to eat/shop. I had emailed Rob several times prior to arrival and was brilliant advising us on various trips, we finally decided on the private hummer tour of Fraser Island( 4 passenger) and the trip to Lady Elliott Island both of which where truly amazing and would highly recommend.
You do need a car here to get down into Hervey Bay itself as it very big and spread out and has no real centre, I think it is about 18 kms across the bay itself!
We did a half day Whale watching trip, the sea was very rough that day and although we saw lots of Whales ( they like rough sea ) both of use where sick ,it was still worth it though and we soon recovered.
Hopefully we will visit again someday.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi Duckyduck,

Thanks for your fabulous review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that you experienced the "trifecta" of nature-based trips within our region - Fraser Island, Lady Elliot and the whales! I am glad I was able to assist you with your planning and bookings.

We certainly would love to see you again some day, and the great thing about all these places, is that they are just as amazing the second time around as they were the first!

All the very best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We found Rob very helpful full of knowledge about the area.The accommodation is very comfortable, spacious and clean The bush like setting is special Rob made all our trip bookings for us Fraser island ,whale watch even organised airport transfers.He made our stay there very relaxed and comfortable.

Room Tip: ask Rob!number 8 is a good start
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi Gordon,

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you with us, and I am glad you enjoyed your trips to see the whales and Fraser.

We would love to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rob was extremely helpful and friendly, sorted out a whale watching trip (Freedom Whale watch) checking the weather for the best day to go. He also organised our trip with Fraser Island experience and gave us good insight to other attractions and restaurants around the area.

The room was spacious, light and clean and so was the bathroom. The furnishings were of good quality as were the towels and bedlinen.

The gardens were lovely, full of native birds and wildlife, we were regularly visited by a Butcher Bird and heard the sounds of Kookaburra and watched a Possum feeding in the palm trees.

It was a real pleasure to sit on the verandah feeling as if you were in the Australian Bush.

We had no problem with the location, but if you want to be in the centre of town or on the seafront this may not be the place for you, although it is only a short drive away.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamcatcher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi Dreamcatcher,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thorough and positive review of our property, rooms and surroundings. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and also your experiences with Fraser Island and the whales (not to mention our own friendly wildlife here at the Emeraldene!!).

We look forward to welcoming you again some time soon.

Best regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,161 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
1.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#21 of 23 in Hervey Bay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
606 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
1.7 mi away
Main Street Motel
Main Street Motel
#5 of 23 in Hervey Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Address: 166 Urraween Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing