We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whales and more”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Apartment was lovely. A bit disappointed with the amount of cooking utensils. One small frypan made it very difficult to cook when not dining out. If a family was staying the size of,this would cause major issues. Gym a bit disappointing. One TV not working and we found some of the electronic equipment needed maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Albury756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recep171, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for this review, we are surprised at the comment on utensils as every apartment has a set of cooking pots, frypan and microwave suitable containers. We do have a large frypan at reception available to guests on request. The extra TV in the gym is for Austar only. Unfortunately, our new running machine has a fault, disconnected by the electrician last week as unsafe- possibly due to spilt liquid by a user and the repairman has been contacted. Hoping to see you here again and thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    69
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
97
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was looking for quality comfortable accommodation and found the Allegra. It is on the waterfront at the Bay and there are many options for restaurants and cafés nearby. The reception staff are welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recep171, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Karen,
Thank you for your positive review, yes, Allegra is comfortable and well situated. Dining choices are numerous and closeby. Hoping to welcome you again here for your next business trip or chill-out time. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a week of timeshare here - winter and the weather was amazing! Beginning of whale watching season and a day out on the Bay didn't disappoint! All the facilities at Allegra are spotless - perfect location and not enough time to do all we had planned. Beautiful accommodation in sensational part of Aus! Pool area is second to none!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank jillyo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recep171, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Wow! Thank you so very much, really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Allegra and hope you choose to return to beautiful Hervey Bay, the weather is magnificent at present and so are the whales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I enjoyed a two night stay in this wonderful room which had a great balcony that looked out to the ocean. I strolled across the road to the beach and lay down and nearly fell asleep, the experience was so peaceful. Long golden sandy beach was practically deserted early morning and I relished the solitude and serenity. The room was spotless, modern and had a fully kitchen which I utilized fully to make some meals for my adult daughter and young son who were with me. We all enjoyed our stay, had no trouble sleeping in the ultra comfortable beds. Swimming in the pool was fantastic. Everything about the Allegra Hervey Bay is outstanding...nothing to fault. I cant wait to visit again this year and plan to stay longer. I highly recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recep171, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I enjoyed a two night stay in this wonderful room which had a great balcony that looked out to the ocean. I strolled across the road to the beach and lay down and nearly fell asleep, the experience was so peaceful. Long golden sandy beach was practically deserted early morning and I relished the solitude and serenity. The room was spotless, modern and had a fully kitchen which I utilized fully to make some meals for my adult daughter and young son who were with me. We all enjoyed our stay, had no trouble sleeping in the ultra comfortable beds. Swimming in the pool was fantastic. Everything about the Allegra Hervey Bay is outstanding...nothing to fault. I cant wait to visit again this year and plan to stay longer. I highly recommend this place to all my family and friends.
Hello,
What a great review, must have been a wonderful mini-holiay for you. Yes, the balcony on the Ocean Views are huge giving that stunning view. Not a lot I can say except, thank you ,thank you.
Hope to welcome you here again at Grand Mercure Allegra.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were very happy with this resort. We have stayed in Hervey Bay a number of times but never at the Allegra and were very pleasantly surprised. We had a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment that was huge. The furnishings were tasteful and well maintained. The spa bath looked fantastic but as we were only able to stay one night didn't get a chance to try out. There are also a number of great restaurants within walking distance- we ate at the Aegean which was fantastic, and of course Coast is right next door.

The only down side was the noise if water from the pipes/ bathroom from the apartment upstairs through most of the night and early hours of the morning.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recep171, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much, yes, great spacious apartment, shame you did not get to enjoy that spa!
Not sure exactly which apartment you occupied as your review is anonymous but I am assuming it was a Pool/ Water View and the apartment above is privately occupied, the owners have stayed recently so have solved the problem or turned off a tap
!
Hoping to see you here again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay

Property: Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
Address: Allegra 468 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3.5 hours drive from Brisbane, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is the ultimate paradise escape. Situated on beautiful Shelly Beach, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is your gateway to Queensland’s World Heritage listed Fraser Island and where humpback whales holiday not just swim past. Offering luxury apartment accommodation on the Esplanade overlooking the magnificent beachfront, the 49 apartment hotel features tropical gardens, lagoon pool, gym and sauna and is just a stroll from boutique shopping, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing