We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ians Western Hotel

Ians Western Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Augusta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ians Western Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Augusta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Augusta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

After setting up caravan, I got on trip adviser for advice on eating out . Thanks to everyone for their reviews , we went to the hotel and the food was delicious. We found the staff friendly and helpful , we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
31
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawker, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Have been here a number of times for lunch, found the food to be good and exceptionally fresh. Staff were friendly and helpful. However, will never understand mentallity of filling a dining room with TV screens. Went there for dinner, acoustics of the dining room are terrible, when full of talking diners, sounded like we were in a food court. Will never go again at nighttime if dining room looks even half full.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank local2453588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the nearest place to where we were staying overnight and what a lucky chance that turned out to be. A very satisfactory meal at a reasonable price in a welcoming atmosphere. You could not want for anything better when travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimc352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahndorf, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

we were staying overnight on a trip from Port Lincoln to Adelaide and we visited in the afternoon to have a few bets and on seeing the dining room and menu decided to dine in. we have been to the hotel many times over the past 11 years and the refurbishment seemed incredible. meals were excellent, the service also. congratulations to all

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brivic4562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Took my family from the uk, and met up with some friends at Ians Western Hotel. we had a fantastic meal service was excellent. Stayed at the cottage on Tottenhan. The cottage was fantastic we loved it.Highly reccomend both!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

was here Sat 22nd Dec after reading positive reviews on the internet. hotel itself is really nice, as i understand, its just had a makeover. we tried to make conversation with staff but they were grumpy and gave us one word answers in both the bistro and the bar. we arrived at about 5.30 for dinner, only to be told the area with the table we would be eating at, outside, was not open until 6.00. not sure why this is the case, as the bistro staff were already working so not like they cant monitor the outside area. we were happy just to sit out there with our drinks, but they said no, we had to wait until 6. i specifically asked the waitress if i ordered the carbonara, that it wouldnt come with too much sauce. i said 'theres nothing worse than ordering pasta, and its served swimming'. she assured me that would not be the case. well, what do you know, a bowl of sauce with some pasta hidden in there somewhere, photo attached. way too much sauce, way too creamy, couldnt finish it. dont remember what my partner had, but he wasnt overly impressed either. only redemption was the bottle shop staff who were friendly and efficient. nice bottle shop too. great selection. wouldnt eat here again (if i was ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aahsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

No help from staff, disgusting food, over priced. Rude staff who wouldn't help. Never ever again!!!! Don't waste your money!
Just in for a quick meal passing through town. Had a Christmas party arrive and surround our table. People leaning on not only our chairs but us as well. Not help from staff. Had to ask people to move away and give us space... Did not happen. No help from staff even though the two tables for the Christmas party were set and ready. Called once we were back at our accommodation only to be told they were too busy and best of all could WE call them back later.... Don't give them any support. Not good enough

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCouple85-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Courtyard Motel
Augusta Courtyard Motel
#1 of 5 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ians Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ians Western Hotel

Property: Ians Western Hotel
Address: 10 Loudon Rd, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Augusta
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and looking awesome, we have new menus, the biggest bottle shop in Port Augusta and fantastic, comfortable décor. Located right on the Highway by the Port Augusta bridge, Ian's Western Hotel is known for its excellent dining and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing