We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highway One Motel(Port Augusta)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crossroads Ecomotel(Port Augusta)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poinsettia Motel(Port Augusta)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Flinders Hotel(Port Augusta)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$72
Travelocity
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Pampas(Port Augusta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
36
47
19
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
47
19
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly catgood sizefree wifiquiet areaideal locationstayed here for two nightsbar fridgefirst stopone nightsofa bednice stayhot daysfriendly and helpful staffwater pressurerooms are cleanlong driveenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Firstly, The staff are excellent Chelsea and Karen made you feel welcome. The location is the best , quite, but within 150 metres of hotels with charge back for meals.The property is a little tired but the climate adds to that. Rooms are spotless and b/fast to room if required at reasonable cost. Microwaves and toasters made the the room well equiped.There are new deluxe Eco self contained units annexed to the motel at a fair rate. Value for money -good. You do need a car as public transport (except to Adelaide by coach) is required. Travel from Adelade via scenic route allow 7 hrs ( allowing for breaks) via Clare Valley and Melrose. Many great places to see but at a distance i.e Wilpena Pound. Allow a whole day Travel to Blinman and across unsealed road to Parachilna and back via Hawker.Other great things to do but no room here to describe in full.It was lovely to get back each night to a nice room. Some of the complaints I have seen on this site are unfair as a Choice Gold Elite member you cannot blame the motel for water pressure and remember this is a regional small town in the state of SA and the best part was to get away from the false and pretentious ways of the cities. As for only having a room for 3 men with 2 beds perhaps the well informed person should of informed the staff there were 3 males and took 2 rooms!!!! The nice thing is when in the country you don't expect a 5* motel. Be greatful that there is a branded accomodation that you know will meet certain standards. Also bear in mind the price!!! What did the person expect,??? Thank you all, looking forward to returning next year. The Ghan and Indian Pacific trains stop at Port Augusta on their way from Sydney to Perth and Adelaide to Darwin. But remember you will need a car and as at a remote location kms over 200 are chargeable. Enjoy--- I drove via Broken hill but thats another great discovery for you .

Room Tip: As previous reviewer stated corner rooms have tight parking depending on the size of your vehicle. request side room if required.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank personalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

G'day,
Thank you for providing feedback on our property. I my self am only now learning to respond via Trip Advisor. All feedback is appreciated but yours was well balanced & took into consideration many factors as best I have ever seen. The very fact that you are a Choice Gold Elite member means you are well travelled & experienced.
We are only a small personal property that takes pride in providing personal service with friendly staff. The new Eco Suites you stayed in are great value at just $155 per night (which is not much more that our original motel units. We are doing up the original motel units, but when we get a chance we holiday at home in the Eco Suites, even though we live on the premises.
Another transport option from Adelaide to Port Augusta is with Sharp Airlines & I have seen flights as low as $99 from time to time.
once again thank you for reviewing us, safe travels.
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The rooms were clean, though a few cob webs in the shower could have been removed. A nice touch was the microwave. Very handy.

The shower was good, roomy and good pressure. The main gripe would be the extremely close parking in the corner units. Location was good with 2 pubs and a supermarket very close. We would stay again

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sharkbait_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

G'day,
Thank you for reviewing our motel.
Sorry for the cob webs they certainly shouldn't have been there. Yes the microwaves are very handy. The Eco Suites also have hotplates & range hoods as well. The corner parks can be a bit of a squeeze, I'm not sure what we can do overall with that one but always ask at reception as we can generally shuffle some parks on the night.
Cheers
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a member of the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, it was a no-brainer to book this property on a free award night when I needed overnight accommodations in Port Augusta (the last bastion of civilization before reaching the outback). The motel is very typical of older Comfort Inns in Australia; no frills, but completely acceptable. Rooms and facilities are dated, but functional. The location is good if you have a car and, as others have noted, there are several nearby businesses useful to travelers. Motel staff were friendly and provided us with all the information we needed (like where to find the Woolies and Coles supermarkets to stock up on supplies).

Unless you get a deal, I'm not sure why you'd prefer this motel to its competitors, but it's perfectly fine for over-night, no frills lodging. I just wish that Comfort Inns in Australia provided free internet like they do in the USA, but that's a common problem at most Australian motels.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

G'day,
Thank you for reviewing our property, all feedback is appreciated.
We are only just getting around to using Trip Advisor to reply to reviews. One thing that it has told us is that we have not done enough to let guests now about the luxury Eco Suite's that are available to guests as part of our complex. These are Port Augusta's newest rooms & at not much more than a normal room represent above average value.
As you have pointed out correctly we were getting a bit dated on the original motel side, but have also built Port Augusta's newest luxury accommodation on the Eco Suite side of the property. Essentially giving guests a choice of options. Having said that are currently going through a refurbishment that will bring up the original motel units to nearly as good as the luxury Eco Suites.
We are proud of our staff as they keep getting acknowledged for their friendliness & knowledge. Australia is slowly providing free internet like America. The new Eco Suites do have free WiFi & we are arranging that for the original units as well.
The Eco Suites are currently on special on line.
Once again thank you for reviewing our property.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We pre-booked a family suite online as part of a Melbourne to Perth drive. When it became apparent we would be late we rang the hotel from Adelaide to let them know. The hotel typically has someone on the front desk until 9pm. We called back at 8:45pm to let them know we would be there at about 9:10pm. They said they would wait for us.

The hotel was relatively easy to find and was well signed from adjacent streets. It is located towards the harbour end of Loudon Road which is a quiet cul-de-sac. Over the road is a bottle shop (alcohol & other beverages) with other shops (including a supermarket) approximately 150m away. Guests can essentially obtain all they need at their doorstep.

Check-in was very quick but in part helped by the late hour of our arrival. Our room was a family suite (not necessarily the correct name) and contained a queen and two singles (my brother and I were travelling with our father). First impressions of the room was that it was basic but clean and looked comfortable.

The beds were sufficiently comfortable though as seems to be the norm these days (much to my dislike) the pillows were somewhat on the high and firm side. Whilst it was cold outside during our stay the room temperature was adequate without excessive use of artificial means.

The faults of the room became apparent come morning time. The major fault was the water pressure in the shower. After a few seconds of normal showering the water became a trickle and one needed to channel their inner Cirque de Soleil performer, bend like a pretzel and then mould themselves to the wall in order to wash off soap. I was advised later by reception that it was due to everybody leaving (and showering) at the same time of the morning but that pressure had returned to normal. Personally I don't believe this is acceptable for accommodation. They should have sufficient infrastructure in place to meet the surge in demand during peak hour. It put a dampener on what had otherwise been a pleasant stay. The other minor fault was a kettle that would not boil on the second attempt.

Overall the Comfort Inn was a good choice with plenty of nearby facilities to accommodate most all of your needs. Staff were pleasant and accommodating of our needs. The experience was spoilt by a lack of water pressure at a time when many people are likely to be heading off. If choosing to stay here then take this last bit of information into consideration.

For those keen to get out and look around Port Augusta, there is a gravel walk trail that runs along the western bank of the inlet which is accessed from the southern end of Loudon Road. I didn't venture too far along this section as I was keen to cross the inlet to the main side of town. Just north of Loudon Street is the main highway (bridge) crossing of the river. It has a footpath on the southern side but one can cross to the other side of the highway and take a pedestrian bridge just north of the traffic bridge. The path continues around to the southeast for some distance.

The eastern side of the inlet appears to contain the majority of the retail / commercial precinct and is perhaps a 1km walk from the hotel. It was here that we went for a cooked breakfast upon departure. There did not appear to be a great choice of open outlets at 8:30am, which was somewhat surprising.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelv976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.
As we live on the premises I think I can remember the morning & it hasn't before or since, we checked all our services but couldn't find a fault. Mean while the pressure returned leading me to believe it was on the SA Water delivery side & unfortunately beyond our control. From time to time a shower head may get blocked, providing a restricted stream, to which we duly replace. As with any fault always contact reception at the time (which you probly did) to allow the property to attend to it at the time.
Once again thank you for taking time to provide feedback.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a one night stop over here, the reception was efficient and friendly , the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Avoid the breakfast which was over priced and not very nice.Conveniently located with supermarket and hotels close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacsbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Comfort Inn Augusta Westside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

G'Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Great to see the reception highlighting again. Great to hear the rooms are clean & comfortable. Plus we are going through a refurbishment. For those wanting the best accommodation our luxury Eco Suites will certainly impress. Sorry to here about the brekky. Not for that that reason but I have personally taken on the breakfasts as my pet passion if your on Facebook have a look at our page 'Comfort Inn & Suites Augusta Westside' you will see some of the fantastic meals going out.
thank you for the feed back it all helps.
Safe Travels
Aaron (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews