We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Oasis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
SA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have stayed at the Majestic Oasis several times, and were a bit disappointed this time. There were ants over the towels in the bathroom, and the sheets were bally and so thin that you could see through them.
However, the grounds are very secure, and an easy walk to the shops/restaurants. We will give them another chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Tracy B
Thank you for choosing to stay at Majestic Oasis Apartments and for being a regular guest. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed with this stay. As advised in the post below, Bugs are certainly a challenge within the region and as such we do have regular control measures in place for pests such as ants etc. Following the feedback we have recently received we will be increasing the regularity of these measures to ensure we minimise the impact of pests such as these to our guests.
The linen on our property is regularly inspected and replaced. As a result of your feedback I have arranged for an interim audit of all our linen to be undertaken.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    232
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
96
199
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Unfortunately we found the apartment quite average compared to previous stays. There were ants throughout the kitchenette, a very large cockroach roaming the walls, the grouting on the floor tiles hadn't been given a good clean for some time and was black. My crawling baby's legs were black after his first crawl when we arrived and the floor had been freshly mopped (?). Also I have bites all over me since leaving, not mozzies but maybe bed bugs after sleeping in one of the single beds.
Also noticed the veranda's and decks all were overdue for a paint or varnish.
Quite disappointed overall, hope things improve the next time we stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvsastay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Hotels_Adel, General Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Luvsastay
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. Whilst we are pleased to hear you are a return guest, it is disappointing that you were not as satisfied with this stay as you have been previously. Bugs are certainly a challenge within the region and as such we do have regular control measures in place for pests such as ants etc. Following your feedback we will be increasing the regularity of these measures to ensure we minimise the impact of pests such as these to our guests.

Further, I can confirm that Majestic Hotels has a very rigorous preventative maintenance schedule for the control of bed bugs as we recognise the risk of this issue within our industry. You will probably find that the bites you received are from midges or sandflies which are common in the area. The foam that is often seen on the waterway entering Port Augusta is from the high salt content which is added to prevent the midges breeding. We can assure you that the property is free from bed bugs.

We had recently also recognised that work was required to improve the quality of the grouting and decking of our rooms, and thank you greatly for your feedback in regards to these areas. I am pleased to advise that we currently have some people on site who are undertaking repair work to improve both of these areas. I am confident that your next experience with us will be to the standard you have previously experienced, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Sam Ainslie: Operations Manager on behalf of Anthony Packard (Property Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed here many times since the Oasis was built. It is positoined on the relatively new foreshoe of Port Augusta. There are a range of room types available, there will be one to suit any traveller. The place is clean and tidy and very reasonably priced. Easy walk to supermarket and eating places.

Worth mentioning, we found that the property accommodates a few permanent guests, and they can be a bit bossy around the pool and BBQ, not to mention their noisy veranda parties and happy hour. I'm probably just jealous of not being invisted to the latter.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Book early for this property; It fills fast. Carparking is an issue, so try to arrive early (before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Woodyinthemiddle

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for being a long term regular guest. As you have advised we are located close to a supermarket and eating places however next time you stay with us you may like to take advantage of the convenience of ordering from our in-room menu options delivered fresh to your door from our local suppliers. Occasionally we do accommodate long term guests however they need to abide by the same rules as other guests. On your next stay should you experience any excessive noise or issues around the pool please contact reception. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed for 1 night after a very long drive and were very pleasantly surprised. The apartment was ultra modern and very clean. Lovely outside area overlooking the pool. Spa was wonderful! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Shopping very close by. Security gate a bonus. We had a great stay and look forward to hopefully stay for a couple of nights next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Rosie255093,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Majestic Oasis Apartments. I appreciate your comments regarding the apartment being ultra-modern and clean. I am glad that you found the Spa wonderful and no doubt very relaxing. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed here on two occasions at the end of very hot, long driving days. It is a real oasis for travellers and an asset for Port Augusta. The staff are very friendly, the studio apartment modern, clean and well equipped. The complex has a security gate. We were greeted with a complementary cold bottle of water and the airconditioning already turned on. This was such a delight for two hot, weary and very grateful travellers!

Room Tip: Studio apartments are ground floor and perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaKalgoorlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear FionaKalgoorlie,
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review of our property. We appreciate that many of our guests travel long distances and therefore offering complimentary bottles of spring water and ensuring the air conditioner is turned on in apartments on hot days is a standard procedure. I’m glad you found our staff friendly and the apartment modern, clean and well equipped. Thanks again for your review and I do hope you stay with us again.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

A very pleasant place. We had a one bedroom apartment, upstairs, looking out over the waterfront - so a great position.The staff were helpful, and the rooms clean and well equipped. The TV was massive! It was lovely sitting out on the balcony watching the kids swim and dive.

It was a great place to base brief journeys up into the Flinders, and some of the other sights around. It was useful to have the cooking equipment - Port Augusta is a bit odd if you want to go out; it's as though the town is dead, at all times of the day! Maybe we just went at a bad time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear PeterY2013
Thank you or choosing to stay at the Majestic Oasis Apartments and am glad that you found us very pleasant. The Waterview Apartments certainly are positioned well to give you a great view of the Gulf. Should you choose to stay with us next time our front office staff would be willing to suggest restaurants and venues for you to visit. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we do hope you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Oasis is the best in Port Augusta, but don't expect 4 star. As a previous reviewer stated, do bring your own pillow because the number and quality of pillows provided is atrocious. Bed linen isn't the best quality either.
But apart from that, they are in a nice location, handy to the supermarket and shops, and superficially look quite good. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again if I had to, but only because there isn't much else to choose from.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow (s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Lesley W
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Majestic Hotels have a big focus on ensuring our staff provide great customer service to our guests so I am delighted that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We supply two pillows per guests in our apartments; however should you wish additional pillows please contact our front office staff who would be more than willing to bring you additional pillows. We appreciate that quality of sleep is expected by our guests and we ensure our pillows and linen are replaced regularly. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
1.1 mi away
Motel Pampas
Motel Pampas
#5 of 10 in Port Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Oasis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Oasis Apartments

Property: Majestic Oasis Apartments
Address: Marryatt Street, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Oasis Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2003, the Majestic Oasis Apartments are located 3 hours north of Adelaide in Port Augusta, South Australia, gateway to the Flinders Ranges and Outback. This 4 star property features 75 modern studio, one and two bedroom self-contained apartments overlooking the stunning foreshore development and waters of the Upper Spencer Gulf. The Majestic Oasis Apartments offer free and secure onsite parking, FREE WiFi, private laundry and kitchen facilities, direct dial phones, electric blankets, large screen TVs with cable and DVD players, electronic safes and 24 hour onsite security for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Majestic Oasis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing