We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portland Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed at the Portland Bay Holiday Park for a night in August of this year, in a standard cabin. As mentioned by other reviewers, the park itself is undergoing improvements - however I can only see this as a good thing! The most important feature of any great caravan park is friendly service - and Portland definitely have that right.

The cabin itself is pretty basic - but perfectly fine for a traveler passing through such as myself. The park's website clearly identifies inclusions / exclusions and photos of what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. Very clean and cosy - and the Foxtel was a lovely and welcome addition after a day on the road!

The location of the park is brilliant - a short walk / drive to the main street and also the wharf which was a favourite stop of mine. I highly recommend heading down there at sunrise - it's wonderful to watch all the activity at that time of the day.

Overall, I don't think you will find many places with the inclusions that Portland offers for the same price - the value here was excellent. Thank you very much to Antonella and Bruce for looking after me - I wouldn't hesitate in staying at this park again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin closer to the back of the park if you like to hear the sound of the water in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

The double bed was the worst bed we had slept in. Not goo if your a tallish person over 6 foot tall. Close to beach. Very clean rooms. Friendly staff. Close to shops. There's a town tram that runs through Main Street that runs outside the front of the caravan park. They are currently doing works to the caravan park of somediscription.

Room Tip: Maybe choose another place to sleep cos we didn't get a good sleep due to be being bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midgie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ill start with the positives.
Very good location close to shops and Main Street with restaurants.
Staff were very friendly and very cheap.
Close to the beach
Very clean
Tv
Bar Fridge

Negatives
We stayed in a cabin cos it was in the middle of winter so was cold outside and we had to use the heater, which was only in the lounge area and wouldnt reach the bedroom so we had to buy a portable heater cos we were freezing cold.

The mattress was the worst I've ever slept on.

The couch was uncomfortable to sit on.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This caravan park is in a great location overlooking the sea, the port and has a big park adjoining it. The staff are very nice as well. The problem was that they are in a rebuilding stage, resculpting the sites, sowing grass etc and these areas are taped off which makes the place look like a building site. I hope the amenities block is on the list of things to upgrade - it was clean, but showing signs of a lot of use. The cabins on site looked fairly old as well but we didn't get to see inside one. The site doesn't have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here over the Easter break. Lovely staff. We camped on an unpowered site. We only stay in caravan parks for the bathrooms hence we expect clean ones.
The older bathrooms near our site were terrible and cleaned only once a day around lunch time. All the dirt from outside made its way inside, all the bench tops where covered in water and hair and the bathrooms didn't have a pleasant smell at all. The new bathrooms to the right of the caravan park weren't to flash either. The showers had no fans above them so all mirrors were fogged and it really was a steam room in there. Besides bathroom state the caravan park wasn't too bad.
They had some activities for the kids being a treasure hunt and movie nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaC616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lets be positive for starters. The park is fantastic, management are friendly and the cabins and campground are nice and clean.

The bad:
We arrived on a 38degree day ....... Usually we tent but with a young baby we booked a cabin for a week, as we could cool the cabin so the baby could sleep durring the day ................. Stupid me, it didn't occur to me these would be roasting hot boxes that don't have an air-conditioner. Are these the only cabins in Australia with A/C ? It didn't even occur to me to ask as I've never known a cabin not to have one.

The 38degree day we arrived with gusting hot winds..... We found the cabin door would blow open everytime there was as strong gust of wind (I [-] you not, strangely shaking the door and trying to push it open wouldn't get it too open). obvious faults noticed within five minutes of carrying our lugage into the cabin (number 10 if you don't believe me .... feel free to look yourself).

---the flywire door is stuffed, so rather than replace the door, the lock is stuck in upside down ... with instructions written on the door "LIFT UP HANDLE" [-]??

--The door way is breaking away from the cabin... fixed by screwing two bits of 4 x 2 under the step with 1 screw each.... so it rocks and moves around when you step on it.

--the bunks curtains were already off, jagged edges on the curtain rails and all. I hid these away from the kids up high ...

--roof looks strange..... Yes it's falling in in the main part of the cabin.

--open the fridge to stack the stuff in ..... the fridge door shelves are bloody duct tape (I'm serious) ... everything falls out whenever you open it

--in the furnace like heat with the door blowing open I try to put the TV on for the kids. There is no remote .... A couple of days later I found if I lifted the tv down there was a power botton on top to turn it on. It's mounted so high you can't see the TV with the cabin light on anyway

--the chairs around the table are exterior deck chairs, to uncomfortable to sit on

--the windows don't close properly, there is no way to stop the hot wind blasting in around the doors and windows

--the outside light is broken and the globe blown ( not it didn't just happen, how many years has it been since we have been able to buy incandecant bulbs again ??)

--4 single use sachets of dishwashing soap ..... for 7days for a family of five ... yeah right!

--the kitchen tap dripped contantly and the tap part leaks onto the bench

--the fan doesn't work in the bathroom .....

--the toilet button sticks down when the kids use it as it moves off center

--the shower base is covered with spiderwebs of cracks. To bad if it leaks, 'cos i used it as a baby bath .... likely the bottom of the cabin is now soaking

--the doors into the bedrooms don't work and jump off the tracks if the kids try to use them

--the cupboard in the main bedroom. You'll need to lift the door off if you want to use it.... there is no wheels left to roll it.

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOUR GOING TO PAY FOR A CABIN, IT'S BLOODY APPALLING... It's a shame 'cos it's a great caravan park in a great location.

BTW: I expressed my concerns to the park management. Obviously every last person that stays there complains bitterly about the condition of the cabins. They just shrug apologise and say there's nothing they can do, they only manage the park, the cabins aren't owned by them.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the ancient worn out cabins. There a bloody joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We have been here for a couple of years in our caravan. The park has a great view over the harbour, is an easy walk to town, and has lush, green grass and large sites. The facilities are modern, though could do with two cleans a day when busy. The biggest pain is entering a five digit code every time you want to use the toilet. I don't understand why it's necessary: take it off, or at least make it shorter. No one will steal the loo paper.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guzzi1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Holiday Village
Portland Holiday Village
#7 of 10 in Portland
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portland Tourist Park
Portland Tourist Park
#10 of 10 in Portland
28 reviews
2.8 mi away
Henty Bay Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Bay Holiday Park

Address: 184 Bentinck St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Bay Holiday Park is one of Victoria's best kept secrets! Located in Victoria's south west corner, the Discovery Coast is not only the western gateway to the Great Ocean Road, but the perfect holiday destination for those who enjoy nature walks, beaches, bays, boating, fishing, history and heritage. Take a day trip, or a hike to enjoy the scenic nature walks. View majestic marine life including seals, sea lions, dolphins, and whales during the winter months, from various vantage points within the nearby area. Portland Bay Holiday Park is a great value holiday park located on the clifftop next to Portland's lighthouse, within walking distance of Nunn's Beach, port, town centre with shops, cafes, restaurants and local attractions. The park grounds are spacious with grass & trees; sight the beautiful koalas that frequent the park! Accommodation options include Ensuite 2 bedroom cabins and spacious grass powered and unpowered sites for caravan and camping. Come and stay, relax, unwind and enjoy the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portland Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Bay Holiday Park Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing