We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
William Dutton Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed jan 2013, we had room 6 on the ground floor. Room was a little dated but saying that it was very clean and presentable.. Bed was lovely and comfy, with plenty of pillows which were also of good quality. Linen and towels were of good quality and lovely and clean. LCD TV and a few Austar channels as well.

Bathroom had everything you needed. Hot powerful shower, with shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Basin had hand liquid, hand and body moisturiser and shaving cream. This was also extremely clean.

Breakfast was ok and delivered to our room at the specified time. Kettle, toaster, tea and coffee etc all supplied, and not just 2 or everything. A pleasant surprise.

Internet cost a extra $10 but the room was reasonably priced so we were happy to pay for the Internet.

A walking distance to everything in town.

Would stay again if we return to portland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on 2/1/2013. We got a good welcome and found the recently refurbished room to be of a high standard. Everything abuot it was very good.Beds were comfy, air con worked well, shower was good, all bathroom needs were in the room. Would definitely stay here again. The hosts were very friendly and informative about attractions and events in their area. The location is a short walk to the city centre. There are a number of eating and drinking establishments nearby.Our trip to Portland was unexpected but we found it a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 4 days at the William Dutton, the rooms were clean and comfy, good value in this price range of motel. Although it was on the main road we were not disturbed by any noise, and the management were friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay here again the next time we visit Portland

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tailz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Good value for money, clean, comfortable and great location. We had 3 people stay in the one room, double and single bed. Beds were comfy, got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanyah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We booked in haste, and should have been more careful with our choice. We paid for three of us to stay in one room, but on asking for a third packet of biscuits (only two provided) was told "We're only a three star hotel and not obliged to provide additional biscuits", this also extended to an additional wine glass and additional pillow. The room was dusty along ledges and the window frames were dirty with black mould. At least the beds were comfortable which was some compensation. The fact that only four rooms were occupied is perhaps a reflection of the welcome we received which was surly and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HunterNindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

3 of us stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms, I have to say that the bed in our room was very comfortable, which is a big change from the usual in motels in this price range. 5 stars for the bed alone. The managers were very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and had everything we needed. Only gripe is the car park but I am not sure there is much that can be done to help, the parking spaces are very tight. I would be happy to stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booboobear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Was recommended to me at the local information bureau. Good value for money ($82 for the night). A good sized room which was clean and the bed was comfortable. Walking distance from the centre of town (except the weather meant needed to drive). Heating worked well so nice and warm on a very cold night. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwillyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Whalers Rest Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Portland
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melaleuca Motel
Melaleuca Motel
#3 of 7 in Portland
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admella Motel
Admella Motel
#4 of 7 in Portland
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Dutton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Dutton Motel

Address: 141 Percy St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — William Dutton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your William Dutton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Dutton Motel Portland, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing